We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rude staff and over priced pizza” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sicilian Gourmet Pizza

Sicilian Gourmet Pizza
Ranked #75 of 499 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic from the start, from hand tossing the pizza to the stone fired oven. We make the best pizza around. From the usual to many gourmet choices on our menu alone. Toss in sandwiches, pastas, salads and other flavorful dishes, you'll all start salivating just reading the menu! Each dish is carefully prepared to capture the perfect taste...Fresh Tomatoes, Herbs, Spices and a few other secret ingredients all combined to make the wonderfully unique and delectable pasta sauces we serve you. Try our famous signature pasta dish " Linguine Jambalaya ". Sicilian Gourmet Pizza & Pasta has more to offer you - Appetizers, Sandwiches, wings, desserts and much more. Fully Licensed Bar/Lounge and Dining. Order Online, Take - Out and Delivery Service is available Bon Apetito!
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rude staff and over priced pizza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

was in town with a youth hockey team, ordered pizza from their brochure and was over charged by double amount. Manager and owner very rude when trying to straighten order out after they admiited their mistake.
Very confrontational.
pizza was sub par, a frozen pizza would rate better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank greg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefreza, Owner at Sicilian Gourmet Pizza, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
With all due respect I like to reply to this individual post beneath mine. Approximately two weeks ago a customer called from a hotel and ordered two extra large pizza's (24 slices). When the pizza got delivered to the hotel, the customer told the driver " I thought if i order 24 slices i get double which is 48 slices". My driver showed him the bill and explained to him on that on that bill he was charged for only 24 slices= 2 extra large pizza's. The customer wasn't satisfied, he called the restaurant and told my operator on the phone that they must send him another 2 extra large pizza's for free. My operator told him "sorry sir, we cannot do that due to the fact you only ordered 2 extra large pizza's not 4". He then threatened the operator saying if they didn't send him 2 more pizza's he would come to the restaurant with his friends and and beat him up. At that moment my operator called me at home and told me the whole story, at that point I told him if the customer tries to cause any trouble he can call the police but besides that I said send the customer two free extra large pizza's to solve the problem. We are in this business to serve people and we try to build a good reputation. We don't always deal with pleasant and kind peole, sometimes we run into issues with certain people. This person tried to blackmail us and got 2 free extra large pizza's in the end, we did this to end this problem so it would not become bigger than it was. We did not do this because the customer thought our pizza's were "over priced". The customer accused myself the owner and the manager of being rude, that was a false accusation due to the fact that my manager and myself were not there that night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fresh pizza and pasta!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Love this place - stumbled upon it while driving by and decided to drop in about 1 year ago. Now we make a special trip about 2-3 times per month:-)
Great hand made pizza! Only weird thing is that they only do individual pizzas in the back dining room - but you can order a full pizza from the take out menu and eat it in the front sitting area! Well worth it! We love their crust and sauce and it is so delicious right out of the oven!

Their eat in menu is very good - pastas are very fresh and tasty!

Highly recommend it if you ate nearby and even if you are not! :-)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefreza, Manager at Sicilian Gourmet Pizza, responded to this review, July 25, 2016
Thank you very for your kind words and support. Your wonderful review is much appreciated and make us to stay here for you guys forever.

Regards,

Papa Rez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“Great food & Service !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I went in the other day to try the breakfast which i heard a lot of great things about, it was by far the best breakfast i have ever had. The breakfasts are big, gets you more then full, and the price is fair. My husband had the sicilan omelette and I had the canadian breakfast, they were both delicious. I wish they served breakfast during the week as well! Also, the pizza and pasta's are to die for. The best italian food around. I definitely recommend it to everyone ! And not to forget, the service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefreza, Manager at Sicilian Gourmet Pizza, responded to this review, July 25, 2016
Thank you very for your kind words and support. Your wonderful review is much appreciated and make us to stay here for you guys forever.

Regards,

Papa Rez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Barrie's Best Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Quick and too the point. Hands down the best Italian food this side of Italy! The wife and I had heard good things about this place and went to check it out last night. The best pizza I have ever had and my wife's chicken tetrazzini was soooo good! Top it off with the smooth cheesecake for dessert and we left completely satisfied! Can't wait to return!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank funinthesunguy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefreza, Manager at Sicilian Gourmet Pizza, responded to this review, July 25, 2016
Thank you very for your kind words and support. Your wonderful review is much appreciated and make us to stay here for you guys forever.

Regards,

Papa Rez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
1 review
“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Food is okay, I had better and worse Italian food. Problem sandwich special take out only, eat in price much higher. Had veal sandwich with Greek Salad not bad, but an extra $2 for the salad substitution not worth it. Add a glass red wine and desert bill came $22 just a little to much for lunch. Next time I will just go to. Subway or Quiznos and skip the wine.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nightfly4257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sicilian Gourmet Pizza also viewed

 
Barrie, Ontario
 

Been to Sicilian Gourmet Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing