We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left 2 Hours After Arrival”
Review of Knights Inn Barrie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Barrie
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Left 2 Hours After Arrival”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Room was terrible, dirty, spiderwebs and had paint peeling off the wall. Bathroom was tiny and not very clean, bed extremely uncomfortable. Owner/manager on duty pretended to "not know" where our deposit was after I demanded it back. He finally found it in the same draw he put it in 2 hours earlier. I would never even consider returning to this hotel. Stay away!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave56395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Mike, I am very disappointed to see that you did not choose to stay with us. Please know that our staff is always striving to accommodate our guests, and would be happy change rooms if there was ever anything wrong with the first. We hope that you give Howard Johnson Barrie another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    28
    38
    90
See reviews for
41
54
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HAMILTON
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel was for myself, husband and young daughter to sleep at one night while we continued further north. it was an average hotel, fairly clean. only real complaint was being woke up in the middle of the night by a bunch of drunk people who gathered out front of our door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank SHERI O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you Sheri for your review. I am very sorry that your stay with us was less than ideal due to noise. Please know that we try to keep such disturbances to a minimum at night, but if there are still issues: please alert to us them so that we may deal with them as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We went at the Howard Johnson because it was neatly situated near a little pub we wanted to go. What an horrible mistake!
When we first got in the room, the everything seemed ok. The toilet was a little dirty, but hey! this is not home and at the price we paid we could handle that after a couple of beer!

When we came back to sleep, we realized there was blood stain on the sheet and more on a pillow. During the night we were woke up by the sound of water falling from the ceiling. There was a lot of water, apparently the person on the second floor took a shower and something was broken because the shower was actually draining in our room.

We spoke with the manager who told us he had only one room left so we went to that room. I decided to inspect it before moving in. The first thing I realize was the smell, it had a relent of urine in the air. I opened the bed to check the sheet, and again blood stain, on the second bed (this room had 2 queen bed) there was a big spot of mold in the sheet.

At that point, it was more than I could handle! I went back to the manager to ask for a refund but he refuse because it was about 1 am. We left and went to the travelodge which was just perfect and only about 25$ more expensive.

I'm certainly not going to stay again in a Howard Johnson!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markxiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My stay at the Howard Johnson Express was a very pleasant experience. The staff were extremely helpful. I had forgotten my wine glasses and cork screw. The staff was able to provide everything I needed to have a nice relaxing night!
The room was nice and clean, and very spacious. I really enjoyed my stay, and would definitely recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Hi Angela, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, and I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, and I hope that you will choose us again if you are even back in Barrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Excellent location.....right in the middle of the city. The staff is extremely attentive to all needs, i.e. extra towels, providing an iron, or directions to a destination. Very professional, great sense of humour. I strongly recommend this hotel to anybody staying in the Barrie/ and or surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate all comments on our service and we hope to see you again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, QC
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beautiful granite floor in Breakfast area. Central location and probably very elegant at one time, but needs some upgrades. All our requests were honoured. Excellent value for the money and will stay there again.

Room Tip: Queen room is much preferable to Double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOJOUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, know that we take all suggestions seriously and are in the process of an ongoing renovation plan to upgrade the property. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The gentleman working in the office was friendly and helpful, but the property itself is in desperate need of some TLC and updating. We stayed near the west side of the first floor, and the now closed neighbouring restaurants' patio framing was really rough and old looking. The concrete flooring beside the room was busted up - the overhang for the 2nd floor walkway is rotting underneath and needs repair and paint. The air conditioner doesn't fix properly and we stuffed napkins in the exposed area to keep the bugs out. Also, someone had not vaccuumed properly and there were several glass shards beside and under the bed which simply means someone did not do their job right and take the time to vaccuum properly. It smelled as if there was beer spilled recently beside the bed but once the air got circulating the smell left pretty quickly.

All in all, this property has great potential and from we experienced, a solid front desk staff - it just needs some upgrading and proper housekeeping and maintenance care.

Room Tip: Depending on your expectations, I would suggest you ask to see a room first and check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDrury1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, and are taking your suggestions seriously. We are working on renovating the property, doing everything from laying concrete to painting. We are also working on improving the quality of our cleaning services. We hope that you stay with us again to see the difference your suggestions have helped make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Barrie On Bayfield
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 19 in Barrie
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Barrie / Hart Dr.
0.9 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Barrie

Property: Knights Inn Barrie
Address: 150 Dunlop St W, Barrie, Ontario L4N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Barrie 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown location on site bar and grill restaurant walking distance to down town Barrie and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Knights Inn Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario Hotel Barrie
Knights Inn Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing