We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“GREAT PLACE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Staff is very friendly, we arrived earlier than regular check in time and the front counter staff advised us that they would have our room made up next and it would only be about a half hour wait. We left and came back in half hour and the room was indeed ready!! Room was spacious and very clean. Bed was very comfortable.

Would recommend this hotel if staying in the Barrie, Ontario area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay and providing feedback. We are especially glad to see that you would recommend our hotel!

I am glad you found our room clean with a comfortable bed.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again when you are in the Barrie Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    114
    51
    26
    32
See reviews for
91
124
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Look for other options. Cocky front staff, elevator didn't work (staying on the 4th floor), stayed in the Romeo and Juliet suite - only room left in entire area) - 2 windows with no curtains so lots of light from the sun or from the floodlights at night / tv on the same wall as sofa / 1remote for 2 tv's( for 4 people this is strange) / sofa bed virtually no mattress. They don't just take a credit card authorization, they actually charge an extra $200 on your credit card. Nice sign in the bathroom that they check daily and will charge for damages.
No apologies or assistance relating to the lack of elevator.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We would like to sincerely apologize for the elevator repairs that were taking place during the time of your stay. Unfortunately it happened during one of the busiest times on the busiest weekend and we were unable to provide guests with the help that we had hoped due to the lack of notice.
Our hotel does indeed take a pre-authorization rather than a charge upon check in. Though the amount is held on your card, we do not fully receive the amount prior to check out, when the credit card is then charged. We apologize if there was any confusion regarding this and we will ensure our from desk staff are able to better explain this procedure to guests.
Thank you once again for taking the time to let us know of your experiences at our hotel and we do hope you can afford us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Timmins
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Don't let the fact that it's so close to the highway deter, we stayed with our young children and did not hear the cars even once. The hotel is well kept and very clean. I was quite surprised as their rates aren't all that pricy and you would think the quality would suffer. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Levek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay and providing feedback.

I am very pleased that you found our staff friendly and the hotel very clean.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you would return again and recommend our hotel, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Had a wonderful honeymoon at this hotel, it was very clean and the staff very friendly, had to stay close to home as we had a young daughter and I was pregnant. We had a two floor suite that was breathtaking and very clean. We were even treated to chocolate covered strawberry's and wine on our first night. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennykins09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay and feedback.

I am very pleased that you found our hotel to be a great place to stay, and glad you enjoyed the wine and strawberries in our Romoe and Juliet Suite.

We are very pleased to know that you would stay here again, and look forward to welcoming you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Our Son was beeing married and we visted a few hotels in Barrie to see if we could pre book some rooms for the out of town guests so that we could also have a visit with them. Monte Carlo Inn was more than accomodating blocking off a rooms at a special price and notifiying us when the final date was coming close etc . Rooms were great kids enjoyed the pool as did some of the adults although a little small. They have a great restaurant for dining and breakfast was good. They are very welcoming and helpful. all the guests really enjoyed the stay.. Rooms were well equiped very clean and well temperature controlled to your liking
Thanks it made the wedding that much better

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and providing your feedback.

I am pleased to learn that you found our staff accommodating, welcoming and helpful. I will be sure to pass along your comments to all of our staff.

Thank you for visiting, and we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last night while in Barrie. Booked it on Expedia for 111.00 tax in. Greeted at front desk in a more business manner then friendly one. Didn't bother to ask if first time here which it was. Breakfast required a trip back to the front desk in the morning for vouchers. Room was advertised as a suite. Small compared to other hotels for similar money. Room was clean as was bathroom. A little noisy early am on first floor. Overall a reasonable place to stay for one night. Internet was only fair to poor connection. Breakfast was meger at best. No hot food unless you paid an additional 4.99 for bacon and eggs. Overall would not stay here again with the Best western and others nearby for similar money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fox4ster25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and providing your feedback.

I am glad that you found you room to be clean.

I am sorry that you did not find out staff as friendly as they could have been. It is our goal that all of our guests recieve the highest level possible of hospitality and comfort during thier stay and it concerns me greatly when this does not happen. I will be sure to review your comments with our staff in an effort to improve to better meet the needs of our guests.

Thank you for providing your feedback, I do hope we can welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suits and was blown away. We stayed in the Romeo and Juliet Suit and couldn't have been more happy and impressed! Our room was very clean, the salt water pool was decent, on the small side. The complimentary breakfast was okay, wish there was more then cereals, muffins, and breads, pastries,. Overall we both enjoyed our time there. Money well spend in our opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Carlo Inn M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your recent visit and providing feedback.

I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your time in our Romoe and Juliet Suite!

We look forward to being able to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
12.1 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#9 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Property: Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
Address: 81 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites is conveniently situated on the southeast corner of Hwy 400 and Dunlop, at 81 Hart Drive and minutes from downtown Barrie, Parklands, Beaches, Ski Resorts and local attractions. Whether your needs are strickly business or mainly pleasure, our facility offers all the luxury, functionality, comfort and value you would expect from a Monte Carlo Inn. With a fully licensed restaurant, indoor salt water pool, free parking, recently upgraded free wi-fi, complimentary continental breakfast, comprehensive meeting facilities and a long list of amenities, our hospitality centre will epitomize the meaning of "Your Home Away From Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Hotel Barrie
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing