We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed one night here and were quite happy with the accommodations for a short stay. The rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. Room could use a bit of updating and pool was really small and shallow. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Need to go out to eat or order in. Plenty of restaurants and fast food close by.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. We take every review as a way to improve every guest's experience. We continually invest in our property to ensure we are offering our guests the best services and amenities. We also have a number of choices to meet all of our guests' specific needs including our Executive Section. Our indoor swimming pool is family friendly for our younger guests and we have recently remodelled our hot tub! We greatly appreciate the wonderful comments about our staff and will share your kind remarks with them. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barrie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Royal Oak Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 474 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wanted a room for the two of us we were tired and hungry, been travelling all day. Receptionist was so lovely she upgraded us to a suite with a massive jacuzzi in our room with a closed in log fire, very romantic! We were just about to freshen up before we went to the hotel restaurant and there was a knock on the door...it was the receptionist with a cold bottle of wine and two glasses on the house!
We went for dinner and another surprise was the restaurant it was Greek and another great big open logfire in the middle of the restaurant, again so romantic and the food was great too! Shame we were only there for one night!!

Room Tip: If you want a romantic stay however long or short, ask for the suite with the jacuzzi!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seemCharnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

We thank you very much for a wonderful review, and we are delighted your stay was met with such appreciation. Very great tip too, as our king jetted tub suites are a favourite among those wanting to enjoy a relaxing, romantic stay. We hope on your next stay with us you can enjoy the amenities longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed ere after coming in to town just after midnight, the front desk guy was awesome, sorted my checkin quickly and efficiently. The room was great, very accommodating, comfy bed, just what a man needs after a long flight in to Toronto and then a drive to Barrie,

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwionarope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write us a review, we really appreciate it! It is our goal to accommodate every guest to the best of our ability, and we are pleased we met this with you. We would be delighted to be your host the next time you are in the Barrie area, for business or leisure. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

There was a number of workers that made my experience pleasant.
Graham for going out of his way to assist me with a last minute celebration.
Jenny and Brittany for providing help on a last minute request for services to my room for a meeting.
Arlene for accomadating my request for a room large enough to conduct a small meeting. Providing me with extra chairs and above all her very pleasanrt demeanour.
Every employee i interacted with was friendly and went out of their way to make my 3 days there very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Close to back entrance which provided me ease of entering and leaving the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your very kind and thoughtful review. All of us at the Best Western are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could contribute to a positive experience for you. Your review instills a sense of pride in what we do, and we are thankful you took the time to comment. We would be delighted to be your host the next time you are in the Barrie area on business or leisure. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

After 6 weeks of working away from home and 8 more to go, this place has done everything to make us feel at home!! From checkin to check out, continental breakfast, rooms etc all is good!!! Staff are amazingly helpful and friendly!!! Thank you!!!!!
Dennis

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you very for your time in giving us a review. We are very happy you and your team feel at home with us! Our sincere goal is to consistently provide that level of comfort and service during your entire stay with us! Your business is very important to us, and we are very thankful we have this opportunity to be your home away from home! Both you and your colleagues are a delight to host, and we hope you all enjoy the rest of your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

BWB, thanks for looking after my guests during our grand opening launch of Nashville North Barrie. I appreciate your professionalism and courtesy and we'll all be back soon. I spent 3 nights myself and found the property to be peaceful and the staff wonderful and fun to deal with. We have been using your hotel for events for many years including the nationally renowned and award winning CMT Music Festival, Budweiser New Music Fest and many others.
Kit

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you too, for a wonderful review! Congratulations on your grand opening! We sincerely appreciate your business and we look forward to having you and your colleagues stay with us again, during your many events and functions throughout the year! It is our goal to create an environment where you feel comfortable sending your family, friends, and staff to stay while in Barrie. The Best Western thanks you again for your kind remarks and we looking forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stay in this hotel at least once a week, and it exceeds my expectations every time! Check in is smooth and efficient, Graham and Brittany do an excellent job at check in, they are professional and efficient, the room is always very clean and any issues I have had were dealt with immediately, any noise issues are dealt with properly ............. many of us have long days ie up at 5:30 am and have put in 12 - 14 hour days so I appreciate them dealing -- generally with the parents who allow their children to go nuts, scream, yell, run the halls and play hockey in the halls until after 10:00 pm/ or those blaring their music after 10 .... professionally and effectively. Check out with Jim in the mornings is fast, efficient, and he is helpful, cheerful and starts the day off right. The Breakfast Buffett is well stocked with hot and cold items that are fresh and hot................ some mayo for those hard boiled eggs would be appreciated.... I rarely see the day staff but they have been very accommodating when I have had to call in -- Arlene. Also that occassional surprise of popcorn or chocolates always hit the spot --- thank you to the marketing person -- (sorry name freeze) it is so appreciated! Keep up the good job guys!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MONICA1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil1964, Manager at Best Western Royal Oak Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

The entire team sincerely thanks you for such a wonderful review. The Best Western prides itself on providing the best possible stay for our guests, and your kind remarks highlights that mission. We genuinely aim to create a home away from home environment, and we are very pleased you have found that with us. Thank you very much for being a wonderful, loyal Best Western guest, and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Oak Inn

Address: 35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barrie
#4 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range: $89 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Oak Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Oak is a newly renovated hotel, close to the highway and in the heart of down town Barrie. We offer a hot breakfast for all guests, or if you find your self running late we have Grab & Go bags available to take on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
Best Western Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing