We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

I was very impressed with this hotel. My mother and I decided to come here for a girls weekend away. The front desk staff were helpfull. I was impressed with the renovations they look great. My mother and I were much impressed by the way we were treated in the resturant sunday morning. Evn though the returant was busy, the staff and managment were great always smiling and helpfull. Both jenny and adreanne were our servers , very nice girls. The manager in the resturant I think it was natile, she was great, she was very helpfull with directions and local info. Overall our experience was great.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura_b123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    124
    61
    36
    28
See reviews for
157
81
33
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

From the time I steped into the hotel to the time I left, evryone one of the staff were helpfull and caring. My mother and I satyed there this weekend as a girls weekend. And were very happy. The new renovations to the rooms and resturant areas looked great.
Sunday brunch was the best. The servers jenny and adrenne were great. The manager in the resturant that morning she was wonderfull , very helpfully with directions , and local info. Overall I was very impressed with the service and compasion that all the staff had. I would recomend this hotel to all my friends that are looking to get away for a girls weekend.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laura_b123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Frances, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

A friend and I stayed here after a LONG day of shopping, and were very happy we did. We needed two beds, and even though none were available, the front desk clerk (I believe his name was James) got us a room with a pull out couch, and was very polite about it (The hotel the night before was snotty with us when we asked for smoke free, nevermind two beds...). The room was clean, the grounds were clean, and the staff incredibly polite checking in and out. I've stayed there a few times over the years, and always prefer this hotel over any other that I've stayed in (in Barrie).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tammy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

This was our first visit to this location and the hotel was very nice and newly renovated. Definately a family friendly hotel with both an indoor and outdoor pool and outside play area for the kids. The room was very clean and a bit larger than I was expecting - definately enough room for us and our two children to stay comfortably. From the moment we walked in the door the staff at the front desk and in and around the hotel / restaurant treated our kids like royalty and the kids loved it! It was a very busy weekend and the hotel was sold out, which usually means a higher level of noise in the hallways, but I am pleased to say we heard very little and the staff were very good at making sure things were peaceful. We were in town on vacation / visiting family and we will definately stay here in the future!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familytravels9803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed here as wedding guests for a wedding that was held at the Holiday Inn. Our experience from the beginning was great. The staff in the restaurant were amazing! We checked in with no problems, and the front desk staff were very helpful. The room was clean and a lot larger then we expected. The beds were comfortable, and the noise from the hall was negligable. The only issue that we had was that our travelling companions required a handicap spot for parking.

The hotel only has two spots, both of which were used when we required one. One of the vehicles did not have a disabled pass. Our travelling companions have a heart problem (less than a year ago had had a quad. bi-pass done) and with the heat outside, required a parking spot close to the hotel. When we brought this up to the staff at the front desk, we were originally told that they would look into it. One of the cars in the parking space did not have a permit. In Ontario, you require a permit. When we approached the same individual again a couple of hours later, we were told that they had decided "not to disrupt a guest for our convenience", and that "they decide who gets to park in the disabled spots and that permits don't matter". We were then told that if we wanted to call the police, that we could but that they would not. They were rude and completely un-sympathetic. When we informed some of the other staff about the situation, they told us they'd inform the manager. The next day, the other staff we talked to told us that the people using the parking space did not have a permit, but had appropriate documentation (which is not legal, regardless of documentation) and then proceeded to tell us that the individual was obese. When we checked out, the individual that owned the car was not obese, as they were checking out at the same time. So I'm not sure why the hotel staff was lying about the situation, and why they did not adhere to the law with regards to parking in disabled spots, or why the manager did not approach us personally to appologize for the rude behaviour of their staff.

So even though we had a good experience in the beginning, we were completely disappointed with their complete lack of compassion. Our travelling companions rarely travel because of health issues, and this experience shocked them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank World_travellor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

The Staff was pleasant and happy. The room was the cleanest we have had in years.
The bed not too soft or hard. We enjoyed the entire leisure time here and we only live 2 miles away. Thanks to all at the Holiday Inn, Barrie location smiles sheila and wayne krasowski

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilaK4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

I must say I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I have stayed in the past but not since the renovations. The hotel looked fantastic and the staff were so accommodating with my special requests. We visited the restaurant as the kids ate free and what an awesome experience. We enjoyed the dining room so much that we went back for dinner and had the rib special.
We had the opportunity to use both the indoor and outdoor pool. The outdoor pool was located in the middle of a courtyard which gave the experience of being in a resort even though the hotel is right off the highway.

I would certainly recommend this hotel with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StewartFreeFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
0.5 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 20 Fairview Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre welcomes you to Barrie, Ontario. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is a recently renovated hotel with 161 guest rooms, large indoor swimming pool, fitness centre, hot tub, business centre and Spynn Restaurant. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is located in the central part of Barrie Ontario, close to the business district, entertainment, great shopping, and near-by restaurants. The Holiday Inn is located directly off Highway 400, at Essa Rd. exit, #94. The hotel is located right beside the Mandarin Restaurant in Barrie Ontario. If you are traveling from Pearson Airport we are an hour drive North on Highway 400. Spynn Restaurant is located right on property where kids under 12 eat free when applicable. This full service restaurant serves a full breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Centre offers a "sleep-in" Sunday special to all guests who wish to extend their check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel Barrie
Barrie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing