We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Great hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
1 review
“Great hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

I had a great stay at the best western in barrie this past summer.
The front desk clerk a young girl was very pleasent and had a great smile. We were a early check in and because they were not busy from the night before she was able to move us around and get us checked in at 11 am. I appreciated the effort.
The breakfast room has a great deal of food for a continental breakfast, the rooms were clean and bright. They did have smoking rooms on the same floor as our room, but it could only be smelt outside of those rooms in that section of the hall.
Great rates, they said they were starting construction for an addition with a pool and a hot tub that will be opening next summer. Therefore I will be returning next summer if not before then!

  • Liked — the cleanliness and front desk staff
  • Disliked — The hotel staff don't get paid enough for what they do!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kathleen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2007

The hotel looked good from the panaromic pictures I found on their website. And indeed it was a little gem. The staff were very friendly and obliging. The room very spacious with a fridge and microwave.

However the location was a real let-down. Situated near the junction with the highway and at the end of Dunlop Street, it has its share of sex shops, very tatty almost shanty type roads nearby and looks generally rundown. I can't believe that as this is the first glimpse tourist get of Barrie that it's not been regenerated.

My advice, get a hirecar and don't walk as we did.

Stayed January 2007
2 Thank deaconline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2005

We were stranded overnight during a snowstorm and our vehicle had broken down. We spent all of our money on the room. We found this hotel to be the most reasonable in the area. My family of 4 had no personal items as we were not planning on getting stranded (just a day trip). The girl on the front desk was more than helpful! She gave us basic provisions (toothbrushes, etc.) and even opened the breakfast area late at night to give us some food to comfort us. The room was spotless and comfortable. The hotel was safe, and clean, and quiet. We will not hesitate to stay here again next time we visit Barrie. A very positive experience!

  • Stayed April 2003
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
2 Thank Bondo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2003

I stayed here in august of 2002, and was appalled by the customer service provided by both the manager and front desk clerk. they had lost our reservations for a smoking room for four adults, and then proceeded to argue with me and outright call me a liar, saying that i did not make the reservations that i said i had even though i had a confirmation number, and had confirmed my reservations 3 times! I would never stay there again, especially since there are many hotels of the same caliber in this lovely city.

  • Stayed August 2002
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
11 Thank melissassm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
0.2 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Address: 35 Hart Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Royal Oak is a newly renovated hotel, close to the highway and in the heart of down town Barrie. We offer a hot breakfast for all guests, or if you find your self running late we have Grab & Go bags available to take on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Oak Hotel Barrie
Best Western Barrie
Barrie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn Barrie, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing