We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Again, a very nice stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carriage Hills Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage Hills Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Ontario
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Again, a very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Have stayed several times at both Hills and Ridge over the years and just spent 3 nights at Hills last weekend. Disappointed that the BBQ/drink area that was at the Hills poolside was not there this year. Was told that the resort was full at check-in. Staff members very nice for the most part. One night during adult only swim time there were still children in the pool 20 minutes after adult only swim time had begun. On that particular evening the lifeguard appeared rather snarly and did not seem happy to be there. The next evening (Sunday night) completely different. No kids in the pool right at 9pm and the lifeguard was very chatty and pleasant to the guests. While at the resort we spent a day at Wasaga Beach, day at Horseshoe Adventure park as well as visiting the pottery shop and souvie shop in Craighurst.

We stayed in a Phase 2 studio this time and saw some wear and tear. The pull out mattress was very saggy and not equipped whatsoever for two teens. Also noticed that the washroom was not very clean at check-in. Shower handle came off in my hand when tried to use it. We had an issue with a fuse blowing several times when we used the microwave. The maintenance man was very professional and pleasant.
Will definitely visit this resort again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riucanadagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    141
    39
    22
    28
See reviews for
160
111
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Here are the top reasons not to stay here:
5. outdated - needs a serious overhaul of furniture
4. the one and only window did not open
3. the industrial type carpeting had multiple stains
2. the shower was rusted and leaked when you showered
1. the grout in the shower was moldy
So....walk on by

Room Tip: I can only comment on the studio we were in. Perhaps the newer section of this location would have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryEllen926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Mary,

Thank you so much for providing this feedback. We apologize for the unit cleanliness issues you experienced during your stay. Please know we are always looking for ways to improve our resort locations and your feedback with help us do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We exchanged for an efficiency at Carriage Hills Resort July 28-Aug 4, 2013.

Check-in was slow. We arrived a bit before 2 PM. We were told the room should be available before the 4 PM normal check-in. Our keys were set to unlock the door at 4 PM. We were told to stop by prior to 4 PM for status. Others were getting into rooms, but not us. We entered our room at 4 PM and it had not been touched. We called requesting service, and had to call again. Maids came at 4:20 PM and we were in at 4:45 PM.

Although the room was swept and bathroom cleaned, little effort has been made on deep cleanings. We placed a sheet over the filthy sofa. The carpet didn't look any better. Shelves were dirty. And the balcony had not been touched for months.

The balcony had a nice view, and two chairs and a table. Both the chairs and table were too unstable to use.

Our smoke alarm chirped several times between 3 and 4 AM on our fourth night. Maintenance was called, and we were told it was due to a loose wire. The next night it again chirped between 12:30 and 2 AM.

We brought our bikes and asked the front desk for nearby trails for other than mountain bikes. Personnel were not aware of any. But we found a great trail between Barrie and Orillia that spans over 20 miles. Knowledge of restaurants at the front desk was negligible.

WiFi was a bit slower than dial-up. I ran a speed test, and it came in at .04 mg. Very difficult to use except for very early AM when others were sleeping.

On the bright side, Personnel were friendly. The area is pretty and the views are wonderful. The efficiency itself was larger than other timeshares we have visited and provided ample room for two.

Note: If you plan to go, Carriage Hills is preferred, as the Carriage Ridge buildings have much of the back siding removed and are in the process of remedying what appears to be significant mold issues.

  • Liked — Friendly personnel
  • Disliked — Bad check-in experience made us more aware of other shortcomings
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, Charles. We are sorry that you had difficulty with the room cleaning and check-in process being completed in a timely manner. We know that while on vacation, it is important to be treated well – especially after traveling all day. We will be taking action to prevent this issue from happening to you and future guests. We also apologize for the smoke detector beeping during the night and that maintenance was not able to fix the issue. We will do our best to ensure the detectors are no longer disruptive to guests. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We exchanged through RCI for a 1 bedroom and a studio for a family vacation (2 parents, 2 grandparents and 2 kids). We were really pleased to find that the front door led into both units and by leaving the second interior doors open we had a two-bedroom that the kids could go back and forth between.

The units were both clean and well appointed. The pullouts would not have been comfortable for an adult but were fine for the kids. The location was great for day trips and hiking and there was enough on-site to keep the kids amused.

A few minor hiccups that have been identified in other reviews did not detract from our stay but keep me from giving the resort an "excellent" rating.

Hiking advice - if you choose to hike on trails near the resort make sure you have a GPS or other tracker with you. The brochure provided is woefully inadequate and the myriad of possible paths makes it easy to get lost in the woods.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherreeLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here again and loved it again. I took my own advice from my previous post and asked for a newly renovated room. It was much more modern (especially the kitchen) compared to the room we stayed in last year. We booked a 2-bedroom suite for a week and invited my inlaws to join us and the 7 of us had an amazing time. We went in late May/early June so there was super low occupancy. The pool was generally empty. We got the RMT to come a few times. And other than a bunch of kids that came for a soccer tournament over the weekend, it was very quiet the rest of the time.

Normally when we are on vacation, it's always "go go go". But when you are in a location with not much to do, it allows you to relax and spend quality time with one another.

If you are looking for a "go go go" vacation, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bipy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our front door did not lock. Our balcony door did not close. There room was not cleaned at there were sunflower seeds on the floors and previous tenants property in our room. The front desk did not specialize in customer service. If you come to a hotel at noon and they say check in isn't til 4 BECAUSE if takes the cleaning lady that long to clean the room. At least give me a clean room when I get there. Waited 4 hours to get into our room not a minute early since our card wasn't activated until then even when they were finished cleaning we couldn't go in. It was not the resort the website made it out to be. Small imperfections all over add up to a bad experience, oh did I mention the hot tub gave me an entire body rash?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank o e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Carriage Hills Resort is in the Horseshoe Valley area of Ontario.

First of all I did not think it should be called a Resort because that intimates that everything one could ever wish to do or need is close at hand. The only grocery store and a few restaurants were 10 - 15 minutes drive . The meals served were varied, good and a lot cheaper than in the city! The distance is not a great inconvenience so not a big negative.

There was a decent sized swimming pool indoor/outdoor on site but from early morning to 9:00pm very busy with lots of kids and families. Adult only swim 9:00pm to 10:00pm but by then we had eaten dinner and too late really to want to swim and then shower again etc.! There was an activity schedule but we did not participate as it seemed mostly for families and we were a couple.

Our apartment ( really nice with hot tub ) backed on to the Highlands Golf Club so we could eat breakfast watching the red squirrels and chipmunks plus the early golfers. Really nice. On the negative side the air conditioner was noisy and situated on the deck outside the bedroom so kept waking me up. The Resort advertises free wifi and for the first few days email was available, albeit intermittent, but the last three days it was totally unavailable . Disturbing as this is when at home the big flod and storm and power outages were going on so it was hard to find out what was happening at home.

Lots of golf clubs close by with very reasonable rates. Discounts for VIP's and guests. Highland Golf Club really a good course. Challenging, well laid out and extremely well kept.

I went for the walking and there are lots of small trails near by and within a short drive in any direction there are various trails providing many different terrains. ie: open lakeside walks, forest walks, hilly walks etc. Some trails follow the ski trails. Ziplining from top to bottom of these ski trails is a fun activity.

The small town of Orillia is about 25 minute drive with some long trails and a nice walk along the lakeside. Also boasts the Mariposa Bakery whose produce no words can amply describe and well worth a visit.

All in all a good week .

Gloria Smith

Room Tip: Backing onto golf club. Otherwise all you will see from your patio/deck is the parking lot. Or the...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.7 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
11.7 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
11.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
13.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Property: Carriage Hills Resort
Address: 90 Highland Dr | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing