We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst customer service EVER!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage Hills Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst customer service EVER!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went to this resort as part of a Bridal party. We stayed 2 nights the first night we were in the bridal suite and the second night in our own rooms. Their check in time is at 4:00pm we asked for a early check in as we wouldnt be able to check in at 4 cause we will be at the wedding. They didnt have any of our rooms ready prior to this ( we left at 4 to head to the wedding even!) As well a couple that had a reservation they messed up and didnt have their room at all. They were rude when you were explaining the situation to them. Im not one to complain about a place either, I just think if your running a resort you should have staff that dont talk back to the customers. Dont get me wrong the rooms were beautiful! Just very poor customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 705Jenns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback. We are sorry to hear about the negative experience you encountered with our staff. We know that while on vacation it is important to be treated well. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    144
    39
    22
    28
See reviews for
160
113
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Resort is built with good grounds and great curb appeal. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Rooms have no noise control with adjoining units. Fine if the people next door go to sleep before you and stay asleep. Not so good if you had young people like we had next door. Coming and going while having some fun.

The resort staff speaks a good line but offer little help. They will not help unless you are about to kick in the door to get into your room. Barbecues that were available across the way were not lit. take a flash light if you don't cook by feel.

Do not expect checkin before 4PM it will not happen. Expect a bill if you want late checkout. Don't expect they will ask how your stay was on checkout. They do not need to here what may be said.

Don't be surprised if the appearance does not come through with clean room and good maintenance.

Good place for a one night stand. Good bed and linen.

Room Tip: Don't waist your time you will get what you get and nothing else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

All of the staff we dealt with were pleasant and helpful. However, there seemed to be a few breakdowns in communication when it came to staff-to-staff. Our bed was changed and new towels delivered on the day they were supposed to be. The info book said the bathroom would be cleaned and floors vacuumed. That did not happen so we called. Next day floor was vacuumed but bathroom still not cleaned. Since we are two fairly neat adults that wasn't a major issue but a bit of an annoyance.

Grounds, pool and facilities were kept up well.

We had a good time and enjoyed the resort and the area. Just the communication glitch that needs to be worked on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated. They said the renovations were nearly complete so may not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dino098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We own a time share in this resort and live just kilometers away yet we find a few days stay here provides a nice change even for ourselves that live so close. The units are well maintained, spacious and well appointed. They are currently being redecorated indicating the resort is wanting to keep up to date.

The activity building offers various activities with the indoor/outdoor heated pool being the main attraction, especially in the winter. Downhill and cross country skiing are basically at the door as is golf. Great mountain biking with both single and double tracks can be experienced right from the door if riders are somewhat experienced, in reasonable good physical shape and prepared to ride back up some steep hills. Unfortunately maps of the trails are lacking and this needs to be addressed. Road biking throughout the rolling hills of Oro Medonta is some of the best in Ontario as OroMedonta will soon be the first municipality to have every concession road paved. Hiking trails abound. There are a number of other activities within walking distance from the resort such as dog sledding, tree top adventures, miniature golf, zip line and downhill biking.

The cities of Orillia and Barrie are within twenty minute drive with good shopping, great restaurants and beautiful lake shore walks and parks. Toronto, Canada's largest city is within an hours drive to the south. The scenery with its rolling hills, good vistas, mixed forests and nearby lakes is some of the best in the province.

All in all, it is a very good destination.

Room Tip: We like ground floor as we then do not need to carry luggage,groceries, bikes and skies up the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doniwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wonderful location and thanks to Sarah (Duty Manager) we got a free upgrade from Studio to a 1 Bedroom accomodation.

Great kitchen, nice jacuzzi, splendid shower and perfect kingsize bed. Room was very clean and more clean towels than we could possibly make dirty :-)

The resort is really to slow down speed of the daily routine .. rent a movie at the clubhouse or take a dive in the pool or take a long walk in Copeland Forrest.

Make you sure you do run errands before 8pm before Foodland closes. :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeSait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great location. Well maintained. Very courteous and accommodating. Quiet. Lots of places to walk. Rooms were clean and in good repair. Had no issues with room. Attention to detail....Even had access to a plunger in the laundry room! Came in handy! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSKazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Carriage Hills with a recent Groupon. Would have liked a room on top floor but none were available and we were pleased that we never really heard the people in the 2nd floor unit. Good for a relaxing weekend-we swam, went to nearby Horseshoe resort to eat and zipline, and went into Barrie for lunch the one day. The weather was cool, unfortunately, but the pool was quite warm and gave us something to do on a cold day/night. Room was adequate (studio) but could use a little updating of cabinets, furniture, tv. The ones at Carriage Ridge look lovely and contemporary-we chose The Hills for the better pool. Overall a pleasant stay. It was busier than we thought it would be for a weekend in late Sept!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jencoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
10.6 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#6 of 19 in Barrie
929 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,123 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Property: Carriage Hills Resort
Address: 90 Highland Dr | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing