We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so happy.”
Review of Knights Inn Barrie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Barrie
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Hamilton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not so happy.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I booked a room with fridge and microwave. Had to negotiate and show proof of booking to get the room with amenities (front desk tried to give me lesser room than booked). Entry door to units was loud when closing and had a hard time sleeping. Continental breakfast is 6am-9am (I found this timeframe unusual to eat breakfast as any hotel I have stayed in usually offers it until 10am). The room could have been cleaner (the towels were very a very dingy colour, not the usual white)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Larry James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Larry, I apologize for our mistake with the booking. Though I am relieved to hear that you were able to resolve the issue promptly with the front desk. Our breakfast time used to actually be from 6:00AM to 10:00AM, but we found that it was very rare that anyone would come after 9:00. After a while of this, we decided to cut the time to preserve freshness. If there are enough people who suggest that we change it back to the 6-10AM timetable: we shall gladly do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    35
    28
    38
    87
See reviews for
41
53
31
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A nice place to have a family stay , bit old building but very nice service . walking distance from almost everything . totally worth my money . breakfast wad wide . called for extra pillows and towels and came in few minutes .

Recommend to all family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priyanka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. I'm glad that you were happy with your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Anywhere but here would be my advice. Can't begin to tell you what was wrong. Service wise they tried, however.......The final straw was trying to take a shower in the morning. No hot water. I let the water run for 8 minutes. A call to the front desk was answered immediately. The clerk tried to help. Told me there was hot water in both rooms on either side. I just had to be patient. Some times hot water takes time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
I am sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are aware that in rare cases, in the rooms farthest from the tank: hot water takes a long time to arrive. We are working to address that problem, and hope that you give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Toronto
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room was slanted to the point the bed was on an angle. There was no thermostat and the room was so hot. The key didnt work in the side door so I had to walk unnecessary distances to get to my room
Not a good experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
I am sorry that you had issues with your door during your stay with us. In the future, please feel free to alert the front desk staff about any issues, large or small, and know that we will do our best to address them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Barrie On Bayfield
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 19 in Barrie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
0.9 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Barrie

Property: Knights Inn Barrie
Address: 150 Dunlop St W, Barrie, Ontario L4N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Barrie 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown location on site bar and grill restaurant walking distance to down town Barrie and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario Hotel Barrie
Knights Inn Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing