We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar

Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar
Ranked #7 of 499 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: Fusion, Wine Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: "Fun and relaxed service with a casual flair and exceptional food. Located on Yonge Street, close to the water and downtown core, this upscale restaurant features contemporary cuisine and an extensive wine list in a casual but fine dining atmosphere. Beside their beautiful patio, there's even an on-site garden where there's a good chance you see the chefs picking fresh veggies and herbs for your meal. Open for lunch 6 days a week and dinner for 7, they promise to provide a dining experience with such superior service and food that you will want to return soon. Reservations for lunch or dinner are always recommended...don't be surprised if they're full at lunch on a Wednesday! If you haven't been there at all or even a while...call and make reservations. They accept reservations from 11:30am until 9 pm and you just might find you have a new favourite spot in town."
bradford
Level Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went for barrielicous. Had the salmon. Was cooked to perfection . Tender, juicy, served hot. Had sweet potato pepper fries as an appetizer---awesome. Ended the meal with pear crisp.This is the second time I have been there. On both occasions the salmon was presented and cooked excellent. No complaints from me. Was very happy with the meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, Owner at Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We're glad you took the time to review us! One of the owner's personal favourites is our new salmon dish and I'm glad you felt the same. :)
The chefs are happy that you had nothing to complain about but the servers noticed your 3/5 rating for them! ;) Please, let us know if there are ways to improve the service next time you're in. They're quite a competitive team and we all appreciate the time our guests take to review us! Thanks again and we sure hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    43
    12
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday outing with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

So pleased with great service as well as best food , generous well served eye catching appeal plated nicely
My choice is always the same , Beef Dip Prime Rib mouth watering tender pilled high Swiss cheese, Mushrooms MMMMM !
On this special day the desert for the birthday person is Free ! great choices to pick from any day ,
All given best of care to be great place to go patio as well , drinks are cold and no hurry to be gone. Thanks to all .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenLeGallais, Owner at Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, February 15, 2015
We're so glad you enjoyed everything! Thank you for coming to Urban Dish to celebrate your birthday. We can't wait to have you again and to show you our new and improved patio! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for giving us 5 stars. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would not return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Why pay to dine out when one can cook better themselves! It is very expensive so I expect crazy fox quality. ..... This is not it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationgirlBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, Owner at Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are disappointed that your meal was below your high standards. A few of us would love to dine at your humble abode if you can cook us up a meal like that! ;) Seriously, though, your review didn't tell us much except that you're partial to The Crazy Fox (one of my personal favourites, as well). Urban Dish actually values constructive criticism and a chance to make amends. We ARE only human and it isn't always easy to please every guest, of course. We are truly sorry you thought it overpriced but can assure you that we purchase the highest quality wines, cuts of meat, and freshest produce. Some of which come from our own garden on site.
Again, we apologize and hope you enjoy your future meals wherever you choose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Redeemed and thank you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a bit of a negative experience here on New Years Eve. The owner, Jennifer, got in touch, explained that there were some major problems that day with the food truck, and offered us a gift certificate to return and try Urban Dish once more.

When we returned we were treated like royalty, got all kinds of special extra attention, and our steaks were perfectly cooked. Thank you for working so hard and making sure we had a great experience. I am sure that it is far from easy to keep every customer happy, so thank you once again for going out of your way for us. We will be back! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alex1012hearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, Owner at Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for the second chance and review! We aim to please and are thankful you understand that everyone can have an off day or run into problems outside their control. We always appreciate the opportunity to right our wrongs. :)
Hope to see you soon, and thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Food was excellent as always. Service was terrific. Always willing to accomodate the one Vegetarian in our family with grace and terrific food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer L, Owner at Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Urban Dish! And we're happy you were pleased with your meals...the chefs can usually accommodate different dietary needs and think of it as a challenge sometimes. We're very glad you and your guests enjoyed everything and we hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Urban Dish Grill & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing