We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Inn Express, Barrie, Ontario”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Lefroy, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday Inn Express, Barrie, Ontario”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a great room! As entertainment and VP director,of a fesival, it was up to me to find a suite for the Ambassador and his wife. They loved it! They talked about the comfort, and the warm reception they got at the desk. As a matter of fact, they stayed there this year, also, as they loved it the first time.
I was very impressed with the suite, and all the rooms there, as I had to check out different hotels for him and his wife. This hotel won, by a long shot. The beds were amazing, so comfortable, and double sheeted, with a choice of pillows, from soft to firm, depending on what you prefer. Big hallways with lots of light and lovely! Close to everything, restaurants, shops, movie theatre, and the 400 highway is close by. I will be sending people there from now on!

Room Tip: I checked out a few rooms, they are all quiet. The nice thing is its proximity to everything! I che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
It is always a pleasure to have the Ambassador and his wife stay with us! We enjoy their visit each year! Thank you for the wonderful comments about our great staff and amenities! We greatly appreciate your remarks and continuing to recommend us! We look forward to your next event!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    65
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
46
41
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Fast check-in to a clean room. Even received an adjoining room with the couple we
were with. Good choice for breakfast and it is included in the price of the room.

Agree with another poster that the bathroom is too small. Can barely get in there to shut the door, never mind think of having 2 people in there @ once eg one in shower one brushing their teeth, if pushed for time.

All in all really no complaints, just that small comment.

The price was right for what we received :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments as we value your input! We will be sure to share your comments with our staff about their efficiency during check in. We are pleased you enjoyed the adjoining room and felt you received great value while staying with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Room with separate queen well worth the money with kids. Bathroom dated and could be cleaner otherwise room and linens clean. Good breakfast. Excellent location in commercial district, close to highway 400 many restaurant chains, big box stores and movies. Pool just big enough to cool off and allow kids some fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pentime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your comments abour our property! The suite with the extra bedroom is a favourite with families and we are delighted you enjoyed it for your kids! Thank you for your input regarding our washrooms as we will be making upgrades in the near future. It sounds like your family enjoyed the pool and the convenient location of the hotel to all of the restaurants in the area. We welcome your family back to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites on your next visit to Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at Holiday Inn Express Friday 23rd Aug,2013 and Saturday 24th. Room was ok... but washroom was Tiiiiiny!!! When you opened or closed the door the door nearly hit the toilet. Very very close. Would not be able to sit down and then close. They said that all the washrooms were like that when I asked if there was a room with bigger washroom, but said they were going to update. No need for huge washroom but this is just way way too small!
The young front desk clerk was very nice and welcoming!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Northern789,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

When I first called to book my hotel with Holiday Inn, I let them know that I needed a hotel with no smoking. They referred me to the hotel on Bryne street as it is a smoke free building. I have to say, they live up to that promise and I found that our rooms were pleasant and enjoyable due to this. The bedding was clean and didn't smell like strong cleaners (usually I can't stand the scent on the pillow cases and blankets) but this was not the case - everything was fresh.

The rooms were clean... there was a tiny bit of spotting in the corner of the shower and a bit of dirt on the floor in the bathroom, but overall, it was not an issue that was a problem. Everything else was tidy and neat.

The room had a mini area with a microwave, fridge and a coffee pot... they also had very nice little soaps on the counter. The staff was helpful and cheerful (which was nice after a long drive to the hotel). The room came with one chair and a desk and it would have been nice to have a second chair that we both could have used the table at the same time.

The breakfast was fine (toast, fruit, juice and coffee) but there were options for bacon, eggs, cereal and a few other items.. It's not a five star breakfast, its just enough to get you going in the morning.....the eating area was crowded (so I took my meal upstairs to our room).. things got a bit cold as the elevator is slow.

The only problem I really had, was that the fans in the bathroom never-shut-off. So you heard the whirrrringg all through the night. The beds were comfortable enough and the blankets and pillows nice enough that it did compensate for the sound a bit, and I ended up having a nice sleep.

The location is okay - you are only a few km from getting back on the 400 and close enough to restaurants that you could plan to walk just about everywhere you needed.

For the price? It was an okay stay. It didn't break the bank and we all slept alright.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HockeyGoalieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreicate all of your feedback regarding our property. We are pleased you enjoyed our fresh triple sheet bedding and our smoke free enviornment! Many guests like the convenience of the mini fridge and microwave in every guestroom. We are glad you were able to enjoy your breakfast in the convenience of your room as the breakfast room does have peak times which makes it a little more busy. The fans in our washrooms draw fresh air at all times on a low speed and the fan increased to a higher speed when the lights are on. We agree that we great staff and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed one night over the long weekend in Aug as we were going on the Serendipity Princess for a family birthday. Let me say the one thing I like about the Holiday Inn Express you know what to expect, this one was no different very friendly staff and very clean rooms. My wife and I enjoyed the pool and hot tub. nice way to relax before the cruise. The breakfast was good; if you’re looking for something else there are a lot of restaurants nearby. This Hotel is in a great location not far from the highway and about 20 mins to downtown. Only negative was the bathroom was a little small and no safe in the room for one night no big deal. This was are fourth time at A holiday Inn express great hotels for short stays

Room Tip: Go down early for breakfast as it gets busy around 8:30
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about our hotel and staff! We appreciate your comments about the bathroom and hope our large guestrooms were able to compensate. We agree that our location is convenient to Highway #400 and has lots of choices for dining in the area. We are glad you were able to have the time to enjoy our indoor swimming pool and a relaxing hot tub. We do offer a safe in our business centre or our front desk staff will be pleased to assist you on your next visit to Barrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Visited with a group of eight people on a motorcycle ride. Hotel staff were very helpful in arranging a group booking.

On arrival check-in was fast and staff were very friendly.

Rooms are clean and beds very comfortable and soft and firm pillows are provided. The bathrooms are a bit small compared to some other hotels used recently. Not a real issue but several riders commented on this.

The breakfast was very good with a nice selection. Staff kept items well supplied. Everyone enjoyed the breakfast.

There are many restaurants a short walk away and it is close to Highway 400 so access is very easy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinsdale050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBarrieAdmin, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barrie, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review! Our entire staff enjoyed having your group at our hotel! Our location is something many travellers appreciate as we are walking distance to a number of restaurants, shopping and entertainment! We are happy you found our group process helpful regarding your specific arrangements. We look forward to your visit next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
3.3 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barrie

Property: Holiday Inn Express Barrie
Address: 506 Bryne Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Superior Comfort in Barrie, Ontario For the comfort and amenities you deserve, reserve a room at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Barrie, Ontario. Our hotel is convenient to Highway 400 to keep you connected to the attractions and businesses of downtown Barrie. Lodging here puts you minutes from exciting attractions, like a Colts game at the Barrie Molson Centre or a shopping trip Park Place, Tanger Outlets or to the 400 Market. For an exciting night out, you can visit one of the restaurants or other entertainment in the area or ask us about our free gaming package! In Barrie, you'll also find numerous outdoor attractions, such as the Georgian Downs Racetrack or fishing at Lake Simcoe. Are you traveling on business to Barrie, Ontario? Our hotel is convenient to many corporations, such as Mueller Canada Inc., Canplas Industries Ltd., Royal Victoria Hospital, Georgian College, YOM, Wolf Steel, and Can-Save. You are invited to use the computer and copy, fax and print services in the 24-hour Business Centre near our hotel's lobby. Barrie, Ontario's growing tourism calls for a versatile hotel like ours. We meet the needs of travelers by offering spacious rooms and with triple-sheeted bedding, microwaves, mini-fridges, Flat Screen Televisions and work areas with free high-speed Internet access to keep you connected while traveling in Barrie. Our hotel's Fitness Ctr, indoor pool and whirlpool ensure that you'll enjoy a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Hotel Barrie
Holiday Inn Barrie
Holiday Inn Express Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing