We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is easy to find and handy to the 400 Hwy. It is also within commuting distance to a number of other points of interest and directly across the road from the Barrie Fair Grounds.

The front desk staff was excellent during our registration and had directions to every place we asked about. The hotel was very clean and the room was spotless. Free wireless internet is available and it is reasonably fast. We had our pet with us and there was no extra charge! However the rooms available for guests with pets are limited to non smoking, 2 double beds. There was absolutely no evidence of any previous pet guests, which speaks to the excellent cleaning staff.

The included Breakfast was a bit of a letdown in that the fare was the usual bread, cereal, muffins,juice and hot beverages. Fresh fruit was also available. Again, the area was very clean.

All in all, great value for anyone travelling through or spending a week in the area sightseeing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enercontrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    48
    30
    15
    21
See reviews for
40
51
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenora, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

Best deal. Been to a lot of hotels across Canada and for the price (no that's not right - the price was a bonus) this was a great hotel. What do we like in a hotel? Quiet - yes. Big room - yes. Dog friendly - yes (even a good piece of ground to walk.) Location - great. Windows opened which is always important. Front desk - fabulous reception from a peach of a woman.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenoradave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed at the Essa Road Comfort Inn in Barrie Ontario
I must say that I am not very satisfied with this location
It was a maze trying to get from our room to the front lobby
for breakfast.
The keys for the building/ room, didn't always work
The blow dryer in the bathroom didn't work
There isn't any microwave and we were told that there was one in the room

Room Tip: Don't book at this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetcheek10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

My colleagues and I stayed at this hotel every week while we conduct business in the Barrie Area. The Hotel's front desk staff are great people. They are always helpful and go out of their way to make our stay the best!

The hotel is clean, the rooms are great, and the beds are comfortable. There is free wireless available, and a computer in the lobby area if you don't have a lap top. Breakfast is always out early, and is all included with your stay.

I highly recommend this hotel for business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onehappyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia area
Level Contributor
424 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Barrie is a great town to visit, and we chanced to find an affordable and quite nice place to stay. The only drawback is rugs that need to be replaced. The beds were of fine sleeping quality, cleanliness,flawless, and the bathroom facilities just fine. The complimentary breakfast was all it should be--with nice, fresh, big oranges as well as apples in addition to the waffles, pastries, cereal, etc. and hard boiled eggs. The staff kept things replenished, and were friendly and helpful in other ways as well.
From the hotel, it's but a short drive to the waterfront where there is ample free parking for the fine lake beach and really nice playground, as well as for paved walking and biking routes all along the lake. We'll stay again when we're in the neighborhood!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

My family and I found this hotel to be very intresting the staff seemed very friendly and willing to help which was great, until we entred our room. mind you it was large in size but not clean my teenage daughter looked in the full lenghth mirror before we were heading out and the dust on the ledge of it was so thick she ran her finger on it thinking the next day it would be cleaned it was not. Our family pet was with us and of course there was some pet hair on the rug in the morning after the maid had been in and we had returned from shopping all that had been done was the beds made, the pet hair still on the floor the dust still on the mirror the shower was discusting. The spread they put out in the morning was not worth the effort to even go down the stairs, I would have rather drank a cold day old coffee. was not worth the money that we spent on the room for the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalynn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

rooms were OK oK.. and room service was not very quick.....it was moderately clean.

  • Liked — higenic
  • Disliked — parking space
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank priyunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Barrie On Bayfield
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Barrie / Hart Dr.
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 19 in Barrie
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
Address: 210 Essa Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 3L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn - Barrie/Essa Road Hotel Barrie
Barrie Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing