We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there again, despite check-in problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed one night at the Monte Carlo while helping our son move to Barrie. While check-in time is nominally 3:00 p.m, don't count on it. We attempted to check in at 4:00 p.m. but our junior suite was not ready yet. (I noticed another couple at check-in whose room was also not yet ready.) About an hour later, with our junior suite still not ready, we gave in and opted for a regular room. Through it all, however, the clerk was pleasant and tried to be helpful. The room itself was quite nice. It was clean, the bedding comfortable, and the building (and room) seemed quite well insulated against noise. The cost of the room was a little less than we might have paid at another chain. (I do suspect that they may be achieving their lower prices by making do with fewer cleaning staff, leading to rooms being ready late.) Breakfast was adequate. I would stay there again, if I needed a hotel in Barrie - but I would probably count on checking in closer to 5:00 than to 3:00 p.m.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 503 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We booked the Monte Carlo Inn as we found it listed as the highest-rated hotel in the area, rather than any previous experience with the brand or personal recommendation. And I'm pleased to say it has met expectations. The staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful, the rooms are large and comfortable, and the free continental breakfast is very welcome.

As locations go, it looks like all the hotels are on this same stretch of road so while it isn't ideally located if you don't have a car, it isn't unique to this hotel.

While Barrie isn't somewhere I would necessarily recommend visiting, if you are coming to the city and need a place to stay, the Monte Carlo Inn is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feverdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here on a solo trip. It was very quite and comfortable. The staff was very nice and friendly, the restaurant was a great stop for an drink. The price was great!
I would stay at any monte carlo hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetoescape79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had to make a trip to Toronto and stayed the night here to visit with friends in the area. Because it was only one night and prices were good I got the king sunrise jacuzzi suit. I had a great sleep and got a kick out of how you had a tv you could see from the tub, that was nice cause I was alone and it gave me some relax time. The room was at the end of the hall and nice and clean and quite. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getawaygirl467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Have stayed at the Monte Carlo Barrie Suites several times over the past two years and every time have enjoyed excellent service, a great sleep and a convenient overnight. The price can not be beat anywhere in the Barrie area for the cleanliness of room, attentive and professional staff, extremely comfortable mattress (I have a bad back), nice room amenities, convenient parking and extreme convenience to the highway. The staff was even kind enough to hang on to something I'd left in the room until I returned over two weeks later. I will be staying there again soon!!

Room Tip: I have never requested any special room and have not been disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was not one of our favourite hotel stays. It was our anniversary so my husband booked the jacuzzi suite. When we got up to our room it smelled awful. The people before us had definitely been smoking in the non-smoking room. They were not able to move us to another suite, but we did get a jacuzzi room, which was nice. We had booked a romance breakfast package that included a breakfast buffet. This was very disappointing as the "buffet" consisted of stale pastries, although we were offered a hot breakfast for another $4. The wording should not be breakfast buffet, but continental breakfast as that is all it was. When we asked for a discount for having switched rooms and the sad breakfast, they gave us a measly ten dollars off. We will not be staying at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharalee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fricken, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

We thank you for sharing your experience and comments regarding your guest room. We do apologize for the air quality of the room, it is unfortunate when guests do not respect the policies of the hotel as well as the guests who will be occupying the room next. Whenever we suspect that a non-smoking room may have been smoked in, we always have our housekeeping staff put in a smoke-eater machine to try and bring the air quality of the room back to normal. Our housekeeping staff air freshens the rooms every time they are cleaned and the rooms are inspected daily, unfortunately it is hard to get the smell entirely out and we had no other Jacuzzi suites to move you to at that time. In cases like these, it is very hard to compensate the guest with a large discount when this is not a direct fault of the hotel.

The hotel offers a continental breakfast buffet that is included for every guest that stays with us. We do not advertise that the hotel offers a breakfast buffet, but guests do have the option to upgrade to a hot breakfast for $3.95 or order off of the menu A La Carte. Our restaurant chefs cook our pastries daily, however when we do have a full house the chefs sometimes cook the pastries on the evening prior as the breakfast room does open early at 6:00am.

We thank you for taking the time to write into us and hope that you will afford us another opportunity for future accommodation.

Kind Regards,

Matt Paul
Front Office Manager
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Experience was very enjoyable and relaxing. The hotel was very clean. The staff was helpful and polite. The restaurant was excellent, there was a good selection and variety. The prices were reasonable. We had a complimentary restaurant and was able to upgrade for less than $4! More than enough. The rooms were clean, and beds were heavenily.
Pool was a bit chilly, but the kids didn't seem to mind.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
0.2 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites - Barrie/Essa Road
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites

Address: 81 Hart Dr | Ontario, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range: $79 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites™ is conveniently situated on the southeast corner of Hwy 400 and Dunlop, at 81 Hart Drive and minutes from downtown Barrie, Parklands, Beaches, Ski Resorts and local attractions. Whether your needs are strickly business or mainly pleasure, our facility offers all the luxury, functionality, comfort and value you would expect from a Monte Carlo Inn. With a fully licensed restaurant, indoor salt water pool, free parking, recently upgraded free wi-fi, complimentary continental breakfast, comprehensive meeting facilities and a long list of amenities, our hospitality centre will epitomize the meaning of "Your Home Away From Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Hotel Barrie
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing