We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Un Polite”

Fernando's Family Restaurant
Ranked #196 of 502 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Un Polite”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I had ordered a grilled cheese with bacon to go. I waited about 15 minutes for the "quick" sandwich, when the order was finaly ready she reviewed the order, she said it had been made on brown when I specifically asked for white bread, I said " well to late to change it now" and she continued to yell at me as I walked out of the tiny well in need of TLC restaurant, saying that I was wrong, I asked for it on brown and thats it. As a person working in customer for many years, that behaviour is crucial to any customer, and should not be exercised. The woman initially wasnt envolved with the order, she followed after. With her ignorance and quality of the sandwich I will never return, (sandwich was drenched in grill grease not butter) had this been a better visite I live 5 mins from restaurant, you destroyed a new regular!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank meee y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best burger ever”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

This place is great. they have big servings great food. Their wraps are like a pound of food try the Mexican wrap. Their fish and chips and the best I've ever had lots of fish and not to much batter. Their house salad comes with a made of scratch dressing. And then their hot hamburgers I have dreams about it amazing. U will never leave hungry they make sure of it. Give it a try

Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best eggs benedict ever”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

really nice people, really homey, fresh cooked food. Takes a little longer, but real food does take time to cook

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wllamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Barrie”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Where do I start? The breakfast is to die for, the western sandwiches are 4 inches thick and the French fries divine. The owners, Alex and Denise are so welcoming and friendly, it reminds me of the show "Cheers." Sometimes you wanna go where everybody knows your name and they're always glad you came. The waiting staff go out of their way to make you feel at home; there is always lively conversation and banter that gives the restaurant that homey feel and when you taste the food, you are hooked. Please stop by. You'll be glad you did. P.S. The hamburgers are homemade and who knew Alex could turn a grilled cheese sandwich into a masterpiece.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Snafulp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Real Family Restaurant”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I've been going to Fernando's since it was taken over by the Mother and son who now own and run it. Good coffee. Great breakfast, served with an orange slice. Get there before 11:00AM if you want poached eggs or the cheaper breakfast price. For lunch you can get a great fresh salad instead of fries if you ask for it. If you want fruit get the waffle plate. I especially like the club sandwich or the western, served with their own cut fries. Check the hours, they are closing at 2:00PM these days and closed Mondays but the hours change with the seasons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernando's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fernando's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing