We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Barrie
Nearby Hotels
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$90
$82
FourPoints.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Super 8 by Wyndham Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$101
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Manor Bed & Breakfast(Barrie)(Great Value!)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveler rating
232
167
67
34
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
167
67
34
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal oak innfront deskhot tubbreakfast roomwaffle makeroff the highwayexcellent hotelstay there againwaffleshot breakfasteasy accessa great staysausagemain floorcomfortable bedsbreakfast was includedhockey tournament
Filter
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 530 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Room was excellent. We had a King Suite . I liked the idea that there was a TV in the bedroom and one in the sitting area with a couch and chair. The Breakfast was pretty good also. Staff was friendly and helpful. They gave us information on tourist areas and things to do.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Janice I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay and your suite at our hotel. We agree that our staff is very friendly and they are always willing to share their knowledge of Barrie and area. We hope you will choose the Best Western Royal Oak Inn on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

had a great stay at this hotel...check in was a breeze and the clerks were helpful and friendly...the room was well equiped and warm once settled in the room...the location was great as my appointment was a five minute ride away...would stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your remarks about our property! We agree that our staff are very friendly and efficient! Many guests appreciate our central location and easy access to Highway 400. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our room had a smell and the mini fridge was making a high-pitched hum. The employee at the front desk switched our room right away and came to see so that she could inform maintenance of the issues. She was awesome! The next morning I asked this employee if we could check out later as my daughter had not slept well and I wanted to let her sleep but I was concerned that my 9:30 doctor's appointment would run long. She was understanding and confirmed that we could have a late checkout of Noon but assured me that arrangements could be made if I was longer than that. (We checked out just before Noon). These employees were awesome and I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

We appreciate hearing from our guests! We have incredible staff and they do their best to meet our guests' specific needs! We are pleased we were able to find an appropriate room and apologize for any inconvenience this caused. Thank you for highly recommending the Best Western Royal Oak Inn and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

With Barrie being my home town and us needing a place to stay for a few nights, i am glad we booked with Best Western Barrie. The first night it was fully booked so we stayed in the similar priced monte carlo inn next door but the Best Western Barrie experience was 100% better. Our room was at the back, ground floor and we had a kitchenette, full size fridge, stove and comfortable bed, spacious room and even a sliding door for easy access to our car parked right out side our window. Free included breakfast was nice and overall we felt this hotel to be friendly, clean and well managed. Will definately book again.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment. It's one of the best in Barrie and you don't want to be stuck at the alternatives
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

It is appreciated when our guests take the time to share their remarks regarding our property! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to use one of our newly renovated kitchenettes. Many of our guests like the convenience of the patio doors. Thank you for your great comments and we hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our family with four children stayed overnight to attend a family function early the next morning in Barrie. Isabelle at the front desk was very helpful over the phone with booking an additional room right next door to our family suite for a last minute addition to our party. We met Isabelle at check-in and she was cheerful and welcoming. She further assisted us in finding a restaurant for dinner. Our room was clean and tastefully decorated. We chose this hotel for the family suite and the pool. We appreciate when everyone in our party of six can sleep in a bed - and the beds were very comfortable - as opposed to a pull-out couch or cot, and that the parents have their own bedroom. However, we would have preferred to have a king bed and an extra bathroom. The one bathroom was tiny and didn't accommodate all of us well. The pool was small but the kids enjoyed it. We weren't concerned about our safety at this hotel until we noticed a security guard pacing the halls and glancing into the pool area. Then, my husband overheard the front desk tell a potential patron that the hotel only accepted credit cards. In the hotel information binder in the room there was a whole page outlining safety tips for guests. When we met our Barrie relatives the next day, they laughed and told us that they referred to the area where we stayed as Barrie's "red-light district". We were thankful that we didn't run into any problems and the streets outside were quiet all night. Breakfast was frustrating. We came downstairs to see a line-up out the dining room door and down the hall. Judging by how long the guests ahead of us had been waiting in line, we estimated that it would be about 30 minutes before we got our food and sat down - if there was a table. We decided to eat out and went back to our room to pack up. Once we had loaded the car and checked out, the line-up was short, so we decided to stay. Apart from the many guests who were looking for breakfast, the inefficiency of the buffet was what had caused the long wait. One waffle maker and one toaster slowed everyone down. Having said that, the breakfast was good. The sausages got great reviews.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are newer.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JocP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, General Manager at Best Western Plus Barrie, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We will be sure to pass along your wonderful remarks to Isabelle. We know our family suites with 3 queen beds are a popular choice. We are glad to hear you were able to use our amenities including our indoor swimming pool.

The Best Western Royal Oak Inn is a very popular hotel with families and provides a safe and friendly environment. Barrie has a number of sporting tournaments in the area and all of the hotels host teams during these dates. During these busy weekends, we have taken the initiative to employ a security guard to ensure hotel policies, including group policies such as no mini sticks in the halls, are being followed. Our complimentary breakfast is also very popular and can be challenging. We offer the connecting meeting room to help with the overflow on busy weekends; as well as, we offer trays for those who choose to dine in their guestroom. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews