We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Located 3 minutes from the hwy 4oo in a central location with a great sport bar accross the road. Offers clean suites with a pool and a hot tub. Exercise room is also available. Many restaurants are in the area to enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnold s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments regarding our property. Our location is always very popular with our guests and the easy access from Hwy #400 makes it convenient for our travellers. We have a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. We are glad to know you enjoyed your experience and we are looking forward to your next visit to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 168 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Good, spacious room, close to restaurants and entertainment venues like movie theatres, etc. Typical Holiday inn express good for business travelers on the go. Nothing fancy, but decent accommodation. Breakfast is typical usually included in the package.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Theerikroq,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Barrie.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

No Marriott's in Barrie ON CA. So have to go with Holiday Inn. Tried the holiday Inn Barrie. Is really just OK with level of guest service, rooms for a full service.Tried the Holiday Inn express, hoping this would be new/nicer; to my disappointment, this was even worse. The only nicer option in this area is The Hampton Inn, if you're planning to visit Barrie.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank VirenHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear VirenHM,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is regrettable to see you did not fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Enjoyed our stay, good value, hot tub chemicals were off ~ changed the girls bathing suits from pink to purple! A little wear and tear on the rooms but very clean and one of the best hotel buffet breakfasts I've been to. Convenient location, walking distance to movies, shopping and lots of restaurants. Short drive to #400 and Barrie Molson Centre.

Room Tip: Our room showed signs of wear and tear, but was very clean. We were on the second floor, so parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarbourGirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our property! Many of our guests appreciate the location of our property as we are walking distance to restaurants, shopping and entertainment. We do our best to offer superior service and great value! Thank you for saying we are the BEST hotel buffet breakfast as we agree that everyone loves our Hot Express Start Breakfast that is complimentary to our guests. We look forward to your next visit to Barrie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Attention: Hotel GM - Room 215 has a needlessly dirty window with multiple head smudge marks and nasal phlegm pieces from a past guest - yech! Check out the bathroom for a green ooze stain on back of the toilet stack. There are hairs short and long therefore from at least 2 other guests in the corners at both ends of the bath - yech again.

Peter your FD agent was a breath of fresh air at check in, room quiet and the A/C unit not overly noisy.

Not all HIE's are created equally - I will not return to this location but gladly will to others I have preferably used in the past

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canadian175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding our property. We apologize you were not happy with the cleanliness of your guestroom. We have spoken with our Housekeeping Supervisor to ensure your concerns are immediately addressed. We pride ourselves on offering guests a clean and comfortable stay with us.

We appreciate your comments regarding our Fronk Desk staff and will be happy to share your remarks with him. We hope you will take the opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a great room! As entertainment and VP director,of a fesival, it was up to me to find a suite for the Ambassador and his wife. They loved it! They talked about the comfort, and the warm reception they got at the desk. As a matter of fact, they stayed there this year, also, as they loved it the first time.
I was very impressed with the suite, and all the rooms there, as I had to check out different hotels for him and his wife. This hotel won, by a long shot. The beds were amazing, so comfortable, and double sheeted, with a choice of pillows, from soft to firm, depending on what you prefer. Big hallways with lots of light and lovely! Close to everything, restaurants, shops, movie theatre, and the 400 highway is close by. I will be sending people there from now on!

Room Tip: I checked out a few rooms, they are all quiet. The nice thing is its proximity to everything! I che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

It is always a pleasure to have the Ambassador and his wife stay with us! We enjoy their visit each year! Thank you for the wonderful comments about our great staff and amenities! We greatly appreciate your remarks and continuing to recommend us! We look forward to your next event!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Fast check-in to a clean room. Even received an adjoining room with the couple we
were with. Good choice for breakfast and it is included in the price of the room.

Agree with another poster that the bathroom is too small. Can barely get in there to shut the door, never mind think of having 2 people in there @ once eg one in shower one brushing their teeth, if pushed for time.

All in all really no complaints, just that small comment.

The price was right for what we received :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments as we value your input! We will be sure to share your comments with our staff about their efficiency during check in. We are pleased you enjoyed the adjoining room and felt you received great value while staying with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
3.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie

Address: 506 Bryne Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range: $100 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing