We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent help from all involved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“Excellent help from all involved”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I was late arriving however the young lady at the desk was marvelous getting me checked in. I had an early start and my room was immaculate and quite comfortable as well. The following day I had an early session with a branch location and then a very important webcast. The sales staff and the staff in general made sure that I had the privacy and access so that I would not miss this important webcast. The entire group involved from check in, to sales, to cleaning, had all the bases covered for me. They really do care!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! It is great to know our staff is doing such a wonderful job serving our you. We take pride in what we do and all of our departments work together as a team to ensure our guests have a rewarding stay! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    127
    62
    31
    29
See reviews for
134
111
18
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fenelon Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This Best Western has clean, comfortable rooms. The room was spacious and relatively quiet. The location, near Highway 400, was ideal for me to get to the airport in the morning. Access to theatres and restaurants is also very good from this location (although you will have to drive). There are very few amenities within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank ronhronh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your comments as your satisfaction is important to us! Thank you for your wonderful remarks about the cleanliness of our spacious guestrooms! Many of our guests enjoy our downtown location as we are close to a number of great restaurants and shopping. We hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Lots of choices. Great crunchy waffle. Quick food refill. Good service. Only problem is rooms have smoke smell even though it says smoke free. Great for short stay. Pool is small but clean. Bathroom has no shower cap, lotion is too little only enough one time use for one person. Not enough for 2 ppl.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Swimmingmarypeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your great remarks about the efficient service you received on your last visit to Barrie at the Best Western Royal Oak Inn! We are pleased you enjoyed your overall experience and the complimentary breakfast with lots of choices. Our Housekeeping staff would be happy to give you additional supplies upon request and we also have supplies available 24 hours per day with our Front Desk staff should you require more of an item. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed overnight while visiting friends for a party. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay, this hotel fits the bill. We appreciated the nice pool and the above average breakfast bar!

I strongly recommend this hotel if you're in the Barrie area as it very convenient to HWY. 400.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kappy905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We do our best to ensure our guests have a comfortable and convenient stay! We agree that our central location is very important to travelers and we have easy access to Hwy 400. We appreciate your comments about our "above average breakfast" and will be sure to share these remarks with our breakfast staff! It will be a pleasure to serve you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Excellent value for a Best Western. Staff are beyond helpful (especially the afternoon and night staff) and location in Barrie is within 30 mins to various attractions and good dining. Rooms could use some updating, but aside from that, all is very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Your wonderful comments will be shared with our staff! We enjoy hearing your remarks and are happy you liked our central location in Barrie, close to attractions and dining! We are continually reinvesting in our property to ensure all of our guests have a rewarding experience and hope on your next visit you will try our Executive Section!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, ON
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

My family stayed for one night for a skiing getaway. The good: location near Hwy 400; free parking; friendly service; good included breakfast with lots of hot and cold choices including a waffle making station. The bad: the room and particularly the bathroom was run down; toilet usually had to be flushed twice; tv could only be turned on manually; quite noisy in the hallway; very small indoor pool. We would be unlikely to stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank budsfan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for providing feedback about our property. Many guests appreciate the great location with easy access to Hwy 400 and our complimentary hot breakfast. We will be sure to pass your positive comments to our friendly staff. We recently updated all of our flat screen televisions and we will further investigate the reason why you were having to turn it on manually. We hope you will stay with us again and try out our Executive Section!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

the front desk staff are very friendly and the rooms are spacious and modern with decent rates. But the breakfast room is crammed and uncomfortable, and was overpacked and most of the food was good but the ONLY fruit choice was very green non ripe bananas. I filled out their survey with my suggestions and concerns and got some form letter that did not even recognize my comments regarding breakfast. That upset me hence why they only got an average rating instead of very good, the manager should treat guests concerns more seriously and respectful. Keep that in mind before you book.

Room Tip: executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our hotel. We get a number of great comments about our wonderful and friendly staff. Guests enjoy the comfort of our spacious rooms and we appreciate your remarks. It is unusual for our breakfast to have only one fruit option; during your visit we did run out and we apologize for this inconvenience. We understand on sold out weekends the breakfast area can be very busy and we do our best to accommodate all of our guests. We also have trays available to guests that prefer to dine in the comfort of their guestroom. We are glad you enjoyed your overall experience with us and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Barrie / Hart Dr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Oak Inn

Property: Best Western Royal Oak Inn
Address: 35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barrie
#4 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Oak is a newly renovated hotel, close to the highway and in the heart of down town Barrie. We offer a hot breakfast for all guests, or if you find your self running late we have Grab & Go bags available to take on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
Best Western Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing