We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Close to the Theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Painters Hall Bistro

Painters Hall Bistro
Ranked #6 of 461 Restaurants in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Canadian, Gluten Free, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Center
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Close to the Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We liked that it was a local hotel near the theatre and we were pleased with both the food and the service. Everyone treated us well and although our server was new, she did a fine job. We didn't feel rushed but got to the theatre in plenty of time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Murfee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    66
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Penetanguishene, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We had the shared platter as an appetizer and it was great. The main meals were also fantastic. The lamb, short ribs, salmon and black pasta were all excellent. Tori provided great service and was very timely. The wine list was excellent. We have been to the Painters Hall before, it was outstanding before and it was again today.

Helpful?
Thank Len L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Ontario
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A short walk from the Harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We came by boat from across the Lake, and Painters Hall Bistro is a short walk from the Harbour. The food was great (though not cheap at about 30 dollars for the average entrée). The service was attentive and friendly. And the atmosphere was very nice. My only beef (and it is probably more like a suggestion) is that the selection of beer on draft was rather thin. And I was disappointed that I couldn't by product from the micro-brewery just down the road (Flying Monkeys). They did have beer from the other local brewery (Barnstormer), but only in bottles, not on draft. Overall, it was a very pleasant meal, and I would happily return (and probably will).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrayingAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Impressive Menu and Flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We lived in Barrie 10 years ago and it is too bad this restaurant was not around back then. We dined there on a Saturday night with a reservation (recommended for a Saturday). The restaurant was busy but not jammed. The service was prompt, professional and friendly. When our server gave us the bill for the next table (in error), she apologized and quickly corrected the error.
The food was wonderful. We had the beef and chicken respectively and both were done superbly. The entrees plus the appetizers were all crafted using local food and much creativity.
The restaurant's decor is a bit dark but not oppressively so. The prices are proportional to the quality of the food and its presentation.
If you have not been - it's worth a visit and to treat yourself.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2eratics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was our second visit to Painters Hall, this time we went for lunch. We had the Best in Barrie Hamburger, the pork belly aoili and beef bacon with melted brie. Fabulous, everything about it was delicious. and the open faced steak sandwich with mushroom & onion ragout - so tender and the ragout was just scrumptious!

Once again, the staff were awesome, even though we were eating outside, which as you know in a lot of places, you get forgot about! Our waiter did not forget at all, he checked on us several times, to make sure the food was to our liking, which we assured him it definitely was!

The peach pie for dessert is something I definitely want again!

We can't wait to go back again, we are trying to work our way through the menu :-)

Thank you to the staff and chef, for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DOBBSLAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Painters Hall Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Painters Hall Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing