We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home for the price of a room.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage Hills Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home for the price of a room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed at Carriage Hills and Carriage Ridge on a couple of occasions. There are few places that compare in value. The suite is basically a condo, has full kitchen with everything you require if you wish to prepare your own meals, even gas bbq outside if you prefer. There is large living room, balcony, large master bedroom with kingsize bed, large jacuzzi tub and glass double walkin shower. For $149 a night on Expedia, this is a bargain. It is 5 minutes off the 400 or Hwy 11, only minute from Barrie or Orillia. I would say it is the best kept secret north of Toronto.

This last stay, the TV in the living room didn't work and the radio/stereo had no reception. I paid for a late checkout, yet the cleaning staff showed up at 10. Then the desk clerk called and was a bit snarly with me because they had an "Elite Guest" checking in that day and needed me out. She then informed me that the night clerk wasn't supposed to offer "endless mornings" on Friday. I guess I was a low rent guest....not sure what the difference is???? Anyways, I did stay until 1 as I had paid for it and was in the middle of cooking my breakfast when they arrived.

That aside, I love staying there and will surely be back when work takes me there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrmaxx1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriageHills, Director of Sales at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear maxxtraxx,
Thank you for sharing your comments about the value you recieve when staying in our condo-suites. We appreciate your business!
Please know that your comments have been shared with our Management Team so we can improve everywhere we can.
We are pleased you will be returning and I welcome your call so I may assist with your reservation.
Kind regards,
Tara Woodward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    141
    39
    22
    28
See reviews for
160
111
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MISSISSAUGA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Carriage Hills Resort is a great place to spend time with the family.

Check was quick, and the staff were super friendly and ready to assist you.

The 1 bedroom unit at the Hansom Area is clean, spacious, and was very comfortable. The kids enjoyed the time we spent in the pool area everyday. While they enjoy the pool, I definitely enjoyed the indoor and outdoor hot tubs. My little 3 year old had a blast in the indoor kiddie pool, and my 9 year old swam in and out of the pool going outdoor and indoor because the pool connects the indoor to the outside. After swimming we would spend time in the playground or go for a walk around the property. The property itself is pristinely kept and is connected to a golf course.

The bed was super comfy and I had the best sleep ever.

We had everything we needed inside the unit itself. We had a full kitchen and it's fully supplied with everything we needed. From plates, cups, glasses, flatwares, cookware, bakeware, they had it for us. All we brought was our food, drinks and condiments. They provided us with the dish washing soap, laundry detergent, hand and dish cloths. The bathroom is also well supplied with toiletries.

The only problem we had was the tv in our living room. We had to reset the breaker every time we wanted to turn it on. Plus, the arcade room could use a bit more interesting games and some of the machines weren't working and just took our tokens.

Other than that, it was a relaxing time with the family, and it's just 1.5h from where we live. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Hansom Area are newly renovated and closer to the clubhouse where the activities ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was a quick getaway with the kids.... GREAT value.
very spacious accommodations. we had a 1 bedroom which had a king bed + HUGE jacuzzi tub + 2 sinks, separate shower, toilet & sink area. Then there was pullout queen (not the most comfortable --- thin mattress & springs), big updated tv & dvd, in the kitchen & dining & living room area.
Room backed on to golf course and was clean.
Housekeeping only makes beds and replaces towels, probably because this is an RCI/interval resort.... not like a regular hotel.
There were bbq's for throughout the resort for guests to use and staff were friendly.
pool was nice and had a small hut where you could get drinks and snacks.
major drawback aside from the pool snackbar, there is NO restaurant on site. Need to drive into town or to Horseshoe resort next door for that.
Overall... for what we paid -- what we got was amazing.
Would DEFINITELY go back.

Room Tip: Ask for something above ground level. there are 3 levels to the units. we were in the middle one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We chose this place instead of the Horseshoe resort just for the accomodation. It was spacious. Clean, with Kitchenette and flatwares, breakfast table, with washer and dryer with free laundry detergent. This is perfect for families that just want to relax and have fun. This has all the amenities you need .with a large indoor and outdoor pool, a large play area for kids. It also has bbq grills located on every corner. For the deal we had, it was worth it compared to a curbside motel for the same price we payed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matulis888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
269 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

At suite 2200 in Barrie's Carriage Hill resort (opposite Highland Golf course & bordering the town of Craighurst), we were pleasantly surprised with quiet respite. The clean kitchen was well stocked with cookware; concierge & staff were friendly; and, a Foodland market beside highway 400 (Craighurst) provided us with ample supplies of food to cook. Daily scheduled activities & on-site pool fun meant more rest for adults, while the kids played. The poolside patio grill offered tasty sliders, franks or burgers. In the ski park almost next door, the kids enjoyed harnessed rock climbing, running a maze or water cannon, the Euro-trampolines, and mini golf at Horseshoe Valley Adventure Park. A half hour's drive West, past the little Elmvale zoo, we stopped en route to Wasaga beach at a popular bakery facing Yummi ice cream & candy shop, beside a gift store called "Idle Fancies" (29 Queen St. W., Elmvale). The next day, we drove a bit over a half hour North by road 93 to Midland. A peaceful picnic spot could be found at Little Lake Park Rd. The kids enjoyed Dracula Dungeon or little Castle Village (starting at $3/adult), Huronia Museum ($36 for a family of 4 to see a 16th c. style community), Christian Martyr's Shrine garden on hwy. 12 near Talbot St. ($4/adult) and Sainte Marie Among the Hurons (excellently recreated pioneer village & educational centre with restaurant at Wye Marsh) by Discovery Harbour, just across hwy. 12 from the cathedral. Though the kids had skiied at Horseshoe Valley and Moonstone (2 exits further North in Barrie along hwy. 400 toward Midland), they hadn't experienced the local native culture or the recreational sights, such as 30,000 islands' lake cruise. Each day's excursion was a little kid's delight. Tomorrow, we'll wake from a good night's sleep under crisp sheets, to try go-karting at closeby Rounds Ranch or at Shanty Bay. Indeed, a good way to end an action-packed family get-away!

Room Tip: I am told that units on the East side are better. Some (like those next to 2200) have living areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AnLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

My then girlfriend and I went to Horseshoe valley for a summer weekend and spent Saturday night at the resort. The suite was large and well equipped, and very close to Horseshoe Valley itself (it backs onto the ski hill). The rooms were quiet and clean. During our two days there we enjoyed both the Adventure Park and Tree Top Trekking at Horseshoe Valley, which we recommend.

I'm also a bit biased in favour of the Resort, as I proposed that evening while we were out walking - we are returning to celebrate the occasion this year.

Room Tip: Generally most rooms seem to have a small patio or deck, so if you enjoy privacy sitting outside con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MeadowvaleON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We recently travelled to the Carriage Hills Resort for a family getaway. The resort itself was quite nice. The rooms were spacious and clean and the grounds were immaculate. The chalet consisted of full kitchen with all appliances and utensils which are handy for those who wish to cook. There were plenty of BBQ's outside for people to use as well which is great for summer time use.

The location is close to many golf courses and you are less than 30 minutes away from both Barrie and Wasaga Beach. Lots of walking and riding trails around the resort as well. The indoor outdoor pool was a hit with the kids.

The only downfalls with this resort are that there is not a restaurant on site. The closest one is about 5-7 minutes away by car. In addition, for really small children, outside of the swimming pool there is not a tonne of things to do.

All and all I would recommend this resort, espcially for those with families with older children.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
10.6 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
2.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
3.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Hills Resort

Property: Carriage Hills Resort
Address: 90 Highland Dr | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Condo-Suites only 1 hour north of Toronto only minutes north of Barrie. Family vacations, golf & ski getaways, romantic retreats, excellent nightly rates and more! Oversized Studio suites (400 sq ft) with private balcony and kitchenette. 1- and 2-Bedroom suites (800-1200 sq ft) with fireplace, jetted tub, balcony, laundry. On site pool, hot tub, kids pool, fitness room and activities program 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carriage Hills Hotel Barrie
Carriage Hills Barrie
Carriage Hills Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing