We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A good nights stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A good nights stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff were very friendly and the check in/out was fast. The hot breakfast in the morning was very good. The room was clean .The hotel is very easy to get to other attractions.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review, and your kind words. Our staff tries to go above and beyond when it comes to pleasing you. Our hot breakfast is quite popular in the morning, and I'm glad you enjoyed it. I hope to see you in the near future, and thanks again for your great review.


Holly Houle
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    46
    29
    15
    21
See reviews for
39
50
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 10pm and when we went into the lobby - the guy working the front desk looked at us like we were bothering him. I had to say hi first. He did not ask for photo ID or a credit card - it was very unprofessional and showed that the hotel has a low concern about the security of their guests. He told us our room was right around the corner, however after going to the room it was clear that parking on the side would have been much easier to bring in our luggage. He is the face of the hotel and acted like it was a boring place to work and stay. The room was clean and spacious and the bed is comfy. As I was getting into bed, I noticed a huge piece of gum on the side table!! EW! I called the desk and housekeeping removed it the next day. Breakfast was okay but its in a tight corner so its crammed when there are only 3 people. I expected more from reading the previous reviews.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeautifulWorld321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank You for your review. Reviews such as yours helps us in improving our guest experience. The Front Desk Staff is the Face of our Hotel and have been provided with the training and tools necessary to meet and exceed guest expectations, and we take guest and hotel security very seriously. Having brought these matters to our attention, I have promptly addressed the above issues and concerns with our Guest Services Team. This will ensure that Guest Service & Security remain our top priorities. I am pleased that you did enjoy our spacious hotel room and comfortable beds; Thank You for notifying me that Housekeeping did remove the gum. Our breakfast area is a popular spot in the morning and can get congested at times. I am glad you enjoyed the varietyof food that was available. Once again, thank you for the time you have taken to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of once again staying at this location.
Our room was on the third floor, quite spacious and well appointed. Sleep value was excellent !
This location is relatively close to restaurants (some fast food locations - including a Tim Hortons - are within walking distance) and to a major grocery store.
Breakfast items are served in the main lobby - tables usually sufficient. Breakfast hot items are as per the Comfort Inn website.
Staff are very courteous and always helpful with tips about the area.
Price point is appropriate.
As we travel through this part of Ontario a few times each year. we always look for motels/hotels to anchor our stay. This location has a permanent spot on each of our itineraries !

Room Tip: Try to get a room, as we did, near the back of the motel and on the north side - excellent sleep qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write your excellent review. We are very happy that our hotel continues to be your permanent choice. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed May 25 with one dog - was very pleased with room offered as pet-friendly. It was on ground floor very close to outside doors and was very clean. Friendly checkin staff. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. It was a pleasure to offer you and your pet a clean comfortable room here in Barrie. It is rewarding to all of our staff to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will definitely return.

Thank you

Holly Houle
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Recently stayed for a week-end get away. Conveniently located between Vaughn Mills (shopping) and Casino Rama. Rooms were large and well kept except for a few stains on the lounge chairs. Slept well as beds were very comfortable and room was surprisingly quiet. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok but very limited seating and not much room to maneuver. Enjoyed great wings at the Sticky Fingers Pub across the street.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_race12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad you found your accommodation comfortable and our knowledgeable staff friendly. I have forwarded your concerns and attention will be given to spot cleaning lounge chairs. Our hot breakfast is very popular but unfortunately, due to available space our seating is limited which makes for some congestion during busy times. I am glad you were able to enjoy wings at one of our local venues. I look forward to seeing you again..

Holly Houle
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, in March, for business. Hallways not so nice but rooms clean and large. Bed was comfortable. Our room was next to fire doors that kept slamming shut so that was annoying. Breakfast was good. Did not like the coffee. Thankfully there is a Tim Horton's right next door. Would stay again if on business again in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Legna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we can only improve with essential comments like what you have given us. Hearing that you were happy with your room size ,and cleanliness makes us very happy. We are in the very near future starting with a different type of coffee, so hopefully you will enjoy that more. Breakfast is a great start to the day so we are happy to hear that you took advantage of our hot breakfast, and enjoyed it.

Thanks again for your kind words and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Holly Houle
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a great location, just off Hwy 400. It is easy to find and easy to get to.
Comfort Inn is close to great shopping and restaurants. It is close to the Mapleview Shopping area that has almost everything you need. It is just a few miles north of the Cookstown Tanger Shopping Outlet.
The rooms were clean and temperature was easy to control.
There was a microwave, fridge, coffee machine and hair dryer in the room.
In the morning, there is a great free serve yourself breakfast. There were scrambled eggs, muffins, fruit, bread, waffles, coffee, cereal etc. available.
The staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CIB-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here, and hopefully you found everything you needed while you were shopping. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so we are glad you took full advantage of our hot breakfast, and enjoyed it.
We look forward to your return, and have a great day.

Thank you
Holly Houle
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 19 in Barrie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Barrie / Hart Dr.
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
Address: 210 Essa Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 3L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Canada, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road Hotel Barrie
Barrie Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing