We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Food was Excellent, Room Great! A well run hotel nicely located within Barrie Ontario

The Sunday Brunch was to die for !

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skeohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 543 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

Have stayed for business and pleasue at the Barrie property sevearl times ove the past few years. Love the new decor in the rooms, and the changes and architecture in the Tattingers Restaurant and lobby.

Friendliest staff we have ever encountered!! (Jenny S. is a treasure!!

Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jbnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

My Family and I just spent a wonderful night at this newly renovated hotel. We were in the area to do some skiing at one of the local ski hills and thought lets make a night out of it as well. The rooms were large enough for the 4 of us and all of our gear as well. The kids loved the pool and hot tub and it was the perfect way to end a very cold day on the ski hills. What we enjoyed most about the hotel was the staff! Everywhere we went there was a friendly smile and a welcoming hello and the staff taking the time to listen to our kids stories of the day. We did not have time to enjoy the restaurant this trip but we are looking forward to a return trip over March Break and we will be there for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank familyfun083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I'd like to start off by saying the service I have received from the Holiday Inn has been great. The location of the hotel is easy to get to as it is right off the highway and very close to being around all the amenities you may need. If you have the chance to experience the food at the restaurant, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonSays_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

My husband & I stayed with our 3 children..8, 12 and 16....plenty of room for all of us. The pool is kinda small but at least there is one. Beware if you’re traveling for peace and quiet during the winter season. The hotel was jammed full with young hockey teams with the children unattended playing soccer in the hallways and the parents going from room to room with a beer in their hand. I'm sure if I called the front desk it would of been addressed but I didn't personally mind. And it didn't stop us from sleeping..., well sound proof rooms... but it did stop us from going for a swim until after 10pm. I didn't change in the change room but my 16 yr old did and he said they were dirty. The pool was over full with children....luckily we love kids but I don't think others who want calmness would appreciate it. However...all, in my opinion would looove the food! The buffet had more than enough to choose from, hot, fresh and excellent value and quick service. We sat down right away and even though it was buffet our waitress was very attentive. It wasn't full, my guess is that the hockey parents went for the MacDonald budget menu nearby. We loved how close to everything the hotel is located. We tried out the SnowValley Tubing.....oh my gosh!!! Intimidating...and beware of the loooong line up! It took us 2 hrs. for 4 slides down the hill! We paid for 4 hrs upon arriving but the wait wasn't worth another 2 hrs...we left. Would do again but maybe not on a long weekend..."Family Day".

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamanceforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectorofsalesHW, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Barrie. We are glad you were able to enjoy all our hotel has to offer. The food here is amazing! Thank you for mentioning that. I believe our indoor pool is the largest of any hotel in Barrie but I imagine it does look smaller with the many people swimming as you mention on your weekend here. It was a busy weekend throughout Barrie and all the hotels would have had lots of sports teams. There are a handful of weekends that are similarly busy like that as we are lucky to have great hockey business in the winter. However certainly some weekends are quieter and we would love to welcome you back to perhaps enjoy a calmer experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Not on is this hotel a Holiday Inn so you know what to expect (all being great) but it has a fantastic restaurant. We ski in Barrie & spend time at the beach in the summer and we always stay here. The restaurant within, Tattingers Lounge, has a fantastic menu and the food is amazing. The other great item about the restaurant is kids eat free with no catch. Up to 4 children with a registered guest. Usally it's 1 child per entree but not here. I have 3 children & it makes a big difference. Also the children's meals are very fresh and include fresh vegetables. The staff here just make it very worthwhile. We enjoy staying and eating at this location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John1234499250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This hotel is right off the highway in Barrie and very easy to find: Visible from the highway and beside the Mandarin. Our stay was great. There is a lot of parking (more around back) and several access/entry points into the building. One of the best things about the hotel is the restaurant: Tattinger's. On the night of our stay, there was a buffet for $20 person/adult. It was not huge (like the Mandarin next door), but I would highly recommend it. First, you can't beat the price. Second, it's on sight, but not in a highly-trafficked/busy area: It definitely feels like a restaurant, not a "hotel restaurant". Third, the food was delicious!!! On the night we were there, they were featuring mouthwatering roast beef, yorkshire pudding, horseradish - the whole bit. My wife does not eat beef or pork and she was more than happy with delicious homemade salads (potato, seafood, pasta, green), veggies (raw and steamed), rice, chicken, soup, breads and desserts. The restaurant is really cozy with a giant fireplace on one wall and tables far enough apart that you still feel private during dinner. There is also a fairly big bar/lounge and we were able to watch some sports afterwards and have a few drinks. If we are going to Barrie again - or skiing somewhere near Barrie, for instance - we will absolutely be staying and eating here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ocean1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenWHIBarrie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.5 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
1.4 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 20 Fairview Rd, Barrie, Ontario L4N 4P3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range: $99 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre welcomes you to Barrie, Ontario. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is a recently renovated hotel with 161 guest rooms, large indoor swimming pool, fitness centre, hot tub, business centre and Spynn Restaurant. The Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel and Conference Centre is located in the central part of Barrie Ontario, close to the business district, entertainment, great shopping, and near-by restaurants. The Holiday Inn is located directly off Highway 400, at Essa Rd. exit, #94. The hotel is located right beside the Mandarin Restaurant in Barrie Ontario. If you are traveling from Pearson Airport we are an hour drive North on Highway 400. Spynn Restaurant is located right on property where kids under 12 eat free when applicable. This full service restaurant serves a full breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Holiday Inn Hotel and Conference Centre offers a "sleep-in" Sunday special to all guests who wish to extend their check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel Barrie
Barrie Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing