We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As real as it gets”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Midway Diner

Midway Diner
Ranked #91 of 501 Restaurants in Barrie
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“As real as it gets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hey you would think you are in NYC or Montreal so real is this diner.
Ask for sausages well done and they are. Great for all day breakfast and triple D inspired lunches.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canad_ian1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Needs Renovation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

This restaurant is small, when you get there I was a bit confused I didn't know if I was suppose to wait to be seated or seat myself, so we seated ourselves since no one seemed to care if we sat or not. We had to wait until a empty table was available since it was busy. When we finally sat we ordered the food, the prices were reasonable and the food was tasty (try the omelette). This restaurant is need of major renovations, the both next to us had a leaky ceiling and holes in it, and it kept on leaking on the customers that were eating at the booth and the owners didn't even bother to warn them when they sat there. The washroom is dirty and old and needs a renovation. I will not go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ldantimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Level Contributor
206 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Won't go back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The food and the service was terrible! The food was very plain and not that tasty. We waited for ever for a server and then waited for the bill.

Helpful?
2 Thank gdwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tim and Mathew do a good job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Food is good, its a breakfast/lunch place. They mingle with the regulars and make everyone feel at home. Resonably priced. We frequent about once a month.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggie154980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast - passable (Sunday, long weekend)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My brunch (breakfast by food type) was enjoyable mostly because of the company I was with. Denver omelette, OJ, coffee. The omelette was on the greasy side, not very flavourful. The home fries weren't greasy, but they weren't very flavourful, either. OJ was from concentrate, but good. The coffee, passable (I'm guessing basic Mother Parker's). Service was very friendly, but variable. The initial food delivery came quickly, but they were inattentive with coffee refills, which required multiple requests. There was a lineup of about ten at the door as we were leaving around noon. The lunch menu looks decent, and they make a big deal out something they have called "Mansauce". The last Friday of every month, they are open for dinner. Given how loved this place is by locals, I'll probably give it another try sometime.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiggerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Midway Diner also viewed

 

Been to Midway Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing