We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tons of adventure options... more than just skiing.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horseshoe Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Horseshoe Resort
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tons of adventure options... more than just skiing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 3 days in February 2013. We scored an amazing online deal (follow them on Twitter for similar deals!) It included a renovated room (we've been told that most, if not all, the rooms are now renovated - they're doing huge upgrades to the resort), breakfast every morning and our lift passes.

The room was gorgeous, a large glass shower with adjustable height shower head, bar fridge, flat screen tv and comfortable beds with lovely bedding.

The hill is small, even by Ontario standards, but the snow was amazing. They do make snow and they groom the hill very well. It was the best snow I've skied on all year. There are no real black diamonds on the hill, though a few of the runs are labelled as such. The entire hill is very skiable terrain and there is lots of room for beginners to play around on. The lift attendants are super friendly. They are, by far, some of the best I've encountered over the years.

Crazy horse (the bar at the base of the hill) has the best sweet potato fries around. The rest of the food is your average pub fare. They removed the chair lift seats a while ago, it lost a bit of its charm.

The spa at the resort was fabulous. We had a great massage followed by a pedicure. Prices are reasonable for a resort spa and the pedicure is almost flawless 3 weeks (and many ski days) later.

The silks dining room was serving a prix fixe menu. 3 courses for $35. The food was delicious (in particular the roasted vegetables - we wished we'd been able to order a bowl of them!)

The included breakfast was quite the spread. It was buffet style, the food was hot, and there was a large selection. We definitely didn't go hungry. And the staff were very friendly as well.

If you're not a skier there are a number of other things to do: the hot tub and pool are open long hours, there is cross country skiing, snow shoe trails, skating, tubing and we saw a sign for dog sledding not far away (we spied it from the top of the runs!)

We've been here in the summer to trek in the tree tops (awesome) and play in the new adventure park. We'll be going back this year for some more fun in the sun.

This resort would be perfect for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McSteer913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for a thorough and positive review of your experience with us!

We are delighted that you so enjoyed the stay with us and that the hospitality and skill of the team were to your liking. We are very proud of the Ski team and the grooming and attention to detail they take in preparing the runs. We are equally proud of the team in Silks who deliver a high level of quality with every meal - just ask for the bowl of vegetables, and I am sure they would be pleased to deliver.

We look forward to your next adventure with us,

Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    237
    166
    128
    103
See reviews for
460
210
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Oh where to start? We stayed at the Horseshoe Resort for a few days of skiing. Check-in took an hour and still our room wasn't ready, though it was dinner time. We lost most of the night skiing hours because the reservations we had made for kids' lessons were misplaced -- another hour to find that and a loss of $400 for equipment rental and lift tickets that effectively went unused. (Incidentally, the skiing/rental cost is very high for this type of facility). The rental process was comically bad and slow. When we packed up, we found empty Pepsi cans under the bed from a prior guest. Yuck. We complained and received a call from a manager--the only compensation offered was a free night at the hotel. I informed her that we live over six hours away and would not be returning for another night but she offered nothing and never got back to me despite assurances she would do so. In the summer, we often stay at another property run by the same company (The Deerhurst) and I suggested that we be given a free night there instead, but no dice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We appreciate the constructive feedback. I was not aware of your concerns and will work with my team to reach out to you offline to resolve them.

Your description of the services provided is atypical of our current performance as evidenced by the comments that are consistently positive prior to and after your visit.

We will reach out to you once we identify and speak with the Manager who had been working with you.

Many thanks for bringing this unresolved situation to light,

Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Horseshoe Valley Resort February 23rd and checked out February 24th. We wanted a mini getaway to do some fun winter activities and that was exactly what we got. When we first arrived we walked around and noticed there was snowmobiling available in the activity park area. We had never done it before and were eager to try it. It was fun and not as expensive as we thought it would be. This is separate from the resort therefore they only accept cash and this can't be charged to your room. When we were done snowmobiling we checked in to our room since our mini getaway was booked last minute the only room that was available to us was a suite. It was beautiful, clean and spacious. The room had two queen beds, a sitting area with a fire place, flat screen tv, desk area with drawers, night table, a mini fridge, soaker tub and stand up shower in the washroom. My husband is a light sleeper and had a hard time staying asleep. The heat turns on every 20 minutes and this makes a loud exploding sound when it starts and rattling sound while it's on. I'm a heavy sleeper and this even woke me up a couple times during the night. Unfortunately there really isn't anything you could do about this but pay attention to it before going to sleep and if need be wear ear plugs before going to bed. We ate dinner at Crazy Horse. We were both impressed with the food and the iced tea. I wanted to eat light since we were off to do tubing after so I order salad that came with a crispy breaded brie, my husband had the four cheese pizza and both dishes were delish. We went tubing and had a fantastic time. Fun for all ages. The next day we had a buffet breakfast at Silks Dining Lounge nothing special just like any other hotel breakfast buffet but the food area is pretty small.

I would recommend this place if you are looking for some winter fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTd0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for joining us for a mini getaway this week!

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the resort and the activities we offer at this time of year. We are just as much fun in other seasons with golf, cycling, horseback riding, our adventure park and dozens of other activities to fill your stay.

Hoping to see you back at Horseshoe soon,

Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 day weekend getaway. My husband and I went with our 4 and 7 year old boys. We stayed at the Inn which was a convenient location and close to everything. My kids enjoyed the Kids Korral program and the staff was helpful. It does get a little crowded when dropping your kids off. It would be great if the entrance was larger to accommodate the parents and kids during drop off time. The size of Horseshoe Resort is perfect...not too small and not too large. You spend a day there and you quickly become familiar with your surroundings. The only negative experience we had was dining at the Crazy Horse restaurant. The food and price was ok, but the service was less that mediocre. Management needs to retrain the wait staff in customer service and hospitality. We ate at the cafeteria a few times and found the food good. The only downfall is trying to find a table. We also had the breakfast buffet a few times at the Inn and found the food good and price very reasonable. (5 and under free, kids $12, adults $14) I would recommend Horseshoe Valley Resort to all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the elevator. Our room was at the end of the hall which was quite a trek wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medic289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Our sincere thanks to your family for joining us on your getaway!

We are delighted you enjoyed the weekend and that the kids enjoyed the Kids Korral experience. We really hope that they become life-long skiers or boarders and that they will be back to hone their skills further.

We will be sharing your comments on Crazy Horse service with the manager in that department and our Executive Chef for their combined action.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have visited several times over the years. We arrived on Sat., Feb 16 and checked out Mon., Feb 18. We didn't eat at Silks this time because we loved the Crazy Horse and our girls (18&20) preferred to eat there. Rooms are a littled outdated but clean and comfortable, more of a rustic feel, which was perfect for us. We were in the Loft Suite, very spacious with a fireplace. Great for skiing and snowboarding. Staff was amazing, helpful and courteous. Great buffet, food was always replenished and fresh. Really enjoyed the hot apple cider and free coffee daily until 11 am. Overall wonderful experience with my family and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRIGIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We really do appreciate your spending precious family time with us.

The entire team is delighted that you and your daughters will be visiting us again - there is no greater validation for the team than that.

Wishing you all the best and we look forward to your return soo,

Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

The accomodations and the staff were EXCELLENT all around. I would definately love to go back as our family had a great time. Kids (8 and 9 year olds) loved the ski school and the teachers were great with them. The only thing is that I wish they had more dining choices but other than that...do not hesitate to go here. We are a well travelled family and know what to expect at a GREAT resort.
Can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Get the room with the fireplace if staying with a family. It is a bigger room, especially with ski...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikorock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
It is always great to get a strong endorsement from a well-travelled family - thank you so much!

We are really pleased you enjoyed the stay and that you will be back again. The team will be really excited to know that we earned your loyalty and that your kids enjoyed the lessons and the hospitality.

See you soon,

Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for the first time at Horseshoe Resort this past Family day weekend for one night. We did not get an upgraded room but the room we did receive was spacious, on the main floor, with a gas fireplace and lowered sitting area. It definitely could use some upgraded floors etc as they were quite dated. Check in was smooth, we did get to check in about a half hour early. And the front desk staff were great, they even had a screwdriver upon request which we needed to adjust our bindings. We had dinner at the Crazy Horse which was more suitable then Silks for a 15 yo and 5yo. It wasn't bad, bit of a wait but that was to be expected. A little pricey though for pub food. We did try to request a late checkout the next day but when I called front desk a little after 8am they stated that they had given away all of their allotted late check outs already. ???? I found that a bit strange. Unfortunately, I did have to go home to drop off my dog and return to hit the slopes after. A bit of an inconvience. The boarding was great, perfect for beginners like my son and I. Although it was pricey, and I find a bit of a cash grab because the price was escalated for the holiday it was overall an enjoyable stay. It would have been nice to have a perk for people staying at the resort to have the lift passes start from your arrival to departure, not just the one day. I believe that is only if you buy the package through the resort. I would definitely return for the boarding, but I would avoid staying on any holiday unless you want to pay quite a bit more for accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaer512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to spend your family time with us at Horseshoe!

We really do appreciate you taking time to post your feedback as well. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Resort and we do hope that you will return for more skiing or perhaps again in the summer to enjoy that season as well.

You are correct that buying a ski package does allow for skiing on date of arrival and the following day as well. This is an incentive to bundle your stay with us and does provide great value and convenience. Our prcing does change based on demand and weekends like family day are more highly priced.

I am really pleased you were able to get early check-in upon arrival. Late departures are difficult for us to grant on many occassions, as we have an arriving guest ready to occupy the room at 4pm. It is often difficult to balance these requests, and out team does have a limited number that can be granted, else we will not have rooms ready in time.

We are all very pleased you enjoyed the ski experience and hope this trip will become a tradition for you and the family.

All the best, Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
12.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
13.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horseshoe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Resort

Property: Horseshoe Resort
Address: 1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horseshoe Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's 4 seasons of adventure waiting for you at Horseshoe Resort, only one hour north of Toronto. Whether you're here for family fun, an inspired meeting at our Conference Centre or a romantic getaway, there's a whole world of things to do. Imagine 26 Alpine ski and snowboard runs, 35 kms of groomed double track set Nordic trails, terrain park with over 20 features, two full championship golf courses, three restaurants, Shizen Spa, hot tubs, saunas, Segway Off-road Adventures, Yamaha Riding Adventures, Advenuture Buggie Tours, Treetop Trekking, Horseback riding, Hummer Tours, indoor and outdoor pool, fitness facilities and weekly classes, a 10 acre driving range, putting green, hiking and biking trails through the breathtaking Copeland Forest, Kids Korral and the Horseshoe Adventure Park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Horseshoe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Barrie
Horseshoe Resort Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing