We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable but needs a lot of TLC”
Review of Knights Inn Barrie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Barrie
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable but needs a lot of TLC”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The gentleman working in the office was friendly and helpful, but the property itself is in desperate need of some TLC and updating. We stayed near the west side of the first floor, and the now closed neighbouring restaurants' patio framing was really rough and old looking. The concrete flooring beside the room was busted up - the overhang for the 2nd floor walkway is rotting underneath and needs repair and paint. The air conditioner doesn't fix properly and we stuffed napkins in the exposed area to keep the bugs out. Also, someone had not vaccuumed properly and there were several glass shards beside and under the bed which simply means someone did not do their job right and take the time to vaccuum properly. It smelled as if there was beer spilled recently beside the bed but once the air got circulating the smell left pretty quickly.

All in all, this property has great potential and from we experienced, a solid front desk staff - it just needs some upgrading and proper housekeeping and maintenance care.

Room Tip: Depending on your expectations, I would suggest you ask to see a room first and check it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDrury1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, and are taking your suggestions seriously. We are working on renovating the property, doing everything from laying concrete to painting. We are also working on improving the quality of our cleaning services. We hope that you stay with us again to see the difference your suggestions have helped make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    28
    38
    90
See reviews for
41
54
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Room was clean and staff was very good with the overall service. Will definitely stay there again :)

LeoS2K

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dothedew88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for the positive review, we are very happy to see that your needs were met while staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Comfortable, clean and friendly services. The room was VERY well kept and the sheets were so nice...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lohit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Comfortable, clean and friendly services. Accommodations and various available items that ease the stay. I had stayed at this location for two weeks, and not one had an issue with the staff or any of the services.

Room Tip: Ask for the fridge and microwave capabilities to continue enjoyment of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, I am glad your stay was enjoyable and I hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I went to the Howard Johnson hotel with my friend for a one night stay. The employee who we went to to check in gave us the room for $90 and he was very polite. We walked up the stairs and when we went in, I was immediately amazed. The room was VERY well kept and the sheets were so nice. The carpet was soft and the bed was comfortable. I've seen so many bad reviews but I don't know why... I liked it there. I even left a $2 tip. I wanted to leave more but I had no other money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am very happy to see that you had a positive experience with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Being a non-smoking couple, and noticing prevalent signage of this being a non-smoking hotel, the first thing that sparked our uncertainty about staying here, was the strong smell of smoke in the hotel office. When we inquired about this being a non-smoking building, the staff at the front desk reassured us that smoking was allowed outside only. He offered to show us a room, after some indecision with another staff member as to which one we would see, and we were more undecided when we entered the room. The smell of smoke was very evident. As all other major chain hotels in Barrie were fully booked, we decided to give it a try (BIG MISTAKE).

Our room was on the ground floor, facing the parking lot, almost next door to a very noisey bar. Patrons of the bar came and went all night, from the hotel rooms surrounding us, until 4:00 a.m. the next morning. Needless to say, we didn't get much sleep.

Continental breakfast was offered to us (6:00-10:00 a.m.). When we arrived at the breakfast room at 7:30 a.m., there was no coffee or bagels, the juice machine was not working. Staff was insulted when we asked if we could at least get a cup of coffee.

If anyone plans to stay there, take an employee of the Health & Safety Dept. with you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
First of all, I am very sorry that your stay with us was not to your full satisfaction. Our rooms are indeed non-smoking, and we do all that we can to stop customers from breaking this rule. If you find that your room is not to your liking, please let the staff know so that we can change your room immediately. Also, I assure you that this property is not near any sort of bar or similar establishment, the closest neighbours being a high school and a residential area. If the residents of the room next to yours are being noisy, please let the staff know, as we would be happy to step in to restore peace and quiet. Finally, I am sorry to hear that your breakfast was not up to par, be sure that this incident will not happen again as we have taken steps to avoid being short on both food and drink for our continental breakfast. Please stay with us again to see how you have helped us improve with your advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Welland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This was the worst hotel I have ever seen or stayed in. The room was filthy, the sheets and bedding were stained and I am certain they weren't laundered. Every hotel was booked for the CMT festival or I would have sacrificed the booking and been long gone... The staff were rude and dismissive as well. This experience was horrendous!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIVA140, General Manager at Knights Inn Barrie, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
First of all, thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay with us was not ideal. If there was a problem with the cleanliness of the room, we would have been happy to change it right away. We are however, working on improving the quality of our cleaning staff, and are renovating our rooms so mishaps like this do not happen at all. Many of our renovations are already done or near completion, please visit us again to see the results caused by your advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Barrie On Bayfield
0.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 19 in Barrie
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn - Barrie / Hart Dr.
0.9 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Barrie

Property: Knights Inn Barrie
Address: 150 Dunlop St W, Barrie, Ontario L4N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Barrie 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown location on site bar and grill restaurant walking distance to down town Barrie and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn Barrie Ontario Hotel Barrie
Knights Inn Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing