We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 by Wyndham Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$86
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barrie Motel(Barrie)
$76
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,199)
Filter reviews
1,199 results
Traveler rating
321
340
231
170
137
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
340
231
170
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrazy horsemini golfzip linerock climbingsnow tubingski hillmarch breaknight skiingrecommend this resortlift ticketssitting areanice resortoutdoor activitiesski tripgreat weekendfull kitchenhot tub
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 1,199 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017

Main hotel, rooms very poorly lit, no good for reading. In particular we were placed in a room by the event-wedding marquee tent. Impossible to sleep with music throbbing until 1.30am. Manager total ally unconcerned , placed the responsibility on us to have complained. Do we really think he would have shut down a wedding celebration ! I suggested that wedding participants should be housed in the rooms near the tent, but he clearly did not care. I continue to expect a reasonable level of hospitality and consideration, especially at resort prices. Parking was inadequate near the hotel. RAFfees, not explained. $29.00 per night, to provide parking, wi/fi (sporadic) and coffee in the room. Wow, not a good deal. We honestly thought, resort activity fees would mean some opportunity to partake of resort activities! All those are extra fees.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank williamdX9050LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Hi williamdX9050LK, on behalf of Horseshoe Resort, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments are very important to us and will certainly be shared with our teams. We do have a resort fee that is highlighted for guests when booking online or over the phone. We strive to be 100% transparent with our rate and what our fee includes.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future to ensure you leave with a more positive impression.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Reid, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

We stayed in Copeland House. Arrived Friday afternoon. Discovered that evening that their was no hot water. Called down, only to discover that they knew it was a problem, that the boiler had been replaced that morning and that it still wasn't functional! Why on earth did they not tell us and offer us a room in the main building??

There was only one set of towels on our arrival in the room (for a group of 4), only 2 coffees for brewing, and terrible wifi services (I gave up trying to connect and used by data plan instead). No sheets on the pull out couch, and no additional sheets in the closet.

There was also an outdoor wedding party on the the Saturday night, and even with the windows closed tight, the music was pounding loud until after 1 am. I like a good party, but honestly, they should warn people prior to reservation that they allow loud noise on the property until 1 am. Made it difficult for all to sleep (including young children).

The resort charges a daily service fee for parking, wifi, in room coffee, etc. But with literally just 2 cups of coffee for 48 hour stay and crappy internet service, I'd say they just aren't providing quality services to justify the charges.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Hi Natalie W, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and apologize for your dissatisfaction. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in our amenities but also in our guest experience. Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with our management team.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future so that we can ensure you leave with a more positive impression.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Reid, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Booked a couples get away, Deluxe King size room, ended up with 2 double beds,everything was closed at 6 but the pool. The indoor outdoor pool option was good. Tree top trekking closed at 5, check in is not till 4 pm.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank susanmI1468HU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Hi susanmI1468HU, on behalf of Horseshoe Resort, I would like to thank you for the feedback that you have shared. We are disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Your comments are very important to us and will be shared with our teams.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future so that we can ensure you have a more positive experience.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Reid, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

The huge upgrades they are doing are looking great -- not as much to do for someone my age but 9-17 year olds will have a blast and for older there is bars and food. This is for the summer time. I have not been there in winter.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Hi Brian M, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value all of the feedback we receive from our guests. We are happy to hear that you like the upgrades we have been working on! In terms of the activities that we offer, perhaps our winter selection will be of more interest to you. Aside from skiing and snowboarding, we also have fun activities such as snow tubing, snowshoeing, fat biking (a bike with oversized tires designed for the snow!) and Yamaha Adventures. Please feel free to visit our website for more information on each activity.

We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Jonathan Reid, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017

My friend and I stayed at Horseshoe Resort over the Labour Day long weekend (Sept 1-4).
Stayed in room 341. The room was nice, clean. The is a step down sitting area with a fire place which was very relaxing. The view was not great. Shower was great, never ran out of the hot water and excellent water pressure.
The beds were very comfortable, but the pillows were too plush. One night I had to sleep with my head directly on the mattress as I had a neck ache.
There is also free wi-fi in the rooms and common areas.

The amenities at the resort are nice, always something to do:
• Mini golf
• Tree Top Trekking
• Golfing
• Hike on the trail
• Segway riding
• Outdoor pool
• Indoor pool with a tub
• Sauna
• Gym - pretty decent
• Amba Spa – amazing!!!

There is a kids section with trampolines, rock climbing wall and more.

They have recently put in a man made beach, it was nice. People were in it, the dogs enjoyed it too.

The spa was amazing – that will be a separate review.

There was casual dining (Crazy Horse which is across the driveway) and formal dining (Inn at the Steakhouse which is just off of the lobby). Both restaurants were very good. Breakfast was okay, much like a breakfast at the Hampton Inn. (not included in the room rate)

Notes:
• The resort is animal friendly (dogs – big and small)
• When making your reservation, they will charge you for the first night at that time
• 7 seven days before departure they will charge the remainder of your stay
• If you are splitting the bill as I did with my friend, both credit cards need tobe given at the time of the reservation or you can do that upon check out

Overall the stay was good, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: there are 2-level rooms available, i.e. Rm 330
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jules078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanReid, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Hi Jules078, thank you very much for the review and for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay over the long weekend and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Jonathan Reid, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews