We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was OK but mediocre beer selection”

Donaleigh's Irish Public House
Ranked #3 of 507 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food was OK but mediocre beer selection”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I had the fish and chips and I was impressed by the size and quality of the fish. The fries were well cooed also. They have a nice patios in both front and back. I was disappointed by the beer selection, for an area with so much good beer they had mostly Molson products and a few of the standard Irish beers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daytonengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    185
    40
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Why were both the burgers and the waitperson so "dry"?”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The room was great and the wood bar impressive. The burgers we asked for were to be medium but they arrived overdone. We were told that the law requires well done. Never experienced that excuse. Other than that the place deserves another go and we will give it a try. The waitstaff should try interacting more pleasantly with the customers although one waitress was very pleasant--maybe they also didn't like having to wear those school girl kilts!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerryToronto_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Been here a couple of times and every time I have been it has been great my mom introduced me to it however I have taken my husband a couple of times since and he has loved the food as well. He is the true test he is such a foodie! Anyways great food great atmosphere only pulled pork I have had outside an actual BBQ joint that I have enjoyed. Guiness gravy to boot. We will be back for sure. Pulled pork tacos the grilled cheese that they do is what I have had. Best sweet potato fries I have had as well!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheeMrsLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Pub atmosphere”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a fun place to spend some time with friends in a truly wonderful pub atmosphere. The pub food is plentiful and quite good. We tend to go for just the appetisers and beer. We have eaten here but found the quantity a bit overwhelming and the food just above average. However the atmosphere is fun the beer is cold and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We love going here for a Friday night out and the appetizers and beer are great. Friday there is always some entertainment which is fun. You can see this is a place friends like to come and meet for a great evening out. We go back at least once a week and highly recommend you give it a try.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I love pubs, this one hit the mark!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I visit Donaleigh's whenever I am in town! I really enjoy it. Good service, good food, cold beer. Fun place to go with a special someone or friends. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donaleigh's Irish Public House also viewed

 

Been to Donaleigh's Irish Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing