We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Barrie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Knights Inn Barrie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knights Inn Barrie
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
1 review
“Best hotel in Barrie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced, walking distance to downtown Barrie and the staff is incredible. I've been here dozens of times and have never had a bad experience. If you are visiting Barrie the Howard Johnson is the best hotel by far, I wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frannybannany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    35
    28
    38
    87
See reviews for
41
53
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights, it was wonderful, clean and the staff were very friendly. I give this hotel 5 stars! The breakfast was delicious!... I would definitely stay there again!
My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights, it was wonderful, clean and the staff were very friendly. I give this hotel 5 stars! The breakfast was delicious!... I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabrinaBoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed in the honeymoon sweet recently with my husband for our anniversary. It was an amazing stay and the staff were very pleasant and accomodating. The room was very romantic and private. The location is perfect and close to all amenities including, restaurants, bars, shopping, waterfront etc. It was a fantastic weekend and I would definitely return!

Room Tip: Honeymoon sweet is the way to go!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The title says it all......
Howard Johnson Barrie is close to shopping and restaurants, the price is reasonable and the atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. I appreciate conveniences like a microwave, iron, fridge and free wi-fi. The room was very clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. This is my first choice when staying in Barrie. It is close to downtown.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! The double bed rooms is Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebinantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

It was worth of my money that I spent for weekend at Howard Johnson at Barrie. My wife and nephew were really happy with the location of the motel. It was the only one near the down town and watching santa clause parade from across the street was a pleasant experience with family and friends. The only thing I was not pleased about was weather and drunk people on down town street. There is also a restaurant next to the motel and the buffet at restaurant was really yummy. I enjoyed fishing at creek passing through the parking lot. Twenty four hour service including housekeeping and room service were some of the convenient facilities that helped us to spend time with family and we were free to as for service when we want and didn't have to worry for morning knock on the door when kids were sleeping. They also offers continental breakfast at morning 6 to 9 am. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Free parking also helped to save money and can park right at the door of room and wonderful open area for kids to play. Building was old but preety looking and nicely managed. Clean place to stay and nice interior was really attractive.

Room Tip: Book in advance if planning to travel Barrie during weekend as it if difficult to find a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prash9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thanks for leaving us a review. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Too good.. I liked the service and clean area... they have changed a lot with new flat screen smart tv and whiter sheets and towels. Breakfast is a real advantage. All to eaat toast bagel juice.. tea coffee fruit crerals and waffles were fresh...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanpreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very dated rooms. Basic cable only. Reservations made through the HOWARD JOHNSON number was not honoured!! I had a confirmation number for my reservation and it was NOT honoured. There is no onsite restaurant therefore no breakfast offered. The chinese buffet next door does NOT offer breakfast items. I will not stay at a HOWARD JOHNSON again due to this terrible experience

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hey Brenda, thanks for leaving us a review. We are currently updating our room, and part of the update is that we are switching to a digital cable service provider. As for the breakfast: we do indeed offer a continental breakfast, however it is not offered through the adjoining buffet. It is located in our own breakfast room located adjacent to the office. Please come again to see how we have improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Barrie On Bayfield
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 19 in Barrie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
0.9 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Barrie

Property: Knights Inn Barrie
Address: 150 Dunlop St W, Barrie, Ontario L4N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Barrie 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown location on site bar and grill restaurant walking distance to down town Barrie and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario Hotel Barrie
Knights Inn Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing