We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fresh food”
Review of Fresh-A-Fare

Fresh-A-Fare
Ranked #65 of 503 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: Canadian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We take great pride in our food because it is OUR food. We cook, cure and smoke our own meats. We make our soups from scratch using recipes we create. We make our doughs and bake our breads. We select our produce and our meat cuts. We don't offer food we don't love ourselves. We believe in making good, honest food with lots of flavour. Eat and enjoy.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“great fresh food”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I went to the Welham Rd. location and had the roasted vegetable sandwich on a ciabatta bun. It was very delicious. I really appreciate that all the bread, soup and dressings are home made. It was nice there was a vegetarian sandwich option. I can't wait to go back and try their soup and salads.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FRESH”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great food. Great service. Amazing dill dressing. I highly recommend this place to everyone who is sick of eating junky fast food. Everything is fresh and home made. Worth the wait in long lunch line:)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food selection and fresh!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Always love the fresh made salads, soups and sandwiches. Can be extremely hectic during lunch hour- be prepared to stand in line awhile. it is definitlely worth the wait. Pretzel buns are amazing!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't believe the hype”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Read some favorable reviews and decided to check it out. Staff was inattentive, restaurant was dirty, food all over the floor in the prep area and saw people leaving much of the food on their plates. Disappointed. Won't be back.

Helpful?
3 Thank Frugal Foodie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow! This IS fresh!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I just had the best lunch of the decade in this cafeteria style salad bar. The food is prepared by a joyous, pleasant staff right in front of your eyes, everything fresh and delicious. The quantities are generous, the breads are euro-style and the salad dressings are wonderful. I didn't try any of the hot sliced meat sandwiches, but based on the number that were flying over the counter, they must be great too - so I'll look forward to one on my next visit - which will be real soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh-A-Fare also viewed

 
Barrie, Ontario
 

Been to Fresh-A-Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing