We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This property is my first choice when visiting Barrie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Trenton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“This property is my first choice when visiting Barrie”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Several members of our family stayed at the Monte Carlo Inn when we visited Barrie for a family wedding shortly after the hotel opened. I chose it again last year when in town on business. When I arrived this past week, I was very impressed with the condition of the building, realizing that it's not easy to keep a hotel in "like-new" condition, year after year. My room was well-appointed and there were no signs of wear - the bathroom's condition was as if the hotel had opened last month. I enjoyed the friendly, helpful interaction with the front desk people and we all had some fun when I locked myself out of my room as I was loading and unloading study materials from my car. As I was paying my compliments to the front office staff, I was given a copy of the Monte Carlo Inns corporate brochure - I've decided to join their incentive program and I'm going to check out their other properties which are conveniently located in several of my other business destinations. I'm going back to the Monte Carlo Inn in Barrie next week and I'm going to enjoy that complimentary breakfast again - only this time, I'm going to take advantage of my host's offer of hot oatmeal - I was very impressed with her desire to help.

Room Tip: My room looked out on the parking near the main entrance. I appreciated being able to look out at m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    169
    82
    39
    43
See reviews for
137
191
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have worked in hotels before, and know what it takes to deliver an excellent guest experience. This hotel did not fulfill that. The pool is minuscule, the photos over exaggerate it to look bigger than it is. My bed had black and brown flecks in the sheets. But I can overlook the facilities, however the front desk staff were horrendous. One woman who checked us in was rude, and unpleasant. When we asked a question about our booking (we booked through another site) she was incredibly rude and short with my father. He was merely asking a question and she snapped at him twice during his check in. I later called down to ask for an extra blanket and she responded with "I guess so" Incredibly rude and made me feel as if I was putting the staff out for asking questions about charges from the room and needing an extra blanket because the rooms were freezing. I am usually VERY accommodating as I myself have worked front desk before, but this was unpleasant. NOT worth the money. Stay in a friendlier hotel with better amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneG90_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Guelph, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed one night at the Monte Carlo while helping our son move to Barrie. While check-in time is nominally 3:00 p.m, don't count on it. We attempted to check in at 4:00 p.m. but our junior suite was not ready yet. (I noticed another couple at check-in whose room was also not yet ready.) About an hour later, with our junior suite still not ready, we gave in and opted for a regular room. Through it all, however, the clerk was pleasant and tried to be helpful. The room itself was quite nice. It was clean, the bedding comfortable, and the building (and room) seemed quite well insulated against noise. The cost of the room was a little less than we might have paid at another chain. (I do suspect that they may be achieving their lower prices by making do with fewer cleaning staff, leading to rooms being ready late.) Breakfast was adequate. I would stay there again, if I needed a hotel in Barrie - but I would probably count on checking in closer to 5:00 than to 3:00 p.m.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked the Monte Carlo Inn as we found it listed as the highest-rated hotel in the area, rather than any previous experience with the brand or personal recommendation. And I'm pleased to say it has met expectations. The staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms are large and comfortable, and the free continental breakfast is very welcome.

As locations go, it looks like all the hotels are on this same stretch of road so while it isn't ideally located if you don't have a car, it isn't unique to this hotel.

While Barrie isn't somewhere I would necessarily recommend visiting, if you are coming to the city and need a place to stay, the Monte Carlo Inn is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feverdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here on a solo trip. It was very quite and comfortable. The staff was very nice and friendly, the restaurant was a great stop for an drink. The price was great!
I would stay at any monte carlo hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoescape79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had to make a trip to Toronto and stayed the night here to visit with friends in the area. Because it was only one night and prices were good I got the king sunrise jacuzzi suit. I had a great sleep and got a kick out of how you had a tv you could see from the tub, that was nice cause I was alone and it gave me some relax time. The room was at the end of the hall and nice and clean and quite. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getawaygirl467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Have stayed at the Monte Carlo Barrie Suites several times over the past two years and every time have enjoyed excellent service, a great sleep and a convenient overnight. The price can not be beat anywhere in the Barrie area for the cleanliness of room, attentive and professional staff, extremely comfortable mattress (I have a bad back), nice room amenities, convenient parking and extreme convenience to the highway. The staff was even kind enough to hang on to something I'd left in the room until I returned over two weeks later. I will be staying there again soon!!

Room Tip: I have never requested any special room and have not been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 19 in Barrie
172 reviews
1.7 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites

Property: Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Address: 81 Hart Dr | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites™ is conveniently situated on the southeast corner of Hwy 400 and Dunlop, at 81 Hart Drive and minutes from downtown Barrie, Parklands, Beaches, Ski Resorts and local attractions. Whether your needs are strickly business or mainly pleasure, our facility offers all the luxury, functionality, comfort and value you would expect from a Monte Carlo Inn. With a fully licensed restaurant, indoor salt water pool, free parking, recently upgraded free wi-fi, complimentary continental breakfast, comprehensive meeting facilities and a long list of amenities, our hospitality centre will epitomize the meaning of "Your Home Away From Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Hotel Barrie
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing