We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

From first impressions I understand how this hotel is rated 2nd for Barrie. To lobby is new, modern and clean which is likely why the room was such as disappointment. My room was dated, dated, dated. It appeared clean but I had to wonder because of all the fruit flies in it. The patio door for my room had a lock that was missing one of the 2 screws to keep the mechanism fixed to the door and I'm sure a good tug would have broken it. Scary for a first floor room. The ceiling in my room had a hole in it. Yup, you read right, a hole. It was about 18" in diameter and the ceiling sagged all around it. I'm pretty sure it was water damage and I'm also pretty sure it had been there a while. The chain for the front door was too short to secure into the lock on the door also - the room was a disaster to say the least. I have stayed at cheap no name motels with nicer rooms. Gag. The bed was comfortable and I appreciated the choice of firm or soft pillows.
The only saving grace of this dive in disguise was the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the only reason I gave this place a two stars. My advice...stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeartMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofsalesHW, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We were pleased that you liked the lobby which was part of our multi-million renovation. However we were concerned about the feedback regarding the room and looked into this immediately. Actually there was water damage on the ceiling from an air conditioning unit in the room above and these matters are currently being fixed. The patio door and the chain on the door were immediately fixed. We do take pride in maintaining our hotel to high standards and thank you for bringing this to our attention, even though we are dissapointed in the review. Thank you also for your comments about the restaurant. We do hope that you will stay again and give us the chance to offer you the fantastic experience we would like you to have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    125
    61
    36
    28
See reviews for
157
82
33
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The location and the sevice was EXCELLENT!! The Manager MR. Don Buckle was very helpful along withhis staff CHeryl at the front desk was great I would and WILL go back to this loation as it was very clean!!!

GREAT JOB keep it up and see you soon again!!!!!

Room Tip: The staff at this location was vey helpful!! The Manager Mr.Don Buckle was very helpful along with C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Toronto_CanadaDal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here 2 times, once in the executive tower and once in regular rooms. I would stay here again but only in the tower. I loved the heated floor in the bathroom. Not the friendliest people at the front desk for either of my visits, but I didn't let that ruin my day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuvsBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed the evening of August 17, 2012 for one night. We had booked a king non-smoking room. I was writing an exam Friday night and all day Saturday and was concerned that the noise from the highway might interfere with my sleep. I emailed them about my concern, and the General Manager quickly emailed me back informing me he had booked us a room on the inner court side, away from the elevator.

We stayed in the executive tower that overlooked the court/pool/garden, and it was very quiet and exactly what we needed! The room was clean, modern and comfortable (and no smell of cigarette smoke anywhere).

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of the executive tower, facing the court. This is where I would book again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tropicgal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were fortunate in booking with the Holiday Inn on Fairview Road, in Barrie for the reception celebration for our daughter's wedding on August 18th, 2012. We found the service was excptional. Shinto Joseph, Food & Beverage Manager was absolutely fabulous with the assistance he provided us with the reception planning, meal selection, and he went out of his way to assist us with the decorating of the hall, setting up tables and assisted in every aspect of the set up. Shinto was on duty the night of our event and checked in several times to see if we needed anything. The wedding reception was a hugh success and I atribute some of that success to the efforts of Shino and his staff at the Holiday Inn, Barrie. I would recommend this location for any event, the service was outstanding!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bettye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofsalesHW, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review we work hard to ensure that your special day goes well and that we can live up to our motto "Magical Memories Start Here". Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I found the rooms and the service to be excellent. Tattingers the in hotel restaurant was excellent. Paul the chef was excellent the food was artful and fresh. The presentation was colourful and I would say the food was sculpted.... Not just food on a plate it was placed with care and made to visually be appealing. The taste was excellent we had 5 dinner at our table and every one of them was beautifully presented and amazon gong fresh and tasty. If I lived closer I would go just for the restaurant. The wait staff were very attentive and when asked about recommendations had extensive knowledge about the me u Nd wine a real pleasure to dine.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Drgnflyz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofsalesHW, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you, what a lovely review about the restaurant. Paul is new to our kitchen and certainly does take great pride in the presentation of meals. We will pass the feedback on to him. Thank you also for your comments about service, we enjoy hearing that we have succeeded in our mission!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Booked online 2 doubles non-smoking. My only real complaint was that the hotel puts smoking and non-smoking rooms in the same wing. Pools were great for the kid. Location was perfect for the 400. Room was clean.

Room Tip: Ask to be in a non-smoking wing without any pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
0.5 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 20 Fairview Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre welcomes you to Barrie, Ontario. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is a recently renovated hotel with 161 guest rooms, large indoor swimming pool, fitness centre, hot tub, business centre and Spynn Restaurant. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is located in the central part of Barrie Ontario, close to the business district, entertainment, great shopping, and near-by restaurants. The Holiday Inn is located directly off Highway 400, at Essa Rd. exit, #94. The hotel is located right beside the Mandarin Restaurant in Barrie Ontario. If you are traveling from Pearson Airport we are an hour drive North on Highway 400. Spynn Restaurant is located right on property where kids under 12 eat free when applicable. This full service restaurant serves a full breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Centre offers a "sleep-in" Sunday special to all guests who wish to extend their check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel Barrie
Barrie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing