We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean & Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Newmarket, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed for a one night getaway. booked on line, check in and out was flawless. Had the Romeo and Juliet Suite which was two stories. Room was spotless. Microwave, fridge, coffee maker. Large jacuzzi in the corner, separate bathroom, couch, chairs, desk, fireplace and tv, then upstairs another fireplace, tv with a king size bed. The bed is very comfortable. Linens smelled fresh. T V reception good. Free wifi. Jacuzzi easily fit two people. Never heard any noise from other rooms, the hall or the hwy. Had the wine with chocolate covered strawberries delivered to the room. All very good but the presentation was lacking as it came on a cafeteria style tray and the wine was in a plastic ice bucket (the kind you find in the room) Simple upgrade to a clear acrylic tray and wine bucket would have made it look more appetizing although the strawberries were fresh.
Never used the pool but it did look quite small.
Had dinner in the restaurant and it was excellent. (Veal Marsella) Decent price, had a $60 credit towards dinner and 2 entrees, 3 appetizers and 3 drinks only cost us $23 more plus tip. Breakfast (upgraded) was included. There was lots of food but cut-up fruit would have been nice. The only fruit was banana, apple and oranges which were just placed in a bowl. There was cookies, muffins, pastries, bagels, english muffins, toast, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea. No meat or eggs unless you had the upgrade.
As other people have commented, there is really no where to walk around the hotel.
All in all I would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: loved the Romeo and Juliet Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newmarkettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    134
    58
    28
    33
See reviews for
109
139
22
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This was our first time staying at this hotel. It is very plush and clean and we really overall had a great time here. The front desk staff were very proficient and friendly. Check in and check out was quick. Our room was immaculate when we went in, and very plush and inviting. The suites include everything you could ask for, two tv, microwave, coffee maker, fridge, safe, fireplace, two nice chairs and table, comfy bed. The salt water pool is nice, however a little small for our liking. The fitness room although small as well, was great. Everything was in excellent working condition. The restaurant there is not very big so a good idea to go early for breakfast, but the food quality at breakfast is very good there. We had a five minute wait for a table, which was great. We had the deluxe continental breakfast and it was excellent. We had the smallest suite called the Sunrise suite and it is the smallest suite they offer, but it was large enough and very nice. Quite ample for a couple. Our room overlooked the 400 highway and it was noisy at night, however we left the jacuzzi fan on to block out the noise. Also some ladies came in at three am and were yelling and screaming, woke me up from a peaceful sleep, so I called front desk and they went immediately and dealt with the situation. So very good service that way. There are shears and drapes in the room, but the drapes are only decorative and you can't pull them to shut off the light from outside. Now that didn't bother us too much, but I have heard others talk about that as well. They might benefit from putting some drapes on that do pull shut. We purchased the Strawberry and fine wine special that included the hot breakfast, and we felt that was very good value. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others and hope to return again sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the 400 highway, it can be a little noisy and you hear traffic all night l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed for four nights at this hotel in Barrie. Rooms were a bit small but had everything you need including a fridge an micro. Rooms are clean and housekeeping did a great job of tidying my room each day. Front desk staff are friendly and accomodating. Hotel is located just off Hwy 400 and can be a bit noisy, so bring earplugs. Like most newer budget hotels, walls are thin side; one night I heard snoring coming from the adjacent room. Hotel has a small pool and a small fitness area. Used the fitness area 4X during my stay and had no issues with the equipment, everything was in working order and kept clean. Hotel has a full service resturant with a limited menu. Food was good and service was average. Due to the limited choices, I only ate there once. Breakfast was available but limited healthy/fresh choices, so I did not use. Overall a very good property for this price point.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christiana0564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Monte Carlo Inn, Barrie for one night. The hotel is located just off Hwy 11, easy to find, and for a hotel that overlooks a busy highway, we found it fairly quiet (as far as hearing traffic noise is concerned).

Breakast was included in the price of the room, consisted of a variety of breads, cereals, fruit and yogurt. Upgrading to a hot breakast was an option for $3.95.

This hotel has very pleasant front desk and housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2005Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This hotel is by far the worst in Barrie. The front desk staff are completely incompetent, the walls are paper thin and their lack of security often leads to missing items in the rooms.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fricken, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience at the Monte Carlo Inns Barrie Suites Establishment.

We at the Monte Carlo are proud of the Front Desk and Housekeeping staff serving you as they under go Customer Serivce Training to make certain that they always give their Quality service and are always trying to improve themselves. If there was an issue with a certain GSA we encourage to let our Managers on Duty Aware immediately so we can deal with the situation and make sure you have a pleasant stay. Moreover our Walls are HS Approved and have met all the required bylaws for hotel safety and noise control. If however there was a specific isolated incident where a customer next door was not respecting other persons privacy then our Front desk needs to be made aware immediately and we will warn the respective room. Occurances such as these do not happen often however we do have 24 hour Front Desk Service and surveillance for our customers safety and privacy.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that you will afford us another opportunity to serve you so that we are able to restore your trust back in our service and product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

Huntsville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just stayed for one night, the room was very nice and bed was comfortable. There was only one BIG problem I had with the room, there were no curtains! There were panels that framed the window but they wouldn't close. Not a nice thing first thing in the morning - especally when you would like to sleep in a little.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stay at a lot of hotels for hockey, business and personal. Usually when we make a group booking, our rate is reflective of this. Not this time. We booked 16 rooms and were charged $119 a night per room. We have stayed in MUCH nicer hotels for less than this. And I could have booked independently and received a much better price, based on what I saw online. So not all that impressed with that. And it was based on double occupancy, so if you had more than 2 people and they were over the age of 12, there would be an additional $10 per person charge.

The rooms were fine - nothing special. Very standard. Very clean, though. The bedding did smell very fresh. Bathroom is fine - very little counter space.

There is a free continental breakfast, but you can upgrade to eggs and bacon for $3.95.

There is nothing in walking distance from the hotel. Keep that in mind if that is important to you.

I don't think I would return just because I have stayed in other hotels in Barrie for a much better rate with larger rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
3.1 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
12.1 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#9 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites

Property: Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
Address: 81 Hart Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites is conveniently situated on the southeast corner of Hwy 400 and Dunlop, at 81 Hart Drive and minutes from downtown Barrie, Parklands, Beaches, Ski Resorts and local attractions. Whether your needs are strickly business or mainly pleasure, our facility offers all the luxury, functionality, comfort and value you would expect from a Monte Carlo Inn. With a fully licensed restaurant, indoor salt water pool, free parking, recently upgraded free wi-fi, complimentary continental breakfast, comprehensive meeting facilities and a long list of amenities, our hospitality centre will epitomize the meaning of "Your Home Away From Home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Hotel Barrie
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing