We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated rooms. Basic cable only. Reservations made...”
Review of Knights Inn Barrie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Barrie
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very dated rooms. Basic cable only. Reservations made through the HOWARD JOHNSON number was not honoured!! I had a confirmation number for my reservation and it was NOT honoured. There is no onsite restaurant therefore no breakfast offered. The chinese buffet next door does NOT offer breakfast items. I will not stay at a HOWARD JOHNSON again due to this terrible experience

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Hey Brenda, thanks for leaving us a review. We are currently updating our room, and part of the update is that we are switching to a digital cable service provider. As for the breakfast: we do indeed offer a continental breakfast, however it is not offered through the adjoining buffet. It is located in our own breakfast room located adjacent to the office. Please come again to see how we have improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 241 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Myshelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I wish there was a rating of 0 because this place doesn't deserve even a 1.

I complained with the letter below (plus photos) and received a full refund. At least the staff were pleasant in the exchange about my complaint. The letter:

On July 27, 2013, my husband and I had a booking at the Howard Johnson in downtown Barrie, Ontario.

Though your website claims that your locations are "for value-conscious families and business travelers who are looking for reasonably priced accommodations", the state of the room, the hotel, and the breakfast options go beyond reasonably priced, and dips far into atrocious and neglected, and probably illegal.

Let me illustrate:
First and foremost, we requested a non-smoking room. When I opened the door, it reeked of smoke. While it was likely now a non-smoking room, this had clearly been a smoking room for years upon years, and those with sensitivities like we have should not be subjected to that residual smell and told outright that the room used to be a smoking room.

I began to inspect the room and felt an odourless but oily residue on all surfaces. I suspect this might have been a cleaning solution, but it took several tissues to wipe it all off. It was disgusting.

In the bathroom, the sink faucet handle was broken off and barely worked (see attached), the shower stall faucet handle was broken off and barely worked AND there were marks on the bottom of shower stall that clearly indicates that this has been happening for some time (see attached). As well, there were three holes in the drywall, aligned vertically (see attached). There was nothing to hang a towel on, and there were no bath towels (I had to call to get some, and they were delivered within the hour).

Back in the room itself, the overloaded power bar posed a danger with everything, including the mini fridge, plugged into it. A handle on the credenza was missing (see attached), the cover for the battery compartment of the tv remote control was missing (see attached), and there were cigarette stains on the sheets and pillow cases (see attached) as well as on the telephone. The bed creaked and was off centre. The ceiling tiles showed obvious leak damage. The only way to close the curtains blocked the air conditioner.

And it didn't stop there. Breakfast the next morning was all carbs, except for WEEK OLD expired yogurt (see attached). No fruit, no hardboiled eggs, not even jam for the toast. It was cereal, toast, and waffles. That's it. Beverages were water, milk, and orange juice that clearly came from a powder. Not even fresh juice or juice from concentrate. Juice made from powder (shows that you clearly don't care about your patrons. The cereal dispenser was broken, the waffle iron didn't work well, and the tables needed cleaning. Plus, for as few people as were in the hotel, eating with only plastic utensils also shows that you would rather spend as little as possible.

And to end our stay, there were dirty diapers, cans, and other garbage strewn across the parking lot.

There was absolutely nothing about our stay that was enjoyable, and everything was despicable. This property is shameful and disgusting. That's 22 issues that I discovered within the first 10mins of being there, and expired yogurt and overloaded power bars could have had dangerous consequences.

Is this what your want your chain to be like? Is this the reputation you want for your company?

I expect a full refund. Please advise how you will send that to me.

Room Tip: check everything before putting your bags on soft surfaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ruyoung5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

For the price of this hotel, it is a good place to stay. It is clean and has a free breakfast (toast, cereal, fruit, yogurt). It is close to downtown Barrie which is perfect. Can't really say anything bad..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank h0wellm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thanks for the kind words Margaret. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Please do yourself a favour and don't stay here. The rooms are not clean whatsoever, I am now covered in bed bug bites, and there were seedy dealings in the parking lot all night, including multiple visits by Barrie police.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ctweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a comment. I'm sorry that you had issues with the room you were given. In the future please let us know and we would be happy to switch your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
3  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 19 in Barrie
179 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Barrie / Hart Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Barrie On Bayfield
0.9 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Barrie

Address: 150 Dunlop St W, Barrie, Ontario L4N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range: $58 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Barrie 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown location on site bar and grill restaurant walking distance to down town Barrie and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario Hotel Barrie
Knights Inn Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing