We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We stayed here in late June 2007. We used this hotel as an overnight stop before we went skydiving the next day. The hotel was very clean. Reception desk was friendly, and check in & out was very quick.

The pool is very small as already stated. The hot tub was great. The rooms have a microwave and fridge - very handy. The hotel is located in a great area, lots of restaurants near by.

We enjoyed our stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eddie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2006

We had a room with 2 queen size beds, workdesk and chair. The room was very clean and standard size, however the bathroom which was well equiped and clean was on the smaller side. Having a microwave and fridge was a plus.

The pool is very small - seemed smaller than the average backyard pool. And the breakfast room, was also small but was clean and had a decent selection of breakfast foods. (Cinnibuns really are good!)

We enjoyed our stay.. and found it much better than the other two hotels we have stayed at in the area previously.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tournament_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

I usually don't write a review, but I want to put in my two cents about the Holiday Inn Express in Barrie. My husband and I stayed there for 6 nights in July 2006. We got a king suite so that we would have room to do some business - we were on a house-hunting trip but the room was smaller than we expected. By night six I called down to the front desk to make it known that the carpets had not been vacuumed once during our stay (and previous to that??) nor had the bathroom floor been cleaned very well. There were numerous other problems: the ice bucket was cleaned out about every second day; supplies were replenished on a hit-and-miss basis; the fridge leaked, and the tub drained slowly. Making the front desk aware of the latter one evening we were told to come back down in the morning and put in a request with housekeeping/maintenance at that time. Why couldn't they make a note of it and take care of putting the request in at that time?? One day we returned to the duvet and duvet cover, separated, sitting on the sofa. What were we to do? Make it up and return it to the bed?? The room was very dusty. I'm not suggesting it was filth like some motels you might imagine in nightmares, but for the price we were paying, and for the length of stay, we were disappointed with lack of attention to detail. We won't be staying there again or recommending it, although the towels were of good quality and the sheets were nice. We did receive one night free after our complaints were heard by a mature lady at the front desk, unlike our dealings with the very young staff for previous requests in the week.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank militarymover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2006

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Barrie last week, and were somewhat disappointed with our choice. Check-in was quick, and first impressions of our connecting rooms were favourable - decent sized rooms with two double beds, desk and chair. The bathrooms were tiny though - not much room to manoeuvre at all.

On closer inspectiion, I found both the rooms to be fairly dusty - they had certainly been cleaned, but judging by the dust on some of the surfaces in each of the bedrooms and bathrooms, it had been a while since. Carpets in the bedrooms were also dusty.

The breakfast room was tiny - not enough tables for everyone. There was a notice asking that you eat up within fifteen minutes, and you could not take a tray to the bedrooms even if the breakfast room was full.

Overall, the hotel would have been great if the breakfast facilities had been better and the rooms had been checked before our arrival - we stayed in six hotels during our visit to Ontario, and I am sorry to say that this was the only one to which we would not return.

We enjoyed Barrie though - lovely place, especially around the marina and beach, and wonderful Fancy's Fish and Chips.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrishP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2005

I have just returned from a business trip to Barrie. We visit Barrie at least once a year and try to check out different hotels and find the best one. We were not sure about the Holiday Inn Express, as it was an Express, without a restaurant / bar on site, etc. However, we were pleasantly surprised and I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Its location is excellent even though it is on the outskirts of Barrie. Right across the street, there is a Wal-Mart, Winners, Bagel place, Second Cup, Canadian Tire, Beer Store, LCBO, a bank, numerous restaurants, etc; you name it - it's there. The hotel itself is brand new, opened a year and a half ago and it shows. It's spotless, everything smells fresh. The staff were very professional and efficient, check-in was done in 2 minutes, and check-out - we just left the keys in our room. The room was exceptionally clean, everything was brand new (microwave, fridge, iron, TV had more than 30 chanels) and beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was very small; when closing the door, it was almost touching the toilet, but it was absolutely spotless; with the best shower I have ever seen in a hotel - the showerhead with 3 settings and the curtain rod allowed for extra room in the shower. Even though our room was right opposite the elevator, we heard no noise. The wake up call was made right on time. A message left at the front desk for our colleagues was delivered promptly.

The hotel has a very small pool facing the parking lot and a small gym with what looked like brand new equipment. They also offer complimentary breakfast, with limited food choice, as expected; we did not have time in the morning to check it out. The breakfast room looked nice though.

Of course, this is not a 5 star hotel, but it's spotless, well run, everything is new, staff are very helpful and it is surrounded by numerous stores and restaurants. The only problem we've encountered was that they would not guarantee a non-smoking room; which is a little hard to understand as we were told that 75% of the hotel rooms were non-smoking. Prior to checking-in, we had been a little worried that we would end up in a smoking room; however everybody did get a non-smoking room.

We spent only one night at this hotel, but I would warmly recommend it to travellers. Keep up the good work Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Summer2007Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2005

From check-in to check-out everything was great. The pool is a bit small but very nice, the rooms are very new, the staff extremly warm and helpful. I prefer to drive out of Toronto and enjoy a quiet stay here than all the hustle and bustle of Toronto.

6  Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
3.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie

Address: 506 Bryne Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range: $97 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing