We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horseshoe Resort
Nearby Hotels
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$91
$77
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Oak Inn(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$83
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$63
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveler rating
308
323
224
163
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
308
323
224
163
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrazy horsemini golfloft suitecopeland housetreetop trekkingrock climbingsnow tubingski hillmarch breakrecommend this resortnight skiinglift ticketssitting areaski tripnice resortoutdoor activitiesgreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,139 - 1,144 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stayed here one night when our car broke down late at night and we couldn't make it home. I thought we could make the best of it since it was supposedly a 'resort'.

While the staff was more than acommodating, and the room was clean, it was really nothing special...a mediorce experience. If your looking for a special getaway this is NOT the place. If your looking for a quick overnight I would say this hotel is a little overpriced.

Although I will say the breakfast room service was delicious!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

My teenage son and I spent one night at the Horseshoe Valley Resort. I was very pleased with our stay. The rooms are large and well appointed. My preference would be ask for a room in the main building, ideally on the 3rd floor facing west, so you will overlook the golf course and the hills beyond.

A fun thing to do at the resort is take a 1/2 day or day long course at the Yahama Riding School. There you are taught to ride Yahama dirt bikes and then are taken on trails through the surrounding Simcoe forest. There are rides suitable for all levels of experience. Even very young children can learn to ride. Its a blast ..... and safe.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOGOGONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2008

I took my family for our first Winter vacation and wanted to give Horseshoe a try because it wasn't too far from Toronto. I had golfed here in the past with a buddy, and wanted to come back and try skiing with the kids. We snagged an incredible deal, booked our room and got FREE skiing for the week! The morning buffet at Silks was really good, something for everyone - and those of us with picky kids can appreciate that. We enrolled the kids in the Kids Korral program where they learned to ski and had fun with the other kids - we hadn't even left yet and they were nagging us to bring them back next year! With this free skiing deal, we're so glad we found this place for March Break!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JacobW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Stayed here with their "Stay and Ski" package (available on their website). The Inn is located at the bottom of the ski hill (some of the chalets are at the top). Directly across from the tavern/chalet.

Check-in was a breeze. Since we booked a weekend stay and ski our lift passes were given to us right away at check-in - which of course saves time in the morning for more skiing! The package included a night ski pass the day you arrive, one day ski pass, two nights accomodation, and a full breakfast. The lobby is pretty with a nice fireplace. The Inn also has a pool, hot tub, and sauna located on the main floor and hot tubs and a small skating rink outdoors.

The room was decent. We were on the second floor. It's needs a bit of sprucing up (ie. new linens, carpet, etc) but was very clean. Same goes for the bathroom - could have used a reno but clean. The bathroom also had a heat lamp with is nice when you come in from a cold day.

The breakfast was great. Full buffet style breakfast with eggs, bacon, cereals, loads of fruit, bagels, etc. Pretty packed but we had a table within 5 minutes of arriving. Serving staff were quick to refill our coffees and juice. If your package does not include breakfast you can purchase it - can't how much though. The Inn also has a piano bar but we didn't try it out so I can't comment.

The only problem we had was finding parking when we arrived but the lots really cleared out after the day skiiers left.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

Rooms are aged but very large. Buffet Bkfast was also adequate. My biggest beef was with the TV. When you turn it on, you have the choice of previewing various channels. We chose a free preview of music (free for 4 minutes) and then proceeded to dress for dinner. A voice came on stating that our preview period was over. We shut the TV off soon after and went for dinner. We found out the next day upon checkout that we were billed over $11.00 for 2 minutes of music. Isn't that negative billing option outlawed in Ontario? We never agreed to keep going with the music. The staff the next morning was unhelpful -- or didn't care. Since they have our credit card number, not much else to be done. The whole system is a throwback to the 1980's. In the US, you often get HBO for free! I think I'll ask the Ministry of the Attoney General of Ontario what they think.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank celtic65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews