We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay out of the pool and Not a family stop” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Barrie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Whitby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay out of the pool and Not a family stop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The hotel was ok, but were re modelling some of the rooms so can be a little noisy. The hotel is located near the highway so you get a lot of people that are just stopping by and don't really care about what kind on noise they make. We had a work crew partying underneath us who kept partying to the wee hours of the night even after we called the front desk. The dudes were huge so I think they intimidated the staff so we just had to leave our tv on through out the night to help drown out the drunken yelling and banging. The free breakfast they advertise is ok but the eating area is really small and it was full of drunken/ high road people. Its ok if u just grabbing something to go but don't stay and eat in. Our biggest problem was the stinky pool. When we were in it I smelt garbage and wondered where the smell was coming from. If you look at the sides of the pool and smell the liner you will get the answer. PU!!!! The pool liner is just covered in filth. The smell was so bad that we had to take several showers to wash away the smell. I have no idea why they don't clean it but it stank really bad and you don't smell it until your in it. So I would not recommend this hotel if you have a family or like clean pools.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dudeandbanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
After seeing this review, we obviously investigated. We have never had this complaint. The Pool and Hot Tub are cleaned and inspected daily. Our maintenance crew assures me the pool is in very good condition and it is used hundreds of times a week without complaint.

I can only conclude that this was a one off situation, and I sincerely apologize for your experience.

Again, we will continue to monitor this situation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Binbrook, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here Aug 2/14. We received our first room that had such a strong smell my children would not go into the room. When asked if we could have another room I was told they were completely full. I stated everyone checking in could not have check in by now and that would give them time to air out the room (which ended up being strong perfume from the previous customers) I understand that is not their fault however the attitude I received by requesting an alternate room was highly unprofessional. We did end up getting a new room, and as I always do I check the sheets before I crawl into bed. There was a huge mud stain right in the middle of the fitted sheet. First of all, who makes a bed and leaves a sheet like that...poor housekeeping. When I complained to the front desk they brought me a new fitted sheet and left ME TO MAKE THE BED MYSELF. I brought the sheet to the front desk to show them the stain and was received with a oh ya. Would not, will not, stay here ever again.!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
I am glad that you took the time to review this situation. We can only learn from this. As you stated it is hard to factor in for another guest's perfume, however we should have handled the situation much better.

We hope you will gain trust back in our brand in the future and we do apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Tilbury, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is easily accessed off 400 at Dunlop St and within easy reach of downtown. There are several hotels located in this stretch just off the 400. The rooms are a good size, clean and comfortable. My room had a defective air conditioner so they promptly moved me and upgraded me to a business room. Quite comfortable and quiet with a decent breakfast included in the price. Would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are taking a look at the maintenance of our air conditioners. I am happy we were able to make the switch for you and make it comfortable.

We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night in July, we had a 2 queen room on the ground floor, some children running down the halls (not the hotels fault). The staff were great, very friendly. Pool was good size and hot tub was nice and relaxing after a long day. Breakfast in the morning was hot and had a good selection.

Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhc_3993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We loved our two night stay, the staff was very nice and helpful. The room was clean and the beds comfy. Also the breakfast had a bit of everything even eggs and sausage.Pool and hot tub were clean and relaxing. The inside is well renovated and it smells clean, not like the one we stayed in the night before by mistake... the Best Western Royal Oak right next to it.... that one is a no no!

Room Tip: Excellent, we will return!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natty_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

It's was quality and it was clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. One suggestion would be to have a bank machine on the property. Overall a good experience.
The place did have a hint of smoke so if you are uber sensitive to smoke then ask to change and they will!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank traynorbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff was very friendlt amd helpful and answered all questions. As we were there with all friends we received some opinions and some popular activities so it would save us time on our agenda. Some of us arrived a bit before check in so we wanted to head up and just relax. The rooms were ready for us and we did not have to wait. The rooms are nice and clean with a home like comfortable feeling. Theres a swimming pool and it was a nice place to relax and have a dip. Tge hotel is located close to other facilities so we didn't need to drive far to get supplies or grab a bite to eat. The breakfast in the morning is pleasant and peaceful. Overall it was a perfect weekend getaway.

Would highly recommend it everyone..and will definitely be going back myself.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank nice2travell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn - Barrie / Hart Dr.
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 55 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Barrie)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Barrie Hotel Barrie
Travel Lodge Barrie
Barrie Travelodge
Quality Inn Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#