We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's get away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Valentine's get away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Conveniently located close to the highway. Staff efficient and friendly. The jacuzzi room is beautiful, generous size and clean. Recommend to stay at any time! Maybe management should think about to have a little restaurant on site.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We are happy to know you enjoyed your experience at the Best Western Royal Oak Inn! Our Jetted Tub Suite is very popular especially for a Valentine's Getaway! We appreciate you taking the time to share your great comments and recommending our property! Although we do not have a restaurant on site, we are happy to have partnered with The Keg Steakhouse & Bar located close to our property. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    105
    56
    29
    27
See reviews for
107
101
16
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before because of location and the beds are very comfortable. The breakfasts are great ( better on weekdays then weekends because they don't serve scrambled eggs on Saturdays and Sundays). The pool is a nice temperature as well. This time we rented two rooms for twelve days and were disappointed with the general maintenance of the place. The hot tub was "temporarily" out of service for the entire time we stayed, as was the vending machine. The laundry dryer took three cycles to dry laundry and the front desk had no change for them anyways and the ATM was often out of service. The rooms and pool area had several areas of water damage and other guests could often be heard complaining about loud ac units ( we were okay with ours although it was a bit on the loud side). All of this was tolerable but at the end felt that after staying for a combined 24 nights we did not get what we paid for as the hot tub ( a main attraction for us) was simply not available. The girls said it would probably be fixed the next day every time we asked.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyla23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Your input is important to us! We take every review as a way to improve the experience for all of our guests. We apologize for any inconveniences you endured during your stay. Our hot tub did require a part to be sent to us to complete the maintenance. Our property does provide our guests with more than one vending machine in case another machine does require attention and we do our best to always have change available for your convenience. Our staff works hard to meet the needs of our guests and we hope you give us an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed in the location for the second time, and this time I was in the older motelish looking side, rooms need some refreshing, but it was a nice average size.

The pool is being renovated and should be ready to be used by May 13th. The hotel breakfast is the best part of the stay, waffle maker, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon, bread for toast and bagels, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffee and teas, cerals, yogurts.... i had more then I needed.

Easy access to the hotel from the 400 highway and easy access back onto the highway, parking is included in the room charge and well as the WIFI.

Over all i would stay here again but would request a room in the tower.

Room Tip: ASk for a room in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank demonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests! We are excited to let you know our indoor swimming pool resurfacing is completed and looks great! We appreciate your positive comments about our easy access to Hwy 400 and our wonderful complimentary breakfast. We welcome you back to our property anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotel was located just off the highway, room was very clean and a generous size considering the rates.

Breakfast was a hot breakfast, nothing too crazy, but included in the rate so that helped

The staff was amazing when it came to my needs..highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with us! We appreciate that you "highly recommend" the Best Western Royal Oak Inn! Many travelers enjoy the convenience of our location and easy access to Hwy #400. We will be sure to pass along your wonderful comments about our amazing staff! It will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Requested corporate rates and was told each property is independent... booked online - requested upper floor and was told not at my rate - 2nd floor room but had a roof outside my window (54" off the floor) carpet was not stretched 2-3" roll in the middle of the room from door to window. Sat on the toilet and the floor below moved. Not the "Best" stay I have had before!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your remarks about your recent stay with us. Best Western has a number of programs to support our corporate travelers from our World Wide Sales Team to our Business Advantage Program. We also have a Director of Sales on site to assist with independent companies requiring a corporate rate. Should a guest choose to make their booking on line with an outside channel other than Best Western, it is difficult to make adjustments upon arrival. We offer a number of options to meet the specific needs of our corporate travelers. We invite you to contact us directly to receive additional information regarding any of our corporate programs. We look forward to the opportunity of having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is just off highway 400 and easy to get in and out. Clean and quiet. Nearby to shopping and a wide variety restaurant choices. Have stayed here several times...best surprise is no surprise. Beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
It is a pleasure to serve you and we appreciate all of your wonderful comments. We have a great team at our property and they work very hard to ensure our guests have a rewarding experience! We receive lots of feedback from our guests about our great location, easy access to Hwy #400, and the great restaurants we have partnered with! We are glad your our property meets your accommodation needs in Barrie and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I used to stay 5 nights a month (average) about 6 years ago. It was ok, nothing special but good rates, nice staff and good central location. Went back a couple of weeks ago, and they had completed a really nice new addition but only a small increase in rates for the newer room. I'm told the older part of the building will have rooms under renovations shortly, making this property a nice place to stay for good value. I suggest travelers check it out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We really appreciate your sharing those great remarks about our property. We are very pleased with the upgrades and changes we have made to our property and have received Trip Advisor's Award of Excellence! We are pleased to know you are happy with the good value you receive while staying at the Best Western Royal Oak Inn! We welcome you back to our property on your next visit to Barrie,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Address: 35 Hart Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Oak is a newly renovated hotel, close to the highway and in the heart of down town Barrie. We offer a hot breakfast for all guests, or if you find your self running late we have Grab & Go bags available to take on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing