We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet Hotel with a great Breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Sudbury
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Quiet Hotel with a great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We are always well treated at this BW. We have been here many times these past few years. Very nice staff. A great morning breakfast. Handy location to the 400. Many hotel improvements in recent years.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank randy1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
It is a pleasure to welcome our guests back to the Best Western Royal Oak Inn! Our staff enjoy seeing you each visit and we are happy you noticed the improvements we have made as we continue to re-invest in our hotel! We agree that we have a great complimentary Hot Breakfast and it has become a favourite with many of our guests. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again on your next visit to Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    105
    56
    29
    27
See reviews for
107
101
16
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vaughan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I found rests of beer cases in the fridge, the sliding door to the parking lot was open, towels were missing, the entry keys to the room didn't work. All this while I was away working. I reported to the desk and asked to see the security cameras footage but they refused. STAY AWAY OF THIS S-HOLE.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Bernardo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit. We want to assure you that the camera footage has been viewed by Management and no one had access to your guestroom. Each guestroom has a mini fridge for our guests' convenience and we apologize if our housekeeping missed anything in the fridge. Guest room keys can become unusable if they are put near a cell phone or anything magnetic. Our Guest Services would be happy to provide new room keys upon request. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

this hotel is very clean and the people working there are friendly. has a nice pool and hot tub. the breakfast was excellent; it had sausages, bacon and cold hard boiled eggs for protein. the lady working in the breakfast room had orientation the day before and it was her first time solo; she was excellent. the hotel is easy to get to. they did run out of towels at the pool and they could have had 2 waffle makers but those are the only things I noticed could be improved. The beds were very comfortable, there were 3 people in the room and we all slept great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and had a great sleep. Thank you for sharing your comments about our friendly staff and the cleanliness of our property. We are glad you found our complimentary hot breakfast to be excellent. On busy weekends, towels can run out when guests use multiple towels and we apologize for this inconvenience. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

First of all, we notice a soil comforter on our bed, then all night we heard voices coming from all around... babies, kids, men screaming, the place is not insulated for noise. I felt like scratching all night. I just felt llike this place needs a good cleaning, feels grungy, smelly! So.... we crossed over to the Quality Inn next door, yes it look older from the outside, but so much better inside then the Best Western... there we had everything up to our expectation and stayed for the rest of our vacation.

Room Tip: Quality Inn... Perfect place, you will be surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natty_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Your satisfaction is important to us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Based on the information you provided, you did not stay in our Traditional Section as it does not offer comforters but instead triple sheet bedding. The remainder of our rooms were completed a few years ago and typically our guests really enjoy them. We apologize for any inconveniences you had and our Guest Services would have been happy to provide you with another room. We would be happy to speak to you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice room, clean, good pool, good beds, breakfast good, and easy to find. Typical of Best Western quality and would stay there again if in the area. Not many restaurants within walking distance but some fast food ones.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rraln4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive comments about our hotel. It is nice to know you found our guestrooms to be nice, clean and have good beds. We are also pleased you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast! We have partnered with a few restaurants very close to our property including The Keg Steakhouse & Bar. There are a variety of fabulous restaurants in our downtown area, just a couple of minutes drive from our hotel. We look forward to your next visit to Barrie and staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed in Barrie for 4 nights while visiting family. We've stayed at this hotel once before and we really enjoy it. The rooms are big with plenty of space for a family to move around. Fast internet, very friendly staff. The pool and hot tub are nice (the pool is more of a half pool) as is the exercise room. Breakfast is a little cramped. The dining area seems to get fairly busy and the kids had to wait in line for quite a while to get to the waffle maker. My suggestion would be to invest in another one of these to help speed along the traffic along the counter. Hotel looks to be away from amenities, however it is close to a Tim Hortons, Popeye's, Subway, gas stations and a few blocks away is a drug store and grocery store. It is also located close to the 400, but positioned so that you don't hear the noise of traffic. Excellent value and a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are pleased you stayed with us on your recent visit with family! Many guests enjoy the size of our guestrooms. We will be sure to pass along your comments about our friendly staff. On those busy mornings, we often will open our meeting room for additional seating at breakfast. We also provide trays for those guests who wish to dine in the privacy of their guestroom. We continue to make adjustments to our breakfast area and appreciate your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our convenient location. We look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is an average Best Western, but what sets it apart is the extremely exceptional customer service. Every staff member there greats you with a warm smile and a friendly greeting. I spend about 6 to 8 nights a month there and it truly is like a second home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments and we appreciate your loyalty! We are always happy to have you stay with us. We are pleased to know we are your home away from home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Address: 35 Hart Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Oak is a newly renovated hotel, close to the highway and in the heart of down town Barrie. We offer a hot breakfast for all guests, or if you find your self running late we have Grab & Go bags available to take on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing