We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stuff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“Good Stuff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Good hotel. Nothing too flashy nor extravagant, just a clean, relatively inexpensive, well-maintained place to stay. As a bodybuilder, I wish hotels would just add a simply bench press and some weights in their fitness centre, but honestly that's a mundane criticism. I enjoyed my visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback about our hotel. We do our best to offer a range for guests using our fitness facilities and recently updated our equipment in 2012. We are happy you enjoyed your overall experience at the Best Western Royal Oak Inn and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    108
    58
    29
    28
See reviews for
117
103
17
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Overall a great stay. Checked in 20 minutes early - room was not ready but they were able to accomodate us in another room. Room was clean, however, no pillowcases on one bed. Extra towels arrived in the early evening. Everything was clean and comfortable. Stayed on family day weekend and hotel was at capacity. Breakfast was a bit crowded, but staff did there best to accomodate. Overall a great stay, would def stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about our property. We are pleased that Guest Services was able to assist you with an early check in and sometimes when this happens, we require additional time to complete all of the linen service on those busy weekends. We have wonderful staff and we all work hard to ensure our guests have a rewarding experience. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
240 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for business. Room wasn't anything special but was fairly clean. Carpet was a little worn and heating system was the usual noisy wall unit that is either too hot, too noisy or too cold. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was pretty good as well. Cookies on the breakfast buffet (yes cookies on the breakfast buffet) were really good and the buffet lady was very friendly. As I mentioned in some of my other reviews I don't care if the staff is friendly or not but thought I would start mentioning if they are or not for those that do care :o)
Pool was small but hot tub was good and was actually hot and not luke warm like most hotel hot tubs tend to be.

I would stay here again but would probably try another place just for fun.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor as the floors are wood and more than likely creaky and squeaky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrufgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Guest Services would have been happy to move you to a different guestroom. Many of our corporate guests prefer the upgrade to our Executive Section of the property. We are pleased you enjoyed breakfast and a relaxing hot tub! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed this weekend on our way to Mount St Louis for a day of skiing. Comfortable, clean hotel, friendly staff and great location. And the best part was not having to fight traffic to get to the ski hill.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oakmom999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We appreciate you sharing your comments about your recent visit to our property. We are centrally located and it is easy to get to the ski hills in our area. Thank you for your wonderful remarks and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

In a strip of low rise hotels just off the 400 Highway, this one looks the best. The room is OK, just what you’d expect for the price. The bathroom is old and the tub enamel chipped and rusty. The heating system is either noisy and too hot, or off and too cold. The air is so dry I wake up with a nose bleed in the middle of the night. Only plastic and paper cups in the room, but I prevail on the very cheerful woman at the desk to find me a real glass for my Scotch nightcap. The ice machine works fine. The paper and plastic regime extends to the promised hot breakfast. Paper plates and plastic cutlery. Overcooked bacon, greasy sausages and hard boiled eggs. The bananas are overripe. At least I can make my own toast. Another cheerful lady on the front desk wishes me a good trip and hopes I’ll come again. Not on your life!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gentlemansportion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We are sorry you were not satisfied with your guestroom. It is unusual for our units to have a problem but it does happen on occasion. Our guest services would have been happy to move you to a different room or give you an option to upgrade to our Executive Section of the property. We are glad we were able to assist you with providing glassware for your beverage as this is available to our guests upon request. We also appreciate your feedback regarding breakfast as we strive to always improve our performance! Thank you for sharing your comments about our friendly staff. We hope you will consider us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great hotel! My favourite place to stay in Barrie. Staff are accommodating & helpful.. Hot & cold breakfast is great. Pool & hot tub are relaxing & nice temperatures. Right off of main highway.My little grandkids and I always enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Margarete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We are thankful for you sharing your awesome comments about our hotel! We are happy to hear we are your favorite hotel in Barrie! Many of our guests appreciate our central location and easy access to Hwy #400. We look forward to your next visit with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the hotel on New Year Eve. It's a nice place. People are helpful, but not over, that is important. Nice clean pool, open till 10 pm, so kids are busy! :) Overall, we are very happy with our experiences there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Yulia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your great comments about our hotel and staying with us on New Year's Eve! We are glad your children enjoyed the indoor pool. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Address: 35 Hart Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Oak is a newly renovated hotel, close to the highway and in the heart of down town Barrie. We offer a hot breakfast for all guests, or if you find your self running late we have Grab & Go bags available to take on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing