We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horseshoe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horseshoe Resort
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Mississauga, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pretty Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We went with three kids ages 14, 11 &5. They charged us an extra 10 bucks for a cot. hmm.....
Anyways, if I had a beef, it would be with the sales people for the lift tickets. They overbook the hills with bus loads of people and leave no room for families staying at the resort. Wish I had known.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    237
    166
    128
    103
See reviews for
460
210
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

We just returned from a 3 nite weekday stay at Horseshoe Resort with my husband and 2 boys 9 and 11.

We booked a Ski Discovery package that gave us a Parlour Suite with 2 Queen Beds, Breakfast, unlimited Alpine Lift Tickets, Rentals and a daily lesson.

The Room - the suite was roomy with a sunken area with a desk, 2 chairs and fireplace and the bathroom had a HUGE tub, smallish shower with awesome pressure and a dated t.v. We found it comfortable and clean with slightly dated decor.

Meals - not much at the resort so we took all meals at the Crazy Horse where the staff were so friendly and kind. Food was pub style and family friendly. We brought snacks, wine and beer for our room. It is a 5 minute drive to a grocery store/liqour store if you need anything. The resort also has a cafeteria and few consession stands for easy eating. Each nite at the Crazy Horse was a theme such as all you can eat pasta bar, Hamburger nite and so on.

Skiing - beginner hills with great staff getting everyone moving with lessons and equipment. The instructor Edgar got us skiing and on the hills super fast, great teacher. Lots of schools roll in as it is close to Toronto so we headed out early and took our breaks when things got a bit busy on the hill.

Extras - Pool was clean and great, there is tubing and a zip line but we were there to ski so we did not try these out.

Summary - this is a great place, the reviews are a tad harsh on the rooms, yes its dated but ours was in great shape, clean and the beds were comfortable as can be (husband with bad back says thumbs up!). I suspect the lower price rooms are beat up due to lots of use each winter but there are scheduled renovations coming up. This is not a boutique hotel at all but a clean and great 3 star hotel (with a chance to move up to a 4 star after room reno's).

We had a great mid week, mid winter, mini holiday and had lots of fun.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Symantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

For more than $250/night paid, we were expecting a totally different experience. For example, we could not rest properly due to the heating system. When it was turning on,we woke up in panic due to the noise. And other little things, like the dis-functional cold water sink faucet or the grumpy lady at the cafeteria of the cross-country skying rental chalet, all made the experience at this resort really disappointing. When there is snow, just drive there if close enough, bring your own food and enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonSemaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

We had an early check in which was ok but decided to up grade our room because the original room was not satisfactory due to apparent renovations.Dinner at Silks ended with a "LIVE" worm in our desert cake! They did not remove all the other cakes from the desert table which may also have had other "wigglers"even after I suggested it. Later that night we received a Fondue desert which we had ordered in advanced. Big mistake! Absolutely terrible. It was not digestible. However , The Crazy Horse saloon where we had lunch and breakfast was fine. We sent in a complaint to the management and await a reply. We will update this review sometime in the near future. In the mean time we will again be returning to the White Oakes!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zzfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterCowley, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Hi zzfreddy,

I want to apologize for the experience you had in Silks and the 'wiggler' you found in the cake. As a result of this incident, we have now changed our policy of using live plants like the poinsettias in range of any food displays and buffets. This was a very unfortunate incident and I want to thank you for pointing it out to us. It allows us to get better.

As for the rooms, we think we had an unfortunate mis-communication. Our rooms have not been renovated as you were lead to believe. We are infact well underway with the planning for a room (and spa) renovation to begin in April. Skyline bought the resort less than three years ago and there were many need areas around Horsehsoe. We've invested heavily already in other areas of the resort and we are excited to get going on the rooms. We certainly recognize they need up dating.

Thank you again for visiting Horseshoe. I know you have been contacted already by our VP of Hospitality regarding the dinner in Silks. I hope we were able to make it right for you and prove to you that we really do care and that when we do not meet expecations, we make every effort to make it right.

We hope to see you back at Horseshoe very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed in the "Lodges" part of the hotel.
We expected more then a dingy 70's era room with peeling wallpaper for $400 a night. When my wife booked it we expected that price would be all inclusive - what a shock to realize that we would end up paying hundreds more for skiing and tubing. Their restaurant prices were exorbitant for what was served.
To add insult to injury, they add a 5% tax (of their own making) on top of the HST. I guess it's a way to inflate the prices even higher then what is originally quoted before booking.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterCowley, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Hi Hans155019,

I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations while at Horseshoe. Skyline is working hard to improve the infrastructure and service culture but once in a while we miss. What's important to me is when we do miss meeting expecations, that we make it right - most of the time instantly if we know about it.

I'm happy to tell you that after significant investments in numerous areas around the resort, we are now ready to begin a renovation of the rooms in the Inn. I understand you stayed in The Lodges which is our timeshare property. Skyline is the property manager for this building and we are working hard with the timeshare owners to put an aggressive plan together for a renovation. We agree it is in need of updating and are confident that the owners will agree and move forward with a plan to do just that.

Horseshoe is not an all inclusive resort but we do have many packages available. Depending on what experiences you are seeking (skiing, cross country, romance, golf, etc). Many of our packages include breakfast or dinners too if that is what you are seeking. Our website does detail all of these packages to ensure you are getting exactly what you desire. Our call center agents can also assist you in this.

I'm never happy when we do not meet a guest's expecations. I hope you'll give us another chance soon and prove that to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

We spent Thanksgiven weekend at horseshoe with my wife and two boys (9 and 5). Overall good value for the money. Room was clean an cozy. Adventure park was nice - my guys liked minigolf and rock climing. Zipline is interesting but overpriced for 2 minutes ride. Restaurant was clean and services was very friendly - the only drawback is menu choices - i would definetly expand it more. We also took horseback riding and instructor was very helpful finding good and calm horses for our boys. We will come back next year for sure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterCowley, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Alex1166,

Thank you for writing such a positive comment. Thanksgiving was really great this year with perfect weather and tons of great activities to do. We are working very hard to improve the activities and service levels at Horseshoe. I'm very happy you and your family got to experience some of it.

We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

We chose Horseshoe because they assured me that they could keep to my conference budget. Unfortunately, this was not the case. The closer we got to the date, the more disorganized they got. I would make a decision with one staff member, and find out weeks later that no one else was aware of that decision. I was informed daily that events and activities we had been promised and had planned carefully were not available (i.e. I wasn't told that the Adventure Park was only open Saturday and Sunday). They changed our golf tee times twice. The Inn receptionist had no idea how we were and kept telling people who arrived that there was no such conference being held at the resort! And, worst of all, a week before, informed us that AV equipment would cost $2000, which is completely ridiculous.

The rooms were clean, tidy, but old and in need of updating. The pillows were so big and hard that I couldn't use them, and was woken up constantly throughout the night by the very old, very loud vents in the room. Food was good.

All in all, if you need a place that knows how to handle a conference, I would not recommend Horseshoe.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emln50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterCowley, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
emln50,

I want to apologize for not meeting your expectations with your meeting. We host 100's of meeting a year and do so very well in most instances. Our corporate clients, like all guests, are extremely important to us. Clearly we missed on your conference/meeting and that's not acceptable to me and my team. I would invite a call from you so I can personally deal with this and try to make this right. I hope to hear from you.

Again, please accept my apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
12.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
13.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Resort

Property: Horseshoe Resort
Address: 1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horseshoe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's 4 seasons of adventure waiting for you at Horseshoe Resort, only one hour north of Toronto. Whether you're here for family fun, an inspired meeting at our Conference Centre or a romantic getaway, there's a whole world of things to do. Imagine 26 Alpine ski and snowboard runs, 35 kms of groomed double track set Nordic trails, terrain park with over 20 features, two full championship golf courses, three restaurants, Shizen Spa, hot tubs, saunas, Segway Off-road Adventures, Yamaha Riding Adventures, Advenuture Buggie Tours, Treetop Trekking, Horseback riding, Hummer Tours, indoor and outdoor pool, fitness facilities and weekly classes, a 10 acre driving range, putting green, hiking and biking trails through the breathtaking Copeland Forest, Kids Korral and the Horseshoe Adventure Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Horseshoe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Barrie
Horseshoe Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing