We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horseshoe Resort
Nearby Hotels
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$91
$77
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Royal Oak Inn(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$78
$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$63
$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,153)
Filter reviews
1,153 results
Traveler rating
308
323
224
163
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
308
323
224
163
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrazy horsemini golfloft suitecopeland housetreetop trekkingrock climbingsnow tubingski hillmarch breakrecommend this resortnight skiinglift ticketssitting areaski tripnice resortoutdoor activitiesgreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
937 - 942 of 1,153 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

i actually won a free night with lift tickets through a radio contest so I definitly dont have much to complain about. The room was pretty standard but offered a great view of the wintery landscape. The ski hill was just right across the street so it was very convenient for downhill skiing. They had a great deal on tubing which was a blast for a couple of hours. They had a couple of restaurants on site. Silks was a little high end and meals started at $30 a plate, less for kids. The Crazy Horse was a little more pubish but the food was quite good. Needs a little updating but overall it was fine for a night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HomeyBowmanville_ont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Congratulations on winning the contest!

We are really pleased that you had the chance to come up via this prize and enjoy the resort. It sounds like you had a great experience and we hope to see you again. You will notice us continuing to make changes to menus, activities and continuing the renovations we have already started.

Wishing you all the best and thank you for posting your feedback,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a life experience gift for Christmas and I decided to use it after my daughter completed her exams. The drive was scary due to the weather conditions but when we got there it was all worth it. The front desk people were so friendly and attentive. We went straight to the spa at 10am and they were ready for us. Very friendly spa staff. The atmosphere beautiful, it was so perfect. When we were finished the room was ready and we had a beautiful view of the hill side. We went for lunch at their on site restaurant called The Crazy Horse and the service excellent and the food to die for! I would drive there just for the food it was that good. If you are a vegetarian you will love the food. I will go back to Horseshoe because the staff were all so friendly from the time we arrived to the time we left. If you go, try the tubing hill! the staff will make sure you have a laugh. :)

Room Tip: If you are doing a Mother and Daughter trip ask for two beds instead of the King size.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleneEtobicoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

We are so thankful you spent your mother-daughter time with us and that you braved the elements to do this!

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you will be back soon. The Spriong brings other great activities to enjoy together from hiking and cycling, to Tree Top Trekking and golf.

See you soon,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This resort area offers a perfect ski getaway in March (especially if you enjoy state of the art lifts and grooming, don't mind shorter runs and hate long lift lines...) We experienced 5-Star concierge-level service and encountered friendly staff everywhere on the resort !
Of course you're encouraged to see the Preview Centre in the hopes you'll like this area enough to purchase a condo/timeshare - not a bad deal, actually... The property is well kept, staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly, you're within 15 minutes of major shopping or you can just stick to a simple north country-setting. Whether travelling with kids or adults, there really is something for everyone.
Available In-Room massage is a nice touch / hot-tub bath as well - the Ridge Club and Hills Club / fitness centres are complete with games room, pool (and wading pool for little ones), a jaccuzzi and even dvd rental. BBQ are available year-round but there are also great restaurants in the area, for all budgets.
Nothing was left out of our room, from the fully-equipped kitchen to in-room entertainment, spacious and well-appointed. No complaints about cleanliness in any way.
We will be back...
Quick mention about the Horseshoe Ski resort - rental staff (Andrew and Taylor) were extremely helpful... your staff can make or break your brand - these guys really helped to enhance our experience here. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ski-on Ski-off is very nice - Choose 3rd floor, better views and no-one above making noise :-) You can access a very nice well-equipped balcony from the hill side, in case you uneed a mid-day break.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Horseshoe Valley!

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of the area and of the staff at both locations. We will pass on these comments and know that it will be warmly received by the entire team.

All the best,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I would not call Horseshoe a full service resport. My wife and I went for a one night get away last weekend. Turns that room service and the restaurant are not open Sundays. There was another restaurant across the parking lot that caters to the apres ski crowd, but still not what you expect from a full service resort.

Then we discovered the pay per view movie channels did not work.

Our room was fine and the pool was OK.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to comment on your experience.

We have been working hard to move from being a limited service resort to one that integrates a whole myriad of products and services. Our investments to date to improve the infrastructure, renovate rooms and meeting spaces, grow attractions and to invest in service training are all steps on this journey. At present, we do not have a formal room service department. Our staff does take it upon themselves to offer this service from the Silks restaurant when that outlet is open.

Our fine dining restaurant is not open for dinner on non-holiday Sundays and Mondays. I am disappointed that you did not get a chance to experience this outlet as we get very positive feedback on the quality of the food.

As the resort continues its growth, we will be able to offer a more consistent variety of choices for our patrons to experience.

Thank you again for your feedback,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My daughter and I went February 28 to March 2. We had an excellent stay. We had the impression that our room would not be ready unit 4pm but when we arrived at 11:30am, I was happily surprised that our room was ready. Nothing really to complain about other than I wished there was more of a variety of places to eat. We were left with either Crazy Horse which is like pub food (I didn't feel well after. Too much grease) or fine dining which was a bit pricey for me. It would be nice to see a couple of more varieties to choose from. Since i knew there was a fridge, I brought some of my own food. Saved us money. The breakfast buffet was great and had quite the variety such as eggs, sausages, pancakes or frech toast, a cereal station, a bagel and cheese station, fresh fruits, pasteries etc. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, and the skiing was great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliavr2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

We are delighted that you and your daughter joined us for a getaway and thank you sincerely for taking time to post your very positive comments.

I am very pleased you enjoyed the skiing, the room and the friendliness of the team. These are all elements that our group works very hard to improve.

I will share your comments on Crazy Horse and variety with our operations team in that area and see how we can broaden the appeal of the menus we do offer.

Wishing you all the best,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews