We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stop in for a drink.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Local Gastropub

The Local Gastropub
Ranked #6 of 472 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, Pub, Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Great home cooked pub food with the best selection of craft beer on tap North of Toronto. With large bay windows you have an indoor/outdoor atmosphere all through the year.
new jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stop in for a drink.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

After visiting Simcoe Lake, my husband and stopped in for a drink. We each had a glass of the house Cabernet and split an order of fries as a snack. The fries were some of the best we've ever tasted, perfectly seasoned. The spicy ketchup was just delicious. But the best part was our bartender, Jenna. She was just so pleasant and personable. We hope to go back to enjoy a full meal there soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank riska26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37Scotland, Owner at The Local Gastropub, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear riska26

Its always great to hear when the staff receive comments on Social Media sites! Jenna has been with us since day one of opening, so we truly appreciate all her hard work and it's nice when compliments come from different sources!

I will pass your review on to Jenna as I know she will be happy!

Cheers


Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    45
    10
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Meal. Great Staff. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Just finished a great meal. The food was all very good and the selection of Ontario #craftbeer made it hard to pick just one. The staff were very nice and a solid foundation for this business. Thanks Again

Helpful?
Thank rdonion153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37Scotland, Owner at The Local Gastropub, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear rdonion153

We are so happy that you find our staff to be so good as we really try and hand pick the right individuals.

Thanks again for your lovely comments and we look forward to hosting you in the future.


Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, delicious food, warm atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

After a terrible dining experience at a different restaurant in Barrie that meant I didn't get to eat, my boyfriend and I went into the Local Gastropub hoping for a good meal and we weren't disappointed! The service was lovely and warm and our waitress was just gorgeous. The fish & chips we ordered was delicious! The best I've had... Fresh and cooked to perfection! Definitely a "must-have". For a night that started off badly at Il Bucco, it ended perfectly at the Local Gastropub.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37Scotland, Owner at The Local Gastropub, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Johanna C

Firstly I am truly sorry for the experience at one of our fellow downtown restaurants! I hope the next time you are in town you will give them another shot as things do from time to time slip between the cracks. After over twenty years in the business it does happen to us all and it is never intentional.

Of course I am over the moon that on that evening a snowball effect did not happen and we managed to send you home happy!

Thanks and cheers for the kind review and we look forward to looking after you in the future when you return to our lovely downtown!


Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Great Food and great beer, this is a good place to go for a great meal. Go for the lamb, or macaroni and cheese, skip the oven baked cesar salad.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ronfischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37Scotland, Owner at The Local Gastropub, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Ronfischer

Thanks so much for your kind review! Next trip in please let us know and we will be more than happy to serve you a Caesar not baked. We know it's not everyones cup of tea, more of a 50% 50% depending on tastes, but thats why we love cooking at The Local.

Thanks again

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to wet your whistle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

After a hot day at Kempenfest, our daughter joined my husband and me for one of their Craft beers - Mill Street Organic (but they have many selections). My husband wanted to sample their beers first. He was cheerfully accommodated - even though he ended up getting iced tea. We shared their carmelized goat cheese and onion dip - which was scrumptious. One of Barrie's treasures. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37Scotland, Owner at The Local Gastropub, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Linda F

After tasting our selection of beers an ice T is always a good thing! Thanks for stopping in during kempenfest as so many people choose to stay on the waterfront and not venture a little further on to our street!

Hope to see you back in town soon and thanks for the business!

Thanks

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local Gastropub also viewed

 

Been to The Local Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing