We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing vacation spot. Super clean rooms/condos.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage Hills Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing vacation spot. Super clean rooms/condos.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

During the past decade I have stayed at the Hills/Ridge Resort area approximately 8 times. I have stayed in studios, one and two bedroom units depending on how many people I was travelling with.

As others have stated there is no restaurant on site, but a quick drive to Horseshoe will give you access to restaurants. The reception area/check-in has always been prompt, questions have always been answered, and lots of information provided. Carriage Hills is divided into three sections, phase one, two and three. Phase one is located closest to the indoor/outdoor pool and activity building. The one bedroom units all have views of forest/hills etc. whereas the studio (hotel room) units face the parking lot. A two bedroom units simply give you access to the studio and the one bedroom combined.

Closeby activites include an awesome pet store, chip truck, grocery store, lcbo and quaint shops in nearby Craighurst. Venturing a little further you can go to restaurants, large shopping malls etc. in Barrie. A little further (about 45 min) and you can visit Wasaga Beach.

Our last trip was a weeklong vacation, thereby allowing us time to enjoy several of the on-site activities the resort offers as well as day trips.

I am planning another vacation for this upcoming summer (August) and am really looking forward to enjoying the pool as well as the adults only hot tub (from 9-10 pm) each evening.
To conclude, you can't go wrong with this resort.
Please feel free to PM me if you have specific questions.

Room Tip: Phase two and three a little further walk from activities at main building but much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riucanadagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    144
    39
    22
    28
See reviews for
160
113
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls,
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This resort has become kind of a home away from home for many of my family members who visit me here in the Barrie area. It is a resort that is great for the kids, has activities for all age groups in their weekly calendar, and is close to not only ski hills and golf courses but some great little shops and galleries in Craighurst and an 1 1/2 drive to Toronto. I do agree that some of the units decor are dated, but not aweful and certainly not dirty. The company clearly recognizes that the decor is effecting guest experience and have done some renovations. The freshly updated units are beautiful and very cozy. I am sure if this was going to make or break your visit then you could request it and they would do their very best to accomodate your request. Which brings me to my next point. Excellence in customer service... on our last visit (2 weeks ago) we once again were given exceptional service from not only the front desk staff but the lifeguards as well. They not only provided us with information but they even offered to print a map of directions for us!!! Now that is good customer service.

The only thing missing from this place is my Keurig!

If you are interested in relaxing, taking in beautiful scenery, enjoying the swim inside/outside pool, having activities available within a short drive away, or just spending time in a cozy place making a meal with family then Carriage Hills is right for you.

If you are looking for a high-end hotel that caters to your every whime and has a fantastic night life, restaurants galore and many amenities then you might be better suited for a different resort.

Room Tip: If you are looking for ease of access such as staying with small children then the lower floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcevent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a long weekend at this location. We had a studio (one room with king bed, pull out couch and kitchenette). The accommodations were very good. Up to date, clean, and comfortable. The kitchen came with a microwave, bar fridge, kettle, coffee maker and toaster as well as dishes, glasses and cutlery. There was also the use of a washer and dryer and detergent provided for no charge. The only issue we had was that while there was a kettle and tea bags provided, there was no tea pot. Despite two calls to get one, it never showed up. I made tea in the milk jug. We found that people walking up and down the out door stairs could be heard/felt in our room. Also, we were next to the building that housed the linens and supplies and it was noisy every morning while staff loaded up and had deliveries made, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've stayed at the carriage ridge and hills several times, it's nice and if you get the room with the kitchen it is handy, the adjoining room is great if you have more people. The kids enjoy the indoor/outdoor pool. We've stayed there for skiing at horseshoe, and for local events, and usually find it reasonably priced for a quick weekend get away.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant or room service...kitchens and barbecues..we prefer the one with the indoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanty Bay, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are here right now and if we were given the choice we would of chosen another place.The front desk people are very snotty and completely unhelpful. There are absolutely no ammenities close by. They wouldn't even assist us in getting milk for our baby. It's an 8 min drive to the closest store but a good couple hours walk. The people above were loud until after 4AM the complaint we made did not make a difference. Housekeeping has not been in once and we have been here for 3 days now, PATHETIC!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I took a weekend getaway to the Carridge Ridge/Hills Resort March 2-4 2013. We this time stayed at the Hills after several stays at the Ridge. We had an incredible time. The staff we fabulous from check in to service at the recreation facilicities. The indoor outdoor pool experience was one we will never forget, swimming out amoungst the snowflakes in the cool evening sky is truly romantic. Another successful stay with the most amazing can-do attitude people I have ever met in the world travels we have taken!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jstewart1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The staffing is not great at the best of times. We have stayed repeatedly. Of the three times we stayed since Christmas, housekeeping forgot to come twice - so twice I was making the beds and cleaning up the bathroom - not really what I paid for on a weekend away.

The units are getting run down. The furnishings is showing wear and tear. The bedding had repeatedly had holes, both in sheets and in blankets.

Room Tip: Be sure to book on the Carriage Hills side, or you don't get to use the indoor-outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sally S,
I am sorry I cannot provide insight into the service of your unit without knowing the nature of the reservation and its inclusions.
Your loyalty and business is very important to us and I welcome the opportunity to assist with your next reservation.
Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
10.6 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#6 of 19 in Barrie
929 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,122 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Property: Carriage Hills Resort
Address: 90 Highland Dr | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing