We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a good hotel. Its location is great: just off Essa.

Unfortunately, we think that the management chooses the front-desk staff according to looks. Both blondes that we had contact with were nice but lacked something in the cerebral sphere. :-)

The room was a large one with wheelchair access. It is not right that one can request this type of room (for the king size bed) even though not in need of it. What happens when the wheelchair access rooms have been given to non-needing people????

We found the bed far too soft. The T.V. was not clear at all. However, the free bottle of water with a granola bar awaiting us was nice. Furthermore, there were coffee bags and a popcorn microwave bag in the room. Awesome!

Breakfast in the morning was wonderful. The scrambled eggs and bacon were not edible but everything else was great. I enjoyed using the free computer in the business center.

We would gladly go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wegothere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    216
    56
    17
    14
See reviews for
276
177
26
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton for just over a week for business. The Business Centre was alway well stocked, and staff were happy to assist with everything I needed. My room had a fridge and microwave, which made it very easy to work uninterrupted. There is a Zehrs nearby for supplies. The hotel was very clean. Front desk staff were very pleasant. On the days I had time for breakfast it was lovely, with a good selection that varied at least a bit. The location is easy to get to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn and for taking the time to post your review. We value all our guest feedback.

I am happy to read that you had a great stay, and were able to enjoy many of the facilities available for guest use. Next time you will have to take a few minutes to enjoy the pool and hot tub!

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

hi I've stayed at this hotel several times now and have had nothing but great things to say about this hotel. very friendly staff, amanda is a very nice girl she usually checks us in and always has great places for us to go out and eat at. rooms are always nice and clean. good saltwater pool. gym is small but sufficient. one thing that could be better is the foreign woman could be more polite and cheerful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewbrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites!
We love to hear feedback from our guests.

I am especially pleased to hear that you continue to use us for all your Barrie visits. It is great that you have been able to utilize the amenities (Salt water pool and breakfast area).

I will be sure to pass your comments on to Amanda.
Thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites in Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

First off i wanted to thank Amanada for the great job she did on my laptop getting me connected to the net. For some reason all other devices would connect but laptop wouldn't.
Facility was clean and bright which makes it very inviting.
Staff was helpful and cheerful which again makes it inviting.
We has a number of kids hockey teams which usually means a lot of noise with parents usually but we did not hear a peep. Now this is more due to the parents and kids but i would like to believe that the staff has warned the teams to be in control.
Parking lot was tight to find space due to recent snow but you could always park around back of building if you wanted to.
Place is well priced and includes a breakfast if you want it although i choose to go out for breakfast instead
Either way whenever i stay in Barrie i stay at this location. It will never never disappoint you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crighton90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, and for taking the time to post about your experience.

We love hearing back from our guests. The staff take such pride when they know they were able to help make someones stay a little more comfortable.

Thank you again for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barrie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porcupine
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Barrie Hilton was very clean and spacious rooms. The beds are comfortable and the food was great. Upon checking in (and we were later than planned) the front personnel, Amanda S. was very cheerful and accommodating. The rate was very fair. We also enjoyed a swim after many hours on the road.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments!

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. The rooms are a great size to be able to spread out and relax in. The indoor pool is always a big hit, especially with families.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inns & Suites in September this year, when visiting Barrie for a family wedding. We travel a great deal and were incredibly impressed by this hotel. The suites are beautifully laid out, spotlessly clean and a pleasure to stay in. We booked two suites, one for ourself and one for our adult son, and both were excellent, with living and sleeping areas, good bathrooms, large closets and a dressing area as well as miniature kitchens complete with microwaves, fridges etc. In terms of value for money this hotel simply cannot be beaten. The buffet breakfast is included and offers a good variety of choices. Also the staff are incredibly polite and helpful. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21stcenturyhousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We love to hear feedback from our guests.

The suites you describe are a great choice. with a major grocery store right across the street, it is easy to fill up the fridge with some fresh food to enjoy throughout your stay.

I am pleased to hear you and your family were well taken care of. The staff love to ensure a comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Barrie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for over a year on a fairly regular basis and can categorically state that there are few places that make a business traveler feel more at home. The staff is outstanding. It starts with a warm, friendly greeting at the reception, continues with a clean,well equipped room and culminates with a hot breakfast.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the 6th floor but have never had problems with staying on any floor in any type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrieManager, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn to be your "Barrie home"! We appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to post your comments.

It is always great to hear the positive comments about the hotel and especially the staff. They truly enjoy helping make the time away from home as welcoming and comfortable as possible.

We look forward to seeing you again in the New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barrie hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Oak Inn
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#3 of 19 in Barrie
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Barrie
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
Address: 74 Bryne Dr, Barrie, Ontario L4N 9Y4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Barrie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barrie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly team at the Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton® Barrie wants you to feel right at home even before you make it to your spacious, comfortable room. Help yourself to a warm cup of coffee or tea as you check in and get your room key. Our lobby service is always fresh, 24 hours a day. After a fun-filled day of strolling along downtown Barrie or along the banks of Lake Simcoe, explore the options at our hotel in Barrie. A refreshing swim in our heated indoor Saltwater pool & hot tub or an invigorating workout in our exercise room may be just what you need to cap off the day. However if you’d simply rather stay in and relax, enjoy your complimentary in-room movie channel on a 37" HDTV flat-screen television, or rent a latest release pay-per-view movie. Begin each day with our delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet with plenty of options or if your in a hurry take advantage of our breakfast-on-the-run bags. Email vacation photos to friends and family back home from the peaceful comfort of your room, which is equipped with complimentary high-speed internet access. Business or leisure, the Hampton Inn & Suites Barrie should be your next choice...we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Barrie
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Barrie Hotel Barrie
Hampton Inn Barrie
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Barrie Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing