We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to finish a hectic, multi centre holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Horseshoe Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horseshoe Resort
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Manama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great way to finish a hectic, multi centre holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We finished our family holiday with 3 nights at the Horseshoe Resort after visiting London, Washington, New York and Toronto. My wife thought it would be a good idea to wind down with some physical outdoor activities and chose the Resort. She was right in every respect and the Horseshoe Resort was a great choice. Tree Top Trekking, 2000 ft zip line, ATV's and an amazing Hummer drive through tracks and trails in the forest meant we were all worn out each night. The Inn at the Resort provided good basic accommodation and although food choices were somewhat restricted to the Crazy Horse Tavern and Hotel Restaurant, it was good quality and there was a fair amount of choice on each menu. The Spa, although small offered a good quality service and provided very friendly, efficient staff. In fact the staff throughout the Resort were friendly and went out of there way to provide assistance. All in all a great way to end a hectic, holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review.

What a great finish to your family vacation. I was delighted you enjoyed all of the adventures and activities, variety of quality food and the Shizen Spa. I will forward your comments to the rest of the Horseshoe Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    244
    169
    131
    105
See reviews for
471
215
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Knowing how dog owners often put their pet’s interests ahead of their own creature comforts I will start with Bentley’s rating which was a 5 tail wag, his top box rating.

How so ?

Our room #114 was on the ground floor very close to an exit door leading out to a grassy knoll above a golf green. This meant we could use it quickly and quietly when nature called to Bentley in the middle of the night.

Another contributing factor was the Hotel’s doggie welcome kit complete with a letter from the Hotel’s top dog, a roll of poop bags, some lovely dog treats and a very amusing door hanger advising staff that there was a doggie guest in the room. A brilliantly conceived piece !

Another unexpected bonus was the acceptance of dogs on the patio level of the Crazy Horse restaurant. This was a real bonus being able to have our meals with Bentley, a welcome change from the usual practice of a carry out meal eaten in one’s Hotel Room

And perhaps the best of all was the attitude of the reception staff. They invariably came out from behind their counter to pet him on our way in and way out of the Hotel during our 2 day stay saying lots of nice things to him and about him.

Maybe that is because he is an English bulldog………….. !

‘nuff said !

So how did his Master and Mistress fare.

By all accounts very well in the end but not at the outset when we read the Trip Advisor reviews which made us a little uneasy about the rooms.

We eventually realized that there are two separate buildings

Make sure that when reading Trip Advisor Reviews for Horseshoe you make the differentiation between the Main Lodge reviews and the Condo reviews. From what we read the Condo units are pretty tired whereas the Main Lodge rooms are by contrast extremely nice having been recently completely renovated to a very high standard.

Room 114 is in the Main Lodge. It is a large room on two levels with a separate seating area a couple of steps down from the bedroom. The tub is huge and the shower stall of similar size.

All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakesider75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting yours and your English Bull dog's review.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed the guest room and the doggie welcome kit.

We have renovated some of our two bedroom condos and I am looking forward to you trying out our new product. We have been making consistent investments in the resort as we continue to renovate and improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Many Thanks
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My 4 children and I recently stayed at Horseshoe Resort for a night, and we had Adventure passes to use the next day, which I will review separately. The hotel was located very conveniently next to the Adventure park, so it is a very small walk to the park for activities.
The hotel room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was large, with a nice, bright, roomy shower.
The room had a small fridge, which was nice. I do wish there had been a mirror outside the bathroom to make it easier for several people to get ready in the morning.
The disappointment really came in the pool area. Because the adventure passes all have to be used the same day, on the day of arrival we didn't feel we had enough time to maximize the passes, so we figured we would enjoy the hotel and pool and use the passes when the park opened the next day. Well, the indoor pool was so cold that none of us enjoyed using it. There is an outdoor pool, which was warmer, but the inside of the pool was so old, when sitting on the step you could feel all the peeling paint that was coming off in sheets. There was even paint that had been peeled off and set on the side of the pool. Also, there were staff painting the wood fencing around the pool with what I assume was an oil based paint, and the smell was nauseating. None of us could stand being in the pool for that reason, and it probably explained why no one else was out there. So unfortunately we ended driving all the way back to Barrie for something to do, returning to the hotel after dinner.
I feel for the price some updating needs to happen....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post both of your reviews.

I was delighted your family enjoyed all of the adventures & activities at the Adventure Park and found your guest room to be clean and comfortable.

I appreciate your comments on the outdoor Inn pool, we have completed the repairs and rectified this situation immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We loved our family weekend summer adventure to Horseshoe Valley. There was so much to do for both adults and kids. We will be certainly return again for more fun. Rooms are clean and comfortable and staff is very friendly and family orientated. As avid winter snowboarders, we are now fans of what horseshoe has to offer in the summer too!! You really need to go!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowtrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your comments & feedback.

I was delighted to hear the whole family enjoyed your summer adventure at the resort and you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and family oriented.

We look forward to welcoming you back for adventures for every season!

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Rented the two bedroom condo for 4 nights. The kids had a blast at the Adventure Park, but I thought the passes were a bit pricey for the amount of time you get to use them. The park opens at 11:00 and closes at 6:00, so when we bought our tickets at 1:00 felt we had to race through the park to use up the pass because it would not be good the following day. My 6 and 4 year old quickly got exhausted and we did not get to use some of the attractions on the pass. Would have been nice to use the following day when the park opened to make up for the late start.
As for the condo. It was great for our family! Lots of room and we got lots of use out of the kitchen. Only complaint is that the room is a bit dated, could use a make over!
I was in a wedding on the Saturday and booked a full mani/pedi at 9am the day of the wedding. When I arrived for my appointment, I was not in the system despite my e-mail confirmation. They apologized and got me in for 10:00 for a quick color job as my nails were naked! When I finished they offered me a full treatment the next day, but when I told them I would not be able to use it as we had to pack up the room, and head to the wedding brunch for 11:ooam. With that being said, I still had to pay for my color treatment with no extra thought about my missed relaxation time away from the family, of which, I was truly looking forward to!

Room Tip: If you have a family, get the condo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your review.

I was delighted to hear the kids had a blast in the adventure park and you found the condo unit to be comfortable & spacious for your family.

I understand you have been communicating with our Shizen Spa Manager and she has arranged for a complimentary visit for you to enjoy some relaxation time.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We've stayed at Horseshoe for a long weekend each summer for the past few years to attend a baseball tournament in Orillia. It's a great place to turn the kids loose without worrying about their safety. It has everything the kids love, including indoor and outdoor pools and the Adventure Park. The rooms have been recently renovated and in general are decent, but this resort does not excel at the details. The air conditioning worked poorly - we had to have a fan brought in to cool the room down. But the in-room fridge kept the beverages nicely chilled. The food at the Crazy Horse is mediocre at best. Beyond the burgers there isn't anything I could recommend. And the prices are steep - there is no restaurant alternative within a 20 minute drive and the prices reflect this. The kids would give this place 5 stars, the parents closer to 2, so I'd saw it off at 3.5 out of 5. Just enough to keep us coming back for next year's tournament!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for posting your comments and feedback.

I am delighted the kids had such a great time with all of the activities, we really do appreciate that you return every year.

I was very disappointed to hear your comments on the Crazy Horse Restaurant and would like to turn your experience around when you do return.

Please feel free to give me a call in advance of your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Many thanks,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Went here with another family so 4 adults and 3 kids aged 11 and 12. Rooms were nice.First thing to know there are lots of great activities. Mini putt, climbing wall, Ogo ball (you only get 1 roll down the hill additional rolls are $7-SERIOUSLY) and ziplining plus other minor activities. Second to know, they don't open until 11AM and they close at 5PM. Short hours to get it all in and a late start for kids who are excited. Third to know, when you book only one night, you are only able to use the activities on ONE of those days. Important to know!! Another major issue was lack of knowledge. It seemed everyone we asked a question of, had a different answer. Lots of conflicting answers even from staff who were standing right next to each other. Very unprofessional, especially in a service industry. We wanted to do the The Tree Top Trekking. The hotel heavily advertises it on the website and with posters inside the hotel. When we checked in, our "service representative" told us we could book it through her. We came back approx an hour later and asked to do so and a different front desk girl told us that "They" have nothing to do with us you'll have to walk over and find out for yourself! We did just that and found they were much friendlier than the hotel staff. They didn't say much but there is clearly some sort of power struggle going on between the resort and the Trekking. For kids of a similar age, I would stay somewhere else as no breakfast was included and on site restaurants were expensive. If you stay at the hotel, get all of the details in an email prior to going as there is far too much contradicting going on at their desks. Definitely do the Tree Top Trekking. Takes approximately 3 hours and is great exercise and fun!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for posting your review.

I was disappointed to read of your experience and I want to sincerely apologize for any miscommunication.

I was happy to hear you found Treetop Trekking to be great exercise and a lot of fun. TreeTop is one of our 3rd party partners in which we have a wonderful working relationship with.

Please feel free to contact me at the resort to discuss your experience.

Thank you,
Lisa Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
13.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
12.0 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
11.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Resort

Property: Horseshoe Resort
Address: 1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horseshoe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's 4 seasons of adventure waiting for you at Horseshoe Resort, only one hour north of Toronto. Whether you're here for family fun, an inspired meeting at our Conference Centre or a romantic getaway, there's a whole world of things to do. Imagine 26 Alpine ski and snowboard runs, 35 kms of groomed double track set Nordic trails, terrain park with over 20 features, two full championship golf courses, three restaurants, Amba Spa, hot tubs, saunas, Segway Off-road Adventures, Yamaha Riding Adventures, Advenuture Buggie Tours, Treetop Trekking, Horseback riding, Hummer Tours, indoor and outdoor pool, fitness facilities and weekly classes, hiking and biking trails through the breathtaking Copeland Forest, Kids Korral and Slopeside Adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horseshoe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Barrie
Horseshoe Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing