We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage Hills Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Peaceful resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We came to this resort to be close to family in Barrie. We were here to celebrate Christmas with them. The 1 bedroom condo was spacious and the kitchen was very well equipped, allowing us to cook a wonderful Christmas dinner. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom space great and the jetted tub very nice addition. Check in was easy, and friendly. The pool and the arcade were a big hit with our grandchildren who spent a night over with us. The grounds are nice to walk around, but weather for us limited that. We ate at Theos in Orillia about 20 mins away it was great, we grocery shopped in Barrie also 20 mins drive they have everything there, even Costco a great place to shop and get cheap gas, if you are a member of course.
We would rerecommend this resort to friends and family. Would definately come again ourselves.

Room Tip: Room facing the golf course are more private if you want to sit on balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank carol g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    141
    39
    22
    28
See reviews for
160
111
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Carriage Hills Resort for one week in mid-September with a time share exchange. We have been time-share exchanging for over 25 years now and this exchange experience is one of our best over-all experiences. We arrived at the resort around 5:00 which is after the check in time of 4:00 and our unit was ready for check in. I had researched a little before our trip about the resort and knew that the buildings were either two or three stories tall with no elevators. About a week before our check in date I called the resort to request a ground floor unit. Our assigned unit was indeed ground floor and even an end unit (you have one extra window for more sun light). I had also requested an updated unit but was told at check in this was not possible. After seeing our assigned unit, it truly did not matter to me if we had an upgraded unit or not. Their was nothing unacceptable about our one bedroom lovely unit. Lots and lots of space for two people and the bathroom arrangement was where two people could be using the different areas with privacy. The jetted bathtub and separate shower are a great idea and having three bathroom sinks was very easy to get used to. We had a central foyer and two separate doors to enter your own unit. The unit next to us was a studio which was only occupied part of the week that we were there. Our units furniture was very comfortable and the gas log fireplace was used for cosmetic reasons several times. I did not cook any meals in the well furnished kitchen but it did appear to have everything you might need if you were to want to cook. In our joint foyer was an additional door that led to a laundry room that is used just for these two units. Very handy and much more cost effective than having a washer and dryer in every unit. Housekeeping was excellent and the unit was very very clean when we arrived. Housekeeping did change our sheets and replenish our towels mid week and even tidied up some. When we first arrived I could not believe how many fresh sets of towels were in the unit. Lots and lots of them.

We did not use any of the resorts facilities but I did look to see what the two pools looked like and they both were very nice. The grounds of the resort was very lovely and well maintained. Our check out was done the evening before our departure and again was handled well and politely. We needed to drive into Toronto on four separate days and each evening when we returned to the resort we were happy to be coming home to such lovely accommodations. One whole day we went sight-seeing north around the Midland area and really enjoyed the scenery and the attractions. The area around Carriage Hills Resort is open farm land with some golf courses and very quiet and scenic.

We hope to return for another visit.

Room Tip: If you need/want a ground floor unit just ask. I'm sure if they can they will assist you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy12Blairsville_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,167 reviews
275 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,643 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Carriage Hills Resort - we had a two bedroom unit (i..e. the larger one bedroom and the studio combo, with the side room for the washer/dryer.)

The bathrooms were large. The rooms were comfortable and updated (we had one of the updated suites.) King Bed was super comfortable. Kitchen area was nice. We enjoyed the patio balcony areas and the views - the leaves were just turning color as we were there end September/early October.

Parking was close by the rooms - we were on the 2nd floor and that was just fine with us.

We were very happy with the resort - and it is a god time share (we have enjoyed properties closer to our home such as Marriott South Lake Tahoe) and in comparison Carriage hills is an equivalent stellar prioperty.

Since we had not visited this area before,we did find ourselves mostly out and about during the day to the parks (Algonquin (yes a long day trip), Wasaga beach, 30,0000 islands, and more. We enjoyed nearby Barrie and going to an ice hockey game. We enjoyed going to the nearby Indian Casino - Casino Rama. After our outings, we always enjoyed coming back to Carriage Hills. It was so nice to end our day at the condo....

Groceries, gas, etc. are a short drive away.
All in all a very pleasant place to stay for a week and lots of fun things to do.....too bad we did not have more time to play golf as lots of great courses nearby.

Service was good - and they did a great job of cleaning the room (including mid week service)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went to this resort as part of a Bridal party. We stayed 2 nights the first night we were in the bridal suite and the second night in our own rooms. Their check in time is at 4:00pm we asked for a early check in as we wouldnt be able to check in at 4 cause we will be at the wedding. They didnt have any of our rooms ready prior to this ( we left at 4 to head to the wedding even!) As well a couple that had a reservation they messed up and didnt have their room at all. They were rude when you were explaining the situation to them. Im not one to complain about a place either, I just think if your running a resort you should have staff that dont talk back to the customers. Dont get me wrong the rooms were beautiful! Just very poor customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 705Jenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback. We are sorry to hear about the negative experience you encountered with our staff. We know that while on vacation it is important to be treated well. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Resort is built with good grounds and great curb appeal. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Rooms have no noise control with adjoining units. Fine if the people next door go to sleep before you and stay asleep. Not so good if you had young people like we had next door. Coming and going while having some fun.

The resort staff speaks a good line but offer little help. They will not help unless you are about to kick in the door to get into your room. Barbecues that were available across the way were not lit. take a flash light if you don't cook by feel.

Do not expect checkin before 4PM it will not happen. Expect a bill if you want late checkout. Don't expect they will ask how your stay was on checkout. They do not need to here what may be said.

Don't be surprised if the appearance does not come through with clean room and good maintenance.

Good place for a one night stand. Good bed and linen.

Room Tip: Don't waist your time you will get what you get and nothing else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

All of the staff we dealt with were pleasant and helpful. However, there seemed to be a few breakdowns in communication when it came to staff-to-staff. Our bed was changed and new towels delivered on the day they were supposed to be. The info book said the bathroom would be cleaned and floors vacuumed. That did not happen so we called. Next day floor was vacuumed but bathroom still not cleaned. Since we are two fairly neat adults that wasn't a major issue but a bit of an annoyance.

Grounds, pool and facilities were kept up well.

We had a good time and enjoyed the resort and the area. Just the communication glitch that needs to be worked on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated. They said the renovations were nearly complete so may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We own a time share in this resort and live just kilometers away yet we find a few days stay here provides a nice change even for ourselves that live so close. The units are well maintained, spacious and well appointed. They are currently being redecorated indicating the resort is wanting to keep up to date.

The activity building offers various activities with the indoor/outdoor heated pool being the main attraction, especially in the winter. Downhill and cross country skiing are basically at the door as is golf. Great mountain biking with both single and double tracks can be experienced right from the door if riders are somewhat experienced, in reasonable good physical shape and prepared to ride back up some steep hills. Unfortunately maps of the trails are lacking and this needs to be addressed. Road biking throughout the rolling hills of Oro Medonta is some of the best in Ontario as OroMedonta will soon be the first municipality to have every concession road paved. Hiking trails abound. There are a number of other activities within walking distance from the resort such as dog sledding, tree top adventures, miniature golf, zip line and downhill biking.

The cities of Orillia and Barrie are within twenty minute drive with good shopping, great restaurants and beautiful lake shore walks and parks. Toronto, Canada's largest city is within an hours drive to the south. The scenery with its rolling hills, good vistas, mixed forests and nearby lakes is some of the best in the province.

All in all, it is a very good destination.

Room Tip: We like ground floor as we then do not need to carry luggage,groceries, bikes and skies up the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doniwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
10.6 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
2.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
3.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Property: Carriage Hills Resort
Address: 90 Highland Dr | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing