We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Surprising Stay in Barrie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprising Stay in Barrie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Our hotel stay was great! Check in was easy, the hotel staff at reception were very nice. The lobby is modern and the chairs are comfy. We really appreciated the lemonade and cookies, they were delicious. Our room was very spacious, clean and modern. The pictures on here are exactly the way the hotel is.
While I was waiting for my ride in the lobby, Mat at reception had two difficult situations from two guests. He was very helpful and fixed the situation. The hotel has definitely great staff. The cleaning staff and the restaurant staff are very friendly also. The breakfast was good. The wifi was excellent, the best I have experienced in any hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that over looks the pool and woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jengarrett12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    110
    60
    34
    25
See reviews for
149
73
32
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here last year and liked our stay, so we decided to book again this year.

The rooms are nice and neat, pretty standard for any hotel chain. Complimentary mini bottle of water, and a nice flat screen TV. Bathrooms are up to date and more modern.

The restaurant Tattingers (I think that's how you spell it) has amazing breakfast. Not continental breakfast - real, excellent breakfast, with hot eggs, bacon, sausage, cut up fruits, porridge, pancakes, french toast, as well as yogurts, juices, and milk. Would highly recommend the buffet breakfast, and if possible, get a free breakfast buffet voucher included with your room fee.

If we are in the Barrie area again, we will likely stay here again. We didn't use the pool or fitness area, but it looked not too busy when we passed by there. With the fall-like weather, no one was using the outdoor pool either :) It is a comfortable stay, and we mostly love coming here because the breakfast is so good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel was somewhat nice. The hotel had free breakfast, free wifi, outdoor and indoor pool. The problem about this hotel is that some rooms are smoking room which I don't like. We had to 2 times around the hotel. The first time when we were sleeping I started to smell smoke in the room so I call the front desk to tell them that I smelled smoke so they move me to another room. The second room was even better because there was no smoke at all and this at 1:30 in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. We apologize for the room move, but are glad that we got you into a nicer room. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our yearly family reunion was another success. Thanks to Holiday Inn Barrie for once again going above and beyond. We met many new staff members, even being new they still provided service above and beyond. Savannah and Sandy front desk you both have excellent customer service, our check in was great. Our room once again met all our needs. Our grandkids enjoyed the pool both inside and outside.
We ate in Tattingers and thrilled to see our server Jenny. Met new Server Kristy. Once again awesome service, friendly smile, the grandkids love her. Food was plentiful, although we did miss fresh fruit on breakfast buffet, we have always had fresh strawberries and blueberries and this visit both mornings this was not seen. We saw a big difference in Breakfast Buffet, sparse. Most definitely missed the Prime Rib Buffet, but we were informed bigger and better menu is forthcoming. Thanks again Holiday Inn Barrie.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Than you so much for your kind review. We pride ourselves in the level of service that we offer here and are happy to hear that you had the chance to meet some of our newer staff. We look forward to seeing some familiar faces next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The service at this hotel was great! The front desk agent was very friendly and helpful. We asked for extra towels and housekeeping had them to us within minutes (faster service than I have seen in many luxury hotels). The kids loved the pool! In the past we have stayed at other hotels in Barrie, but this is by far the best one yet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments! We were delighted to have you stay with us, and are glad that you enjoyed the pool. Prompt service is very important to us here, and are glad that our team was able to help you out as quick as possible. We look forward to your next visit at the Holiday Inn Barrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colborne, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. They were able to accommodate our party of five in one room which some hotels will not. We asked for a late check in and a cot to be added to the room and everything was ready for us when we arrived late and tired from a long trip.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rebeccah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It was nice to get the family out of the house and out of the heat at the same time by having a little "weekend getaway" at this hotel. The night we stayed was pleasant, and the kids loved swimming in the massive outdoor pool!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
1.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 20 Fairview Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre welcomes you to Barrie, Ontario. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is a recently renovated hotel with 161 guest rooms, large indoor swimming pool, fitness centre, hot tub, business centre and Spynn Restaurant. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is located in the central part of Barrie Ontario, close to the business district, entertainment, great shopping, and near-by restaurants. The Holiday Inn is located directly off Highway 400, at Essa Rd. exit, #94. The hotel is located right beside the Mandarin Restaurant in Barrie Ontario. If you are traveling from Pearson Airport we are an hour drive North on Highway 400. Spynn Restaurant is located right on property where kids under 12 eat free when applicable. This full service restaurant serves a full breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Centre offers a "sleep-in" Sunday special to all guests who wish to extend their check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel Barrie
Barrie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing