We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at Par with competition (holiday inn express)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Makati, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Not at Par with competition (holiday inn express)”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Normally if i am travelling, my wife and i enjoy the simple amenities of the Holiday inn Express brand but this weekend, the local barrie branch was booked solid so i booked a 2nd choice, this Monte Carlo inn, figuring it would be similar as the price was the same. What is not the same is our room was tiny, about half the size of the same priced room over at holiday inn express (room #101 which barely fits a bed), and the 'free breakfast' is a 'continental breakfast' which consists of apples, toast, peanut butter and coffee. If you want a hot breakfast, you have to Pay $3.95 for an 'upgrade'. We had to leave a security deposit over and above the check in charge and one person brought a tim hortons cup to breakfast and was asked to leave. The room was tiny but the bed & pillows was nice and i admit i had a nice sleep however it just seems that Everything about this hotel was just a bit backwards and defensive, with threats to charge the customers at any excuse possible. Won't be staying here again unless there is No other choice. The location is good, near downtown barrie, just off the highway, easily accessible.

Room Tip: Stay at Holiday inn Express instead if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCI_Manager, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear JeffJ,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not what you had expected. Our breakfast in the dinging room does have more than the 5 items you had listed. Yes, it is indeed a continental breakfast but it is advertised that way. We have specialized the full upgraded cook-to-order hot breakfast upgrade to accommodate those who wish to have a hot hearty meal in the morning. This is not just eggs in a warming dish but it is prepared with great pride from our head chef for a great rate of $3.95. Unfortunately because this is an actual dining room we cannot let outside food & beverage to be consumed in this area like any other restaurant. We welcome you to visit us again the next time you are in the area. If we may be of any additional assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Warm Regards,
Meagan Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    169
    82
    39
    43
See reviews for
137
191
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We unfortunately stayed at this hotel at the same time as a hockey tournament for kids. First of all kids will be kids. But the hotel should notify people of such a booking and possibly make arrangements to have other patrons on a separate floor. I met with others who were spread across the hotel complaining of the same issues. Children were running up and down the always knocking on doors, shouting and exhausting the elevator. We were woken between 6 630 Sat morning after a very late night event by children playing hockey in the hallway with ice cubes, by the way were are the parents? question asked by many, When later discussing this with front desk she acknowledge the issue stating that it was worst a week ago but no form of compensation offered, We had booked this room in order to be able to attend a late night event with hopes of sleeping in but were unfortunately woken three and a half hrs, later,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chas63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCI_Manager, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Chas63
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We apologize for your poor nights sleep. There is nothing worse than not feeling rested in the morning. I’m sure if the Front Desk was made aware of your concerns that night they would have made an effort to quiet the children and give warnings to the parents responsible. Its disappointing to know that other patrons of the hotel did not have consideration for their fellow guests. Should you want to come back to Monte Carlo Inn & Conference Centre we would be happy to advise you if there is a hockey tournament in town.

Thanks again for your review. We hope next time you are in Barrie, you will choose to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,
Meagan Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

got into the room around six pm and found the room was cold...turned on the wall mounted heater to 76 degrees fahrenheit and came back two hours and room was still cold...heater was turned to the highest but all that came out of the heater was air...so i tried to take a bath but the stopper would not go down..i pulled it up and there was this clump of long hair mixed with who knows what...since i was still in the tub i had to clean it...was kind of disgusting...cleaning it with a pen...

Room Tip: check bathroom plugs before staying
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCI_Manager, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Greggeo,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the difficulties you faced while staying at Monte Carlo Inn & Conference Centre Barrie. As a family run hotel in business for over 30 years, we take complaints very seriously and we were pleased to offer you a discounted room rate and an upgrade to make your stay more enjoyable.

If you consider returning, please contact me and I would like to offer you an upgraded room for your next stay in Barrie.

Kind regards,
Tracey Power
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Banff National Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very reasonable price especially considering we just walked in without any reservations. Met and exceeded our expectations, very clean hotel and absolutely well furnished / decorated. We had a wonderful stay, paid extra for a hot breakfast but it was worth it.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the elevator, yet we were not disturbed at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnDNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This seems to be a typical older upscale hotel that might be a bit pass it’s prime, but it’s very nice. It’s actually a small convention center. Nicer than average rooms. Breakfast was a coupon to the restaurant buffet which was about on par with typical midscale free breakfasts. For a little extra you could order a hot breakfast. Staff was courteous, easy access, plenty of parking, small pool inside. Really short drive to restaurants etc. but not really walkable. I would definitely stay here again. I can’t imagine a much nicer place for the general price range.

Room Tip: This hotel is in a relatively quiet area so all the rooms are probably quiet. My room was the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCNDWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night while taking part in some activities at the Horshoe Resort which was only a 15-minute drive away. It is very reasonably priced and located walking distance to a Tim Hortons, Pizza Nova, and a convenience store.

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was very friendly and made sure we were taken care of. The room was very clean with WiFi included.

If you're looking for a simple hotel in Barrie, I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirazk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a clean well run hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful. It is reasonably priced. The only negative is the breakfast is just adequate. Have had much better continental breakfasts at several other chains. Coffee should be complimentary 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: Traffic noise can be sometimes be a problem if you are at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 19 in Barrie
172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites

Property: Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Address: 81 Hart Dr | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites™ is conveniently situated on the southeast corner of Hwy 400 and Dunlop, at 81 Hart Drive and minutes from downtown Barrie, Parklands, Beaches, Ski Resorts and local attractions. Whether your needs are strickly business or mainly pleasure, our facility offers all the luxury, functionality, comfort and value you would expect from a Monte Carlo Inn. With a fully licensed restaurant, indoor salt water pool, free parking, recently upgraded free wi-fi, complimentary continental breakfast, comprehensive meeting facilities and a long list of amenities, our hospitality centre will epitomize the meaning of "Your Home Away From Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Hotel Barrie
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing