We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed just one night. The hotel is newer and very well kept. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was quite nice and the comfortable. Breakfast was included. There wasn't a large choice but what there was lots and it was good. It is fairly easy to get from the hotel to the downtown shopping area and the waterfront. All in all it was a pleasant stay. If I was in the Barrie area again I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

We appreciate your great comments about our hotel and are happy to know you found our staff to be both friendly and helpful! Many of our guests appreciate the central location in Barrie with easy access to Hwy 400, and close to the waterfront with numerous restaurants and shops! We are looking forward to serving you again on your next visit to Barrie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Royal Oak Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 475 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

Driving through town & called last minute, no reservation. Explained that I required handicap access, ground floor from parking lot. After calling 5 hotels, this was the only one that offered to help us out. Upon arrival found the young lady at the front desk to be extremely pleasant & helpful. Room was large, clean and very easy to access. The a/c had already been turned on for us (30 degrees C. outside). Had a very spacious washroom. My ill passenger had lots of room to safely move around. The queen bed was an acceptable hight for a safe transfer. The complimentary breakfast was hot and tasty & we ate in our room. The morning staff were pleasant & helpful. Overall an excellent experience during a bad situation. Was the best part of our trip! Thank you :)

Room Tip: When you call, tell the staff exactly what you need. Call the hotel directly, don't book on-line...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate your kind remarks! We are pleased we were able to meet your specific needs during your recent stay at the Best Western Royal Oak Inn! We will be sure to share your comments with our staff and we are happy to know that we were able to give you an excellent experience at our hotel! We hope you will have an opportunity to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The breakfast was excellent, many options though no fresh fruit. The hot tub has not been working for quite some time and it was still not working. They should not advertise this amenity on their website.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 842craigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share you comments with us. We apologize for the inconvenience of your hot tub not working during your stay. We did require a part to arrive to complete the maintenance.

We hope you will give us an opportunity to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

condom wrappers behind desk, other peoples hairs in the bed and in the towels, broken a/c sounding like a dripping fosset, unaccommodating, staff was friendly but not helpful. wouldn't stay here again, lost my paperwork at check out, other best westerns i've stayed at were decent and good but this one seems like they have no expectations to hold.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Steven Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback to us. We apologize you did not enjoy your stay with us as your experience is not typical for our guests. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made immediately. We are happy you were able to be upgraded to one of our Executive Guestrooms as your satisfaction is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located close to the highway. Staff efficient and friendly. The jacuzzi room is beautiful, generous size and clean. Recommend to stay at any time! Maybe management should think about to have a little restaurant on site.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Gabriella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

We are happy to know you enjoyed your experience at the Best Western Royal Oak Inn! Our Jetted Tub Suite is very popular especially for a Valentine's Getaway! We appreciate you taking the time to share your great comments and recommending our property! Although we do not have a restaurant on site, we are happy to have partnered with The Keg Steakhouse & Bar located close to our property. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before because of location and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfasts are great ( better on weekdays then weekends because they don't serve scrambled eggs on Saturdays and Sundays). The pool is a nice temperature as well. This time we rented two rooms for twelve days and were disappointed with the general maintenance of the place. The hot tub was "temporarily" out of service for the entire time we stayed, as was the vending machine. The laundry dryer took three cycles to dry laundry and the front desk had no change for them anyways and the ATM was often out of service. The rooms and pool area had several areas of water damage and other guests could often be heard complaining about loud ac units ( we were okay with ours although it was a bit on the loud side). All of this was tolerable but at the end felt that after staying for a combined 24 nights we did not get what we paid for as the hot tub ( a main attraction for us) was simply not available. The girls said it would probably be fixed the next day every time we asked.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyla23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Your input is important to us! We take every review as a way to improve the experience for all of our guests. We apologize for any inconveniences you endured during your stay. Our hot tub did require a part to be sent to us to complete the maintenance. Our property does provide our guests with more than one vending machine in case another machine does require attention and we do our best to always have change available for your convenience. Our staff works hard to meet the needs of our guests and we hope you give us an opportunity to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed in the location for the second time, and this time I was in the older motelish looking side, rooms need some refreshing, but it was a nice average size.

The pool is being renovated and should be ready to be used by May 13th. The hotel breakfast is the best part of the stay, waffle maker, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon, bread for toast and bagels, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffee and teas, cerals, yogurts.... i had more then I needed.

Easy access to the hotel from the 400 highway and easy access back onto the highway, parking is included in the room charge and well as the WIFI.

Over all i would stay here again but would request a room in the tower.

Room Tip: ASk for a room in the tower.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests! We are excited to let you know our indoor swimming pool resurfacing is completed and looks great! We appreciate your positive comments about our easy access to Hwy 400 and our wonderful complimentary breakfast. We welcome you back to our property anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Oak Inn

Address: 35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barrie
#4 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range: $89 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Oak is a newly renovated hotel, close to the highway and in the heart of down town Barrie. We offer a hot breakfast for all guests, or if you find your self running late we have Grab & Go bags available to take on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
Best Western Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing