We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Jeff "Training" at the Front Desk, was exceptional to us!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jeff "Training" at the Front Desk, was exceptional to us!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for my twins 16th birthday, we were not happy with our room in the old part, so we went back to the front desk and Jeff was there, he was so polite, happy, and helpful. He gave us another room on the 4th floor in the Tower. The room was perfect, my twins were so happy. Jeff actually made our trip and stay a success. After getting our new room, we went swimming, used the hot tub, and sauna, it was so fun. And because of Jeff we will be sure to stay at the Hotel again. Jeff is an asset to this Hotel and I was sure to stop in the morning to tell him and the Manager of the Hotel as well. It was a pleasure talking to both of them in the morning. Thanks again Jeff for everything.

Room Tip: My Family prefers to stay in the new Tower, it was excellent there and I will stay again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review on Trip Advisor, we look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    118
    61
    35
    28
See reviews for
153
80
32
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel last minute ( the day of ) and paid for a standard queen bed room. When we got there at 10pm the lady at the desk informed us that she had upgraded us to the executive room simply because that is what was available. Excellent customer service. No complainig there. It was a little roudy with some of the guests in the pool but it was a Friday night to be fair. Room is spacious, clean and modern. Nice bathroom sink. Microwave and fridge in room. The only complaint would have to be the air conditioner in the room. Every once in a while it would make a very loud noise and wake me up. Maybe they could have this looked in to. The different pillows (soft and firm) was a nice touch. Very happy with my stay here at a great price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nitachia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We reserved a King-size bed nonsmoking room. We arrived and we noticed the nice hotel-looking tower of rooms but also an 'L' shaped 3-storey bank of rooms surrounding the pool and courtyard. Unfortunately that’s where my room was located. Some people do enjoy a room on the floor lever, easy access etc. I am not one of those people. We entered the room, and it was a little worn-out and undesirable (plus next to the ice machine and entryway) However the saving grace was we went right back to the front desk and asked for something in the tower instead. We got a room in the tower, (4th floor) at the same price and only gave up a king size bed for a queen. This room was much nicer with a nicer view and no chance of people walking by our room.

So if planning a visit make sure to ask for a tower room instead of the, for lack of a better term, motel room.

Room Tip: Make sure you include in your reservation to be in the Tower (executive suites)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for you comments!!! We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great experience! We really enjoyed our two day adventure. Had a room with a balcony that overlooked the outdoor pool and gardens. Able to sit outside and enjoy the fantastic weather. The outdoor pool was a great bonus. Location was great for us. A short drive to the outlets in Cookstown and to Wasaga Beach. Staff were very friendly. The fridge in the room was convenient for travelling with children. Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VAUGHAN, ONTARIO
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in July based on the glowing reviews, I can honestly say these reviews are legit. Very clean full service hotel with outstanding Customer service. My room on the top floor of the executive tower was very well appointed, clean and quiet. Full service restaurant on site was a bonus, enjoyed being able to have a late night drink without leaving the hotel. Wi-fi was sufficient, two pools one inside and out we're both very crowded so I didn't bother. Great location close to highway with Tim Hortons, Pizza Hut, etc, within walking distance. If in Barrie again this Holiday Inn would definitely be my first choice!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leafs_Country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary review. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Every year a group of Antique Car and Hot Rod enthusiasts meet and go on tour with our cars. This year there were about 75 cars met at the Barrie Holiday Inn, and that was our "home base"for the log weekend. We can't say enough about the great service and friendly atmosphere and cleanliness at our hotel.Accommodations were very well appointed,and the restaurant had great food. Paul, the chef was AMAZING... He came out to chat with some of us about the cars- told us about his Dad's old car he bought during his time of service in UK. Jennie was our server in the restaurant,and she was very efficient, and was a great sport.We had a banquet on Sunday night and everything was beyond our expectations. Even the cleaning staff greeted us in the halls,and asked how we enjoyed our stay. We will always stay there now when we goto the Barrie swap meet- which has been a semi annual event we have gone to for nearly 40 years, because the service was that exceptional. Thanks everyone. For a hotel stay- it really was out of the ordinary in a great way!!!!! See you soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
The Holiday Inn Barrie is very pleased to know your experience with the Holiday Inn was an exceptional one. We look forward to having the Canadian Hot Rod tour back the next time they are in Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Don't get me wrong: it was a nice stay. The front desk staff were nice, and the guys came pretty quickly to fix our slow-draining shower. The breakfast, if you so choose to have the price of it included in your daily room rate, is phenomenal. By far the best breakfast at a hotel I've encountered! There are two pools, an outdoor and an indoor, which were relatively quiet when we were there.

The rooms are a bit older than you'd expect, especially when they claim to have been "newly renovated". But honestly, the beds were comfortable, the breakfast was good, the bathroom was spacious and clean. You need to make your own sofa bed, which I didn't mind.

There apparently, over the last month or so, has been an issue with someone pulling the fire alarm in the middle of the night. In our case, at 3 in the morning! It only happened once, and it really wasn't the hotels fault. But, know that the front desk staff has acknowledged that it has happened before.

The location, if you have a car, is awesome. Right off the 400. However, if you're on foot, the only places nearby are a Timmies, a Sushi place, and a Wendy's just down the street. No shopping, unless you want to have a good trek up Essa to get to it.

But I will definitely come here again in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claudia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIBARIIE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review. The Holiday Inn Barrie is pleased to hear you had such a pleasant stay. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 20 Fairview Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre welcomes you to Barrie, Ontario. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is a recently renovated hotel with 161 guest rooms, large indoor swimming pool, fitness centre, hot tub, business centre and Spynn Restaurant. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is located in the central part of Barrie Ontario, close to the business district, entertainment, great shopping, and near-by restaurants. The Holiday Inn is located directly off Highway 400, at Essa Rd. exit, #94. The hotel is located right beside the Mandarin Restaurant in Barrie Ontario. If you are traveling from Pearson Airport we are an hour drive North on Highway 400. Spynn Restaurant is located right on property where kids under 12 eat free when applicable. This full service restaurant serves a full breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Centre offers a "sleep-in" Sunday special to all guests who wish to extend their check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel Barrie
Barrie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing