We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage Hills Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed December 4, 2008

We stayed in one of the one bedroom units. We have a family of 4 and it was great! We were there with a hockey team and our room along with the coaches room became the centre of activity because we had such large rooms.

The place was clean and spacious. Kids loved it and my wife really enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub.

We had a minor issue with a shower door and the friendly maintenance staff showed up to repair it quickly.

Overall, it was an excellent experience!

I would recommend this resort and advise that the 1 bedroom suites are the way the to go. The studios are quite small and for the difference in price, the one bedroom is much larger and allows for some privacy as well for you and your partner away from the kids.

Keep up the good work!

  • Liked — Our room and the pool
  • Disliked — Beds were a little too firm
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    144
    39
    22
    28
See reviews for
160
113
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We've stayed here twice and WILL return. We LOVED both of our stays. The first time we stayed in the one bedroom with full kitchen. And our last stay we stayed in the resort suite. I would recommend the one bedroom over the resort suite(studio) . The suite has no bath tub, just a shower... and the kitchenette is just a microwave, toaster oven & small bar fridge.. The one bedroom by far beats the studio room and is "worth it" in my opinion.. BUT WE honestly enjoyed both stays, just felt like the one bedroom was a more comfortable stay.

The pool/sauna is wonderful and our kiddo's enjoyed it greatly. They have activities going on throughout the day. It's a nice little "get a way" and is close enough to Barrie and Orillia for some nice little day trips.

I do find the 10:00am check out to be a little early and we felt VERY rushed on check out morning!!

But all is all.. I'm very pleased and recommend highly!

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Disliked — To access internet was 10.00/day :(
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, ON
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2008

My husband and I shared a room with my brother and his wife for our birthdays (we all have December birthdays). Our room was in The Clarence building and we absolutely loved everything about it! We brought our own food and fully used the kitchen to prepare wonderful meals. The 1 bedroom/1 sofa bed room was gorgeous! Very clean! The bathtub was a lot of fun! Our highlight was the pool! We loved the fact that the pool was both and indoor and outdoor pool! To be able to swim under some flaps and be outdoors was breathtaking!!! Especially with all the steam and the light snowfall! The outdoor hot tub was absolutely perfect!!!! We could not have asked for anything better! The staff was very courteous and helpful! My sister in law and I ordered pedicures from Monique (her info. is available on the website) and she came to our room! We didn't even have to leave!!! We did the tree top trekking and that was so much fun!!! Our weekend was amazing and we plan on doing it every year!!! :)

  • Liked — The indoor/outdoor pool!
  • Disliked — The lack of comforters in the room (only 1 comforter for the bed, no actual comforter for the sofa bed, just the yucky fuzzy/foam beige blanket... not nice at all)
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natneddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

A group of my friends and I stayed at the Carriage Ridge Resort on the weekend of Nov 1-2, 2008. We had an amazing time! We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite that can accomodate up to 8 people. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated; the kitchenette was big enough to allow 3 people to cook at one time; and the living room offered a cozy, comfortable area where we could relax and watch movies. The cost was quite reasonable, we even managed to get a 15% discount for booking in advance.

The recreational area had many facilities including an indoor pool and hot tub (which was well-maintained), billard table, internet access, small fitness center and games & movies to borrow.

The check-in service was excellent. All the staff were friendly and professional. Checking into the resort only took 5 minutes and they were even helpful in providing us with maps of neaby hiking trails. Room service was quick, even at midnight when we requested for extra blankets.

I would highly recommend this resort to everyone. There are many activities nearby including Arbraska tree-top trekking and skiing at Horseshoe Valley. I would definately come back again!

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Not enough restaurants in the area
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kaorudono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed for a week on business trip to barrie. Overall it's a nice place but not sure I would stay there again. Check in took a long time & as our company added an extra day to our initial reservation, we actually had to go back the second day & re-register. Makes no sense why they couldn't deal with this at check in, we didn't even change rooms, silly system I guess.
The internet was too expensive & the whole week we were there it wasn't even working. The frustrating part is that the hotel has nothing to do with the internet, it's an independant american company, so to get any help, you have to call a call centre somewhere in the states.
The rooms are very nice, bed comfortable. I loved the fireplace.
It's true that the walls are very thin. You can hear everything around you.
The kitchen was great & had pretty well all the kitchen supplies you would need to cook up a meal. It was also nice to have laundry right outside our door.
As it's in the middle of nowhere, you have to drive to barrie to find some good restaurants.
Beware, checkout is early (10am) & they will charge you if you check out late.

  • Liked — fireplace
  • Disliked — internet never worked
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank muddypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We stumbled across Carriage Hills Resort when we were looking for a family get-a-way close to home. We were thrilled to find this lovely spot. The suite was very spacious and immaculately kept and the indoor - outdoor pool was a big hit with the kids.
My only complaint - it was difficult to enjoy the private balcony that accompanied the suite because of a family of smokers in the suite below.
Overall it was a lovely weekend away - we will definitely return!

  • Liked — size of suite & ammenities
  • Disliked — smoking guests
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank familyfunOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Took my 6 year old and 4 year old for a 3-night stay in the one-bedroom condo. We had booked the Carriage Ridge, but due to renovations, were put in the Hills instead. Basically the same thing with room lay-out. The rooms and the grounds were spotless, with even my 6 year old asking why there was no garbage on the ground outside. Room was very spacious and comfortable and pretty quiet. My only complaint was the pool. The Ridge has only an indoor pool, so weather is not an issue. The Hills has indoor/outdoor, but the are NOT separate pools, simply plastic tags hanging between them (they didn't tell me that when they moved us to the Hills). Therefore when it rains, they close all the pools. There were ALOT of older kids in the pool, as well as adults, and they play rough. Balls are thrown around very hard, without regard for anyone else in the pool, as well as diving and jumping right over your head and alot of pushing and shoving. My two do not swim well, so we basically had to limit our pool time to a very small corner where I had to shield them from flying bodies and balls. There are life guards on duty, but they do not do anything to curb the rough play (where are these kids's parents?). Other than that, we enjoyed the stay and would come back (although I would try the Ridge next time).

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable accomodation
  • Disliked — Unsafe play in pool is ignored by lifeguards
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
10.6 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#6 of 19 in Barrie
929 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,122 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Property: Carriage Hills Resort
Address: 90 Highland Dr | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing